We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Far Hills Country Hotel

Hotwire.comUS$64*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$70*
US$64*
Great Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Far Hills Country Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

237 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 227: English reviews
Start your review of Far Hills Country Hotel
 Click to rate
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Gorgeous views, unfortunately they book you in the rooms closest to the bar...which has the most noise. Our room was covered in dust, but worst of all the shower door was broken..as in missing! The floor was so wet you could start a boat on it. The toilet seemed to be broken as well as water kept running and running,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Standard of fascility has decreased over the years. This is such a central hotel to visit the surounding activities but has put me in doubt if I will return. Upgrade has to be done. Food - Burger was 5 out of 5 chips 1 out of 5. Waiters was great

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SeppiesTours
162info, Front Office Manager at Far Hills Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Seppie Thank-you for your review. As we discussed while you were at the hotel, we are busy working on improving the standards of the hotel and upgrading our rooms. The F&B Department has been informed of the problem you experienced with your meal and are working on ensuring this never happens again. We hope to see you again soon...

Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Considering this is advertised on uk booking sites it is not international standards. I booked this hotel through travel republic and for fear of this review they removed themselves off the website..... We got to the hotel late after a long day of driving. The rooms are spacious but needs work. There is a tv in the room with 3...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anita D
162info, Front Office Manager at Far Hills Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Anita Thank-you for your review, we take all reviews positive and negative very seriously at our hotel. On behalf of Staff and Management of The Far Hills Hotel, please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you experienced with the condition of your guestroom and your meal on the Friday night. Rest assured your comments have been forwarded to...

South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Enjoyed our stay, happy with our room which had a breathtaking view of the mountains from our top balcony. Breakfast was also very enjoyable. Peaceful getaway with welcoming and friendly staff. Would love to go back sometime in the near future.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Willem S
162info, Front Office Manager at Far Hills Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Willem Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and we are looking forward to having you again as a guest in our hotel. Regards The Far Hills Hotel

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Its a situated in a very good location on the Garden Route, and reasonabley priced for a stop over. The conference facilities are however a little dated and the struggle with food preparation for large conferences, overcooked and on cold plates. Drink stocks seem to also be somewhat minimal and over our stay frequently ran out of gin, lemonade or...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank simonbsr
162info, Front Office Manager at Far Hills Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Simon Thank-you for your review, we take all reviews negative and positive very seriously as we strive to maintain the standard of guest service at our hotel. Unfortunately our kitchen was under a little strain on the Saturday night with the serving a set-menu for 185 guests for the BSR Conference. We are in the process of planning a...

Paarl, South Africa
Reviewed 14 April 2017

If your're looking for a convenient, peaceful location (just off the N2 near George) that is affordable yet comfortable and clean, look no further than Far Hiils! The staff are friendly, the food is great and the views and setting is exceptional at this price!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jasonvenn2017
162info, Front Office Manager at Far Hills Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jason Thank you for your positive comments. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you again soon.

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 2 April 2017

We travelled from Port Elizabeth to celebrate our 61st Wedding Anniversary and my wife's 82nd birthday at The Far Hills Country Hotel in the Wilderness on the 23rd /24th March 2017, We had a special deal of R699 for 2 nights for 2 people including breakfast. The first impression on arrival seemed ok, we were allocated room No 33, The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dongee2017
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 22 March 2017

The view of mountains from the spacious bedroom was spectacular and the accommodation was better than we expected. the big disappointment was from the bar / kitchen - we thought we would "eat in" but they did not have any sugar free drinks available and only 1 bottle of cold white wine which was not to our liking and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank goltie
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 22 March 2017

This hotel served its purpose for a family on 8 over a long weekend. Yes the hotels needs lots of TLC but it is super kid friendly which helps the parents relax. Friendly bar, service not so great, no pool loungers or furniture available (unlike the pictures). Beds comfortable and rooms clean. As long as you expect nothing fancy your...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank freedomoftravel
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 21 March 2017

We stayed overnight at this Hotel which was very comfortable. The room was very pleasant and very clean and we had a lovely view of the lush hills. The pub and restaurant took care of our thirst and hunger, and we enjoyed a buffet breakfast the next morning. This is our second stay there and a very nice convenient location...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leslie-ann C
162info, Front Office Manager at Far Hills Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Leslie Thank you for your review. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us . We are looking forward to seeing you again soon. Regards The Far Hills Hotel

112 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (98)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George
8.0 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua
13.0 km away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
4.1 km away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wilderness
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott King George
7.6 km away
Oakhurst Hotel
Oakhurst Hotel
#7 of 9 in George
52 reviews
4.5 km away
Town Lodge George
Town Lodge George
#6 of 9 in George
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Touch the Earth / Feel at Home. Far Hills offers a departure from the typical hotel. We believe in warmth, family and comfort in a stylish but unpretentious setting. We encourage our guests to absorb the tranquillity of the environment by lounging next to the pool, relaxing on the deck in the shade of the 100 year-old oak tree, listening to the silence of the mountain in a garden gazebo or having a drink in front of a blazing fire in winter. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Far Hills Country Hotel

Address: N2 | Farm 115, Kraaibosch, George 6530, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Price Range: €46 - €80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Far Hills Country Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Far Hills Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Far Hills Country George
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Far Hills Country Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“top floor facing the mountains”
jasonvenn2017, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Choose a different hotel!!”
dongee2017, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Lower ground garden / pool rooms.”
freedomoftravel, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking pool have a good view but are very tired,,,,”
, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for the newly revamped rooms.”
Tessa143, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotwire.com
US$64* /night
View Deal
Hotels.com
Agoda.com
CancelonUS$70
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates