We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rose Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rose Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

449 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rose Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 328: English reviews
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 7 March 2014

This is a delayed review! My friend and I stayed at Rose Lodge in May 2013. Excellent service and location. We loved colorful Bo-Kaap, and we found it to be safe and close to many landmarks. Bruce was very helpful and easy to communicate with, even before arriving in Cape Town. Thank you, Bruce, for providing a pleasant stay in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Newbe2
Camillelachance, Owner at Rose Lodge, responded to this review

It's so nice of you to write a message so long after you stayed with us. We are happy we left you with such fond memories ! Kind regards, Amanda, Edward, Coco, Teddy, & Bruce

Reviewed 3 March 2014

Rose Lodge is in a very nice location in the middle of Bo-Kaap but also very close to the Green Market and town centre. The accomodation is average, but for the price OK. The rooms are very different!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nitrameieiei
Camillelachance, General Manager at Rose Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our guesthouse. Kind regards, Rose Lodge

Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Location is fine and the price is low.. However, no air-con at the rooms, noisy, the bed was dirty (did not change the sheets as they were full of hair before we used them...), breakfast is self-service and very simple. Hotel manager woke us up very early one day and started asking us a lot of questions.. after a while...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karl L
Camillelachance, Owner at Rose Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for bringing this to my attention. I shall speak to my manager about this. We are terribly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I wish you had spoken to me while you were here.

Wellfleet, Massachusetts
Reviewed 24 February 2014

bruce, teddy and coco were the perfect hosts for our stay in capetown. don't look any further for lodging--this property is perfect! very welcoming and accommodating and safe. in a heartbeat we would return!! thanks again!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank pam b
Camillelachance, Owner at Rose Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Pam & Cheryl, Thank you so much ! Kind regards, Amanda, Edward, Coco, Teddy, & Bruce

Oskarshamn, Sweden
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at rose lodge for a week and it was wonderful! The rooms are light, clean and modern. The stuff was so kind and nice and realy helpful. The owner, Bruce, is the best. A great location, close to the waterfront and the pub street. Overall an excellent hotel and probably one of the most genuin and charming hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kotten1
Camillelachance, Owner at Rose Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your glowing review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us so much. Best regards, Amanda, Edward, Coco, Teddy, & Bruce

Pretoria
Reviewed 17 February 2014

No Dstv and it should be available since one needs business and sports channels, breakfast is too basic as they cant offer scrambled eggs for example with the reason being that they dont have a stove to do that, and they couldnt offer me laudry services

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank letlapa
Camillelachance, Owner at Rose Lodge, responded to this review

Yes, that's right. We don't have DSTV (satellite TV) but don't say we do, we only do boiled eggs for breakfast, and we don't do laundry on Sundays :). So if this is not acceptable to you, please don't book a room with us :).

Lamastre, France
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Within walking distance of the waterfront and downtown, very centrally located. Artistically renovated small Bo Kaap house, excellent continental breakfast with homemade cakes and muffins. Bruce and his team are very welcoming with lots of sight-seeing tips.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jennifer G
Camillelachance, Owner at Rose Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you Jenny for taking the time to review our guesthouse. I hope you are having a wonderful holiday in South Africa ! Best wishes, Amanda, Edward, Coco, Teddy, & Bruce

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This place is like a mini boutique hotel and is perfect in every way; tremendous location, helpful, friendly and personal, light and airy, beautifully appointed with designer rooms which are of very functional design with air conditioning, lots of cupboards and include safes. Breakfast on the terrace underneath the huge umbrella was delightful, not least due to the attentiveness of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Worldlwanderwoman
Camillelachance, Owner at Rose Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Jane, From all of us here at Rose Lodge, we thank you for your wonderful review :) Best wishes, Amamda, Edward, Coco, Teddy, and Bruce

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 8 February 2014

The Rose Lodge is a small heaven of peace and unassuming elegance in a very exciting neighbourhood of Cape Town. Bruce is a charming and knowledgeable host. I highly recommend this beautiful bed and breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bruno C
Camillelachance, Owner at Rose Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Bruno, Thank you for the glowing review. Hope you come back again with your partner next time :) Best regards, Bruce

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Rose Lodge provided excellent value for money in terms of location, room quality and overall comfort. The home baked breakfasts (muffins, pastries etc) were excellent and it felt like a 'boutique' home from home. Bruce and the team were so, so helpful both before and during my stay. I'd thoroughly recommend staying here and would definitely stay again. Helen, London,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chorlton79
Camillelachance, Owner at Rose Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you Helen. We are glad you enjoyed your stay so much and seeing as how you love Cape Town so much I'm sure we'll see you again ! Best wishes, Amanda, Edward, Coco, Teddy, and Bruce

52 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Schotsche Kloof
La Rose Bed & Breakfast
La Rose Bed & Breakfast
#27 of 156 in Cape Town Central
447 reviews
Rouge on Rose
#6 of 156 in Cape Town Central
917 reviews
Bluegum Hill Guesthouse and Apar...
#7 of 156 in Cape Town Central
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villa Costa Rose
#14 of 156 in Cape Town Central
500 reviews
Cape Finest Guesthouse
#38 of 156 in Cape Town Central
95 reviews
Cape Standard
#16 of 156 in Cape Town Central
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rose Lodge, 22 on Rose and Wale Lodge are located in Rose and Wale Street in the colorful historic Muslim Malay Quarter (Bo-Kaap) of Cape Town. It is only a 5 minute walk from downtown CT or the trendy De Waterkant Village (cafes, restaurants, bars & clubs), and within walking distance of Cape Town International Convention Centre, and the V&A Waterfront. All rooms are en-suite with shower (bath) & toilet, TV, safe, air-conditioning, heating, and coffee & tea facilities.The rooms in these old "Malay" houses are not big, but they are all en-suite, with TVs, safes, air-conditioning and heating. Coffee & tea facilities are available in the kitchens and free wifi in the communal areas. We provide a laundry service if required and can arrange your transfers or tours. We are a non-smoking guesthouse and are dog friendly. A substantial continental self-serve buffet breakfast is provided.English, German, and French are spoken. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rose Lodge

Address: 28 Rose Street | Bo-Kaap, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > Schotsche Kloof
Price Range: €55 - €62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rose Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Lodge Cape Town, South Africa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rose Lodge staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Rose Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the rooms are good”
scubaboy-12, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“the second floor room”
hanaf_11, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“room 2 great”
12172013ty, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Book early - if you have particular wants, just ask.”
OliverandMargaret, 11 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the room at the front”
313gilliana, 7 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5