We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Cellars-Hohenort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Cellars-Hohenort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

347 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 307: English reviews
Epsom, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

There is an understated charm to this hotel, and I am puzzled by some of the negative feedback it has received over time. Yes, it does lack the glitz and unabashed bling of some of its 5* counterparts, but this is what makes it a relaxing, informal and peaceful retreat. It is much like an old friend, a few wrinkles...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Foxy-Froggy
Cape Town
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Cellars-Hohenort is a luxury hotel set in the most gorgeous surroundings and gardens. We spent the first night of our honeymoon at the Hohenort 35 years ago. We decided to celebrate our anniversary by booking at the now Cellars-Hohenort and the experience exceeded all expectations. We were welcomed warmly by friendly staff and shown to our beautiful, elegant suite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CapeTownRover
DominicPrendegast, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review

Dear CapeTownRover Thank you for your wonderful review, we are delighted that you chose to celebrate your 35th Wedding Anniversary with us. I am so pleased to hear that you found the accommodation, treats, breakfast and dinner to be above your expectations and you enjoyed our magnificent gardens. We look forward to welcoming you back to celebrate your 36th! Kind...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

I have just phoned Cellars 5 five minutes ago. The phone rang for a long time and just as i was checking that i had inded rang the correct number, a lady answered and i hung on while she dealt with an admin problem to a fellow staff member, REALLY.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alison r
DominicPrendegast, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review

Dear alison r Thank you for bringing this to my attention, that etiquette is completely unacceptable and is quite shocking - I will personally investigate this and ensure steps are taken so that this does not reoccur Regards Dominic

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

So we were trying to find a spot for breakfast and ended up at The Cellars but at the end of their breakfast service (10:30) and before their tea service (11:00) . We were somewhat frustrated but decided to hang in there and the lady assisting us said she would make a plan . We had their ginger tea and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amber D
DominicPrendegast, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review

Dear Amber D Thank you for your feedback, I am so sorry you missed breakfast with us. Due to the volumes of business from our guests who stay at the Hotel in our high season, we have to keep to schedules to ensure we are prepared for the next service time - but I am happy that someone was able...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had stayed at the Steenberg 2 years ago and it had been magnificent but we thought we would try the Cellars this year. It turned out to be rather a disappointment. The room and bathroom were OK but the standard of housekeeping and general maintenance were not. The housekeeping supervisor clearly did not do her job and our room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VENETIAN2015
DominicPrendegast, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review

Dear VENETIAN2015 Many thanks for providing us feedback on your stay, I am delighted you found that the food and staff were wonderful and apologies on the hiccup with housekeeping, that is unacceptable and we are truly sorry. We have refurbed a majority of our rooms recently and a program is in place this year to do the remaining rooms...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We tried the tasting menu and were impressed with the whole experience. If you try this route do not plan to eat the next day as we greedily ate everything. Enjoyed the beautiful garden with a drink before setting off on our eating odyssey

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Genny02
DominicPrendegast, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review

Dear Genny02 Many thanks for your feedback on your Greenhouse experience, I am delighted that you had to time to stroll through the gardens and enjoyed the African Odyssey Menu. Kind regards Dominic

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had so many problems with our stay you would laugh if it happened to someone else. We booked 10 months in advance in anticipation of a fine dining New Year's Eve as we have done around the globe with Relais for the last 15 years. Validating our booking two months before, we were advised that the fine dining restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John P
DominicPrendegast, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review

Dear John P My apologies for the reservation mixup, we realise that a Luxury double suite was requested and that you were put into a double, this was an oversight and a poor error. Greenhouse house restaurant is very popular as it is in the Top 10 in the country and we do advise on making reservations to reserve early...

London
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have stayed at a number of superb 5 star luxurious hotels in the Cape and the Winelands. The Cellars was rather a disappointment. I have to say the staff could not have been nicer, more attentive and kind and courteous. Our room and bathroom was rather tired and when our room had not been cleaned at 5.30pm after a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GillyflowerofLondon
DominicPrendegast, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review

Dear GillyflowerofLondon Many thanks for your review and taking the time to meet with me to discuss the housekeeping issues - I know that this was resolved and my apologies for this lapse. I am delighted though that you found the staff to be attentive and enjoyed our breakfasts. Kind regards Dominic

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Truly beautiful grounds and gardens. Well located. It almost makes up for the accommodation or service, which does not compare to other 5 star hotels in the Cape winelands. Branding everything with "The Collection - Liz McGrath" does not make it exceptional. En-suite is small. Service at breakfast was incredibly slow and not what you would expect from a hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jkZA
DominicPrendegast, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review

Dear jkZA Many thanks for your feedback it is most appreciated, I apologise about the slow breakfast service and assure you that we will attend to this. I am pleased that you found the service at dinner to be excellent as well as our location, grounds and gardens. Kind regards Dominic

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was the most disappointing hotel that we stayed at while in South Africa. The Hotel is set in the most beautiful place and the amenities are great. But, the service at the restaurant was appalling and the food is not that good. Very, very salty and basic. One lady came by wanting to turn down the room and it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lindsey123502
DominicPrendegast, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review

Dear lindsey123502 Many thanks for taking the time to provide us this feedback - I would like to extend my sincere apologies for your experience whilst at the Hotel. I assure you that these issues will be investigated and that the necessary corrective action is taken. I do hope that we will get the chance to welcome you back in...

221 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (196)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (56)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
2:15
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Constantia
Steenberg Hotel
#2 of 6 in Constantia
443 reviews
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 6 in Constantia
161 reviews
Vineyard Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newlands
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Last Word Constantia
#4 of 6 in Constantia
163 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#8 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in Cape Town's historical Constantia Valley, on the breathtaking slopes of Table Mountain, all the rooms and suites of The Cellars-Hohenort boast panoramic views of the impressive mountain and the beautiful grounds. Set in 9.5 acres of world renowned and award winning gardens, this historic and beautiful country escape in the city offers guests far more than just incomparable scenery. Surrounded by top wine producing farms and some of South Africa's most popular restaurants,you will find so much to do and a mere fifteen minute drive to Cape Town City center & Waterfront. Back at the hotel there are two award-winning dining experiences, including Greenhouse, where cuisine focuses on regional flavors with modern interpretations. All of this is the result of owner Liz McGrath's more than twenty years of hard work, love and endless inspiration. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Cellars-Hohenort

Address: 93 Brommersvlei Road, Constantia 7806, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Constantia
Price Range: €201 - €453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Cellars-Hohenort 5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your The Cellars-Hohenort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cellars-Hohenort Hotel Constantia
Cellars Hohenort Constantia
Cellars Hohenort Hotel Constantia
The Cellars-Hohenort Constantia, South Africa - Cape Town
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Constantia
#3 Business Hotel in Constantia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Constantia
#5 Luxury Hotel in Constantia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Cellars-Hohenort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Can recommend room 61”
  • View out front
  • The room has its own garden
  • Overlooking the garden
  • The living room
  • View out back
  • Bathroom
  • Looking out the front door
 of 5 bubbles Foxy-Froggy, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Best room is the Luxury Double with verandah overlooking gardens with view of the mountain.”
 of 5 bubbles Gjill122016, 17 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 17 was lovely, with a terrace onto the gardens, where the ducklings ran around.”
 of 5 bubbles harrietkfoster, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor patios with rose-covered trellis”
 of 5 bubbles TyE403, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms and suites that give easy and direct access to the gardens”
 of 5 bubbles Gregorypeck186338, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay