We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Fancourt

Travellers' Choice award winner
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Fancourt
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

466 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Fancourt
See the most recent reviews
Showing 381: English reviews
United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

Second time I have stayed at this wonderful facility. Stayed three nights this time. Played golf on the two fabulous courses. Excellent facilities. Staff friendly and professional. Top class facility.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ratu_8
Thomas v, Hotel Manager at Fancourt, responded to this review

Dear Ratu The whole Fancourt team are delighted to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us once again. Your patronage is greatly appreciated and we hope to be welcoming you and your family back home to Fancourt in the not too distant future. Please dont hesitate to contact me with any queries or requests as my team and...

Leuven, Belgium
Reviewed 8 April 2017

Stayed for 3 nights. Wonderful accomodation (500-series room, with balcony onto golf practice). Large room, large bathroom and great little 'specials' with regard to our wedding aniversary. Extremely courteous and professional staff, from porters to restaurant waiting staff. No time to enjoy the lendid golf courses ... will have to be next time. Overall: superb

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Jan95
Thomas v, Hotel Manager at Fancourt, responded to this review

Dear Jan Thank you for taking the time to rate us, we delighted that you both enjoyed your stay and chose to celebrate your wedding anniversary at Fancourt. We wish you both many more happy years together and look forward to creating more special memories with you both at Fancourt in the not too distant future. Please dont hesitate to...

Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 April 2017 via mobile

We finally had a tee time at 11.50 am, just before the members went out. What a disappointment! Sandwiched between an elderly 3 ball ( we are not youngsters ourselves ) who represented senility and those members behind who represented arrogance we were subjected to a slow round in front where, no matter how many shots or balls were hit,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank john190447
Thomas v, Hotel Manager at Fancourt, responded to this review

Dear John As a most valued guest your feedback is appreciated and taken to heart. The Fancourt team are dismayed at not exceeding your expectations and can assure you that this is not the norm nor is it how we would like to be remembered. We can assure you that we will be looking into all the issues raised and...

Haarlem, The Netherlands
Reviewed 31 March 2017

You pay for what you get . But it was absolutely perfect. The rooms, the golf course, the service , the food you name it they have it. Very nice pool area , with a heated pool. Very nice golf shop . Everything breathes a breath of quality , so it can be a bit more expensive. But it is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rick23081947
Thomas v, Hotel Manager at Fancourt, responded to this review

Dear Rick Thank you for your feedback which has been shared with our Fancourt team. We delighted to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back home to Fancourt in the not too distant future. Please don't hesitate to contact me should you have any queries or requests as my team and I...

Worcester, South Africa
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

From the Porters ( best in the world), to reservations, to wherever you go on Fancourt - Great Great Staff and service !! This is most definitely one of the greatest resorts in the world !! If I had the money, I would settle here, forever !!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LouisGroen
Thomas v, Hotel Manager at Fancourt, responded to this review

Dear Mr Groen As valued guests your feedback is much appreciated, the Fancourt team are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us your kind words have been shared and appreciated. We hope to be able to welcome you back home to Fancourt in the not too distant future. Please don't hesitate to contact me should you have...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 March 2017

We came here for Christmas Dinner and the resort did not disappoint! The staff were brilliant and the food was amazing. The resort itself is stunning and had a walk around scopping the place out. The golf course is pricey but was one of the best ones iv ever seen and would highly recommend coming here to anybody.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ish986
Thomas v, Hotel Manager at Fancourt, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to rate us. As valued guests your feedback is important to us. We hope to welcome you back to Fancourt in the not too distant future and that you will get a chance to play on one of our splendid courses.Please don't hesitate to contact me should you have any queries or...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 10 March 2017 via mobile

We spent 2 nights at Fancourt and had a wonderful experience. Right from the start effort was put into booking golf on The Links course and our every need was catered for. The room was really nice, the gardens are beautiful and the golf courses are outstanding. We had a really good stay at Fancourt and will definitely return!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank diegoronaldo
Thomas v, Hotel Manager at Fancourt, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review us, as valued guests your feedback is important to us and taken to heart. We delighted to see that you enjoyed you stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back home to Fancourt in the not too distant future. Please don't hesitate to contact me should you have...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 February 2017 via mobile

This is a fantastic resort if you like golf. The accommodation is a very high standard and well maintained. We had a suite overlooking the course. The room was large and well appointed with every conceivable luxury including tea making facilities and a Nespresso machine. The rooms are spread around the resort, we were a 100 metre walk from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve1249
Thomas v, Hotel Manager at Fancourt, responded to this review

Dear Steve Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. The Fancourt team are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, your kind words will most definitely be shared and are appreciated. We hope to be able to welcome you back home to Fancourt in the not too distant future, please don't hesitate to contact...

Reading Berkshire
Reviewed 28 February 2017

Beautiful golf courses, in excellent condition. Plenty to do for non players. The spa facility was superb and the pool area very relaxing. Food and drink not overly expensive considering the standard of hotel. Carmen on reception was so helpful and obliged us with a beautiful room overlooking the putting area. Loved it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lucaya_9
Thomas v, Hotel Manager at Fancourt, responded to this review

Dear Lucaya As most valued guests your feedback is important to us and taken to heart. Your kind words have been passed onto Carmen whom is delighted with assiting and making your stay an enjoyable and memorable one. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back home to Fancourt in the not too distant future. Please don't hesitate...

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 February 2017

It is an odd concept having an entirely fancy resort in the middle of an already nice town but if the rich and fabulous want it, then why not? The spa is lovely and the staff brilliant. It is an oasis of fancy things for the wealthy punter.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn H
Thomas v, Hotel Manager at Fancourt, responded to this review

Dear Carolyn The Fancourt team are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, your kind words have been shared with the Spa team and greatly appreciated.We hope to be able to welcome you back home to Fancourt in the not too distant future. Kind regards Thomas

289 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (233)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (146)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (22)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George
10.6 km away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
0.0 km away
The Manor House at Fancourt
3.5 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott King George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua
16.1 km away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
34.1 km away
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
#1 of 9 in Mossel Bay
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Positioned on 613 hectares in the magnificent Garden Route, outside George, Fancourt is South Africa’s premier lifestyle estate with mountains, forests and the warm Indian Ocean in close proximity. 135 luxury rooms, fantastic family facilities, three Gary Player designed golf courses, a Spa, a Kids Club and various restaurants guarantee enjoyment. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fancourt

Address: 1994 Montagu Street | Blanco, George 6529, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Price Range: €155 - €299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fancourt 5*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fancourt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fancourt Hotel George
Fancourt Hotel Country Estate
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fancourt staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Fancourt staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Any room. Some are overlooking the golf course but the others are fine too.”
Rick23081947, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Book tee times in advance - it can get busy. Several large groups during our stay.”
chriskN2659ZJ, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Request a room with a view of the course”
542Kenneth, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Try for a room overlooking the golf courses”
Chazzer124, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I believe all of the rooms are excellent rooms.”
LikeHolidayBliss, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$250* /night
View Deal
Hotwire.comUS$251
Expedia.comUS$251
Booking.comUS$253
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates