We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Glen Avon Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Glen Avon Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

193 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 172: English reviews
Start your review of Glen Avon Lodge
 Click to rate
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Like most people we leave the best until last. We are in South Africa for 6 weeks but leave the best till last. You cannot get better than this. Excellent rooms elegant with comfort. Great food extensive wine list service and attention to detail spot on. Add to this happy and friendly staff and you could not get better. Perhaps...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank djbeecroft
WendyDrummond, Owner at Glen Avon Lodge, responded to this review

As always, lovely to have you stay with us, and we look froward to your visit again next year. God Bless. Wendy

Copenhagen Region, Denmark
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our second time on Glen Avon. And we had expectations fulfilled once again. The rooms are great; especially the suites overlooking the pool, which by the way is very nice as well. Having breakfast on the terrace is magical. The service is superb and all the staff are very welcoming.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pugholmlindgreen
WendyDrummond, Owner at Glen Avon Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the review....we look forward to welcoming you back to Glen Avon soon.... Kind regards Wendy

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

One of the best places I have found to stay on my frequent visits to Cape Town is Glen Avon Lodge in Constantia. It has a charm all its own, set amongst vineyards and country lanes. Accommodation is excellent; in beautiful gardens with birds singing, and the gentle sound of water, it is a peaceful oasis a mere 20 minutes...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lance K
WendyDrummond, Manager at Glen Avon Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest As always, we look forward to your visits, and the staff and I appreciate your feedback on Trip Advisor, many thanks. We hope to be your home away from home in the weeks you are away on business. Kind regards Wendy

leicestershire
Reviewed 17 March 2017

Glen Avon should have been the best stay of our holiday, it was the most expensive but it disappointed. On arrival we were told that Wendy was not there and that we had a complimentary upgrade to a suite. If you're offered room 19, don't accept it as it's on the ground floor, near garages and the laundry area at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank stella317
WendyDrummond, Manager at Glen Avon Lodge, responded to this review

Very disappointed you did not enjoy our Glen Avon experience and even more so, that you didn't bring your grievances to our attention during the time you were staying with us. Wendy, although she sees to the bookings, unfortunately, is not always available, as she is also in charge of the running of the lodge.We find it very strange that...

Beverley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 March 2017

This was our 3rd visit to Glen Avon and we had 3 fabulous weeks there. The whole team were great and did everything possible to make our stay memorable. The accommodation, facilities and staff were excellent, polite, professional and helpful. We will be back!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Johntg-12
WendyDrummond, Owner at Glen Avon Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the review...we look forward to welcoming you back for your 4th visit!! Thank you for mentioning the wonderful team, we try hard yearly to create a "family team" environment for the staff and guest alike. Kind regards Wendy

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 March 2017

We have stayed at Glen Avon Lodge a number of times, generally at the end of our visit to Western Cape & never been disappointed. From arrival to departure the staff ensure your stay is memorable. This occasion we took up Wendy's recommendation & stayed at the Gables which was first class: spacious & well appointed. Although there are many...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ScottandMidge
WendyDrummond, Manager at Glen Avon Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the review, and so glad you enjoyed the new extension "The Gables" So glad you enjoyed your dinners, and yes, they do allow you to have an extra glass or two giving you the freedom to enjoy without having to think about driving home. The staff all send their regards, and look forward to welcoming you back...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 February 2017

We have stayed at Glen Avon Lodge for the last six years, although this is the first time we have submitted a report. This is a really lovely hotel with a great location, a nice garden and two pools. Family owned and run, the staff are always friendly and attentive. Delicious dinners are available in the evenings. Rooms are spacious...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Neville G
WendyDrummond, Manager at Glen Avon Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the review...so glad to hear that you enjoyed the suites, with the butlers cupboards. Appreciate that after 6 years you have finally submitted a review. Looking forward to welcoming you back next year... Kind regards Wendy

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 22 February 2017

We started our South African holiday at Glen Avon, with a warm welcome that immediately made us relax after our flight from London. Rooms are very comfortable and we enjoyed dinner twice in the dining room. There is an excellent chef and meals were light, well balanced and delicious. This is our second visit and we would definitely return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosemaryat9
WendyDrummond, Owner at Glen Avon Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. The staff are thrilled to hear that you felt their special warm welcome, and Chef Emmanuel and Peter and delighted to hear that you enjoyed your evening meals. Hoping that it wont be too long in the future till your next visit to Cape Town and to Glen Avon. Kind regards Wendy

London UK
Reviewed 22 February 2017

This is the second time we've stayed and we weren't disappointed. Friendly, helpful staff, very comfortable accommodation, excellent evening meal and the beautiful location make this an ideal place for a great holiday in Cape Town.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank R9098FHjeanb
WendyDrummond, Owner at Glen Avon Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the review...the staff and I couldn't agree more, "ideal place for a great holiday in Cape Town!" We look forward to seeing you on future visits to Cape Town. Kind regards Wendy

Alicante, Spain
Reviewed 18 February 2017

This was our third visit - it is an ideal place to stay at the start of a South African holiday. It is far enough out from the centre of Cape Town to avoid the hurly-burly of the city, yet close enough o visit all the attractions on offer. The gardens are a delight, the rooms are excellent, the food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David R
WendyDrummond, Owner at Glen Avon Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the review...so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Cape Town..(4th!! at Glen Avon) Kind regards Wendy

66 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (53)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Constantia hotels
4.6 km away
Steenberg Hotel
Steenberg Hotel
#2 of 5 in Constantia
468 reviews
0.2 km away
The Last Word Constantia
The Last Word Constantia
#3 of 5 in Constantia
176 reviews
3.3 km away
The Cellars-Hohenort
The Cellars-Hohenort
#5 of 5 in Constantia
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
#4 of 5 in Constantia
181 reviews
1.0 km away
Summit Place Guesthouse
Summit Place Guesthouse
#2 of 38 in Constantia
279 reviews
1.1 km away
Nova Constantia Boutique Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Glen Avon has been officially upgraded by the TGCSA to 5 stars and has expanded to 16 superior luxury rooms and suites. Only minutes from major attractions like the Cape Town Waterfront, Table Mountain, Kirstenbosch Gardens, Top Beaches and the Constantia Wine lands. Our en-suite bedrooms have all the luxury comforts including air-conditioning, private bar, internet access, modern marble bathrooms and swimming pool access. Hearty breakfasts and gourmet dinners are all part of the tradition. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Glen Avon Lodge

Address: 1 Strawberry Lane, Constantia 7806, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Constantia
Price Range: €112 - €233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Glen Avon Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glen Avon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Avon Lodge Constantia, South Africa - Cape Town
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Glen Avon Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms overlooking the main pool are ideal for easy access to pool, main building and dining.”
Johntg-12, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room overlooking the swimming pool(s)”
JMc1946_12, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“They are all good”
Greymg123, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms facing the pool have their own sun loungers”
ivor_freedman, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Worth paying the small additional cost of a deluxe ground floor suite opening on to the gardens and swimming pool”
HexhamDave, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5