We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

House on the Hill

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
House on the Hill
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

129 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for House on the Hill
See the most recent reviews
Showing 77: English reviews
Niteroi, RJ
Reviewed 24 November 2010

I visited Cape Town on February 2010 and stayed on a annex building, just beside the main entrance. We used the self-catering option, as it offered I better price. On the plus side, the location of this place was great, near restaurants, supermarkets and close to the Waterfront. It was also close the the hop-on hop-off bus stop, and it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank luizniquet
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 5 November 2010

We rented the apartment run by House on the Hill that is located just around the corner from the main hostel. It was in an ordinary residential building and I liked the local feel. The building isn't stunning but the neighbourhood is nice. The apartment was basic, not fancy, but had everything we needed including a proper kitchen, and it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wrongwaysmith
Mauritius
Reviewed 17 October 2010

it is well situated and there are restaurants,supermarkets that are near.definitely i appreciated my stay there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chichi24
Naironi
Reviewed 23 September 2010

This little charming B&B/Self catering outfit is top notch as far as accommodation is concerned. The prices are extremely affordable, the rooms clean and airy with the right ambiance for the place and the location is perfect! House on the Hill is walking distance to the famed V&A Waterfront and also walking distance to downtown Cape Town, and all sorts...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank smitchener
Andover,UK
Reviewed 7 July 2010

We stayed in the B&B for 7 nights,and we couldnt fault it. The owner and staff were very friendly and looked after us very well. The location is great,15mins walk from the V&A waterfront and 2 mins from some bars and resturants.The rooms were very clean and the beds comfortable. Hoping to go back next year with the family. Graham...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BartyAndover_UK
Aachen, Germany
Reviewed 25 June 2010

we will come back, maybe 2012. A really nice hostel with a perfect location. Thx to the hosts for the great time in Cape Town. I can only advise this accomodation. It's close to the Main Road, the waterfront, the stadium and the taxi costs only 80 Rand to Camps Bay / Clifton Bay and 30 Rand to the Long...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank uwe_seeler
Terang, Australia
Reviewed 1 May 2010

House on the hill was one of the best value places we found in SA, it was right near shops and restaraunts, plus just 10 mins walk to V & A waterfront. There was free parking out the front and the street was quiet which made the simple but functional rooms a great place to get a nights sleep. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frequentjaunts
Europe
Reviewed 25 February 2010

DON'T STAY HERE. You can find many other places for the same money where the staff isn't rude. Great location, decent rooms for the money (although nothing special), bland breakfast but would have no trouble recommending if it weren't for the staff. The man staffer, Dean, hates his job and is constantly either drunk, sleeping or being rude. The fact...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank dave31416
Houseoth, owner at House on the Hill, responded to this review

House on the Hill would like to apologize to the guests for the incident and would like to assure all future clients that the matter has been attended to in the best possible manner. Our guests are guaranteed friendly service and warm hospitality at all times.....because we love the job we're doing!

Preston, England
Reviewed 2 February 2010

Stayed a week in early Jan, there for the cricket. Location is great, handy for the V&A which we always walked to and from, and just a mini bus, 5 rand each, to the centre of CT. Place is fine although our en-suite was a little tired, but good value. Always found Trish helpful and her advice to others always...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andy1mac
Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 24 December 2009

This was a nice B & B with microwave and refridgerator. It was great to have a view of the new Word Cup Stadium out our window. Safe walking distance to the V & A Waterfront with restaurants, pubs, shopping and attractions. Very economical and easy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mojowp

55 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
0.2 km away
Never at Home Cape Town
Never at Home Cape Town
#9 of 130 in Cape Town Central
248 reviews
0.1 km away
Atlantic Point Backpackers
Atlantic Point Backpackers
#3 of 130 in Cape Town Central
596 reviews
0.2 km away
The Backpackers in Green Point
The Backpackers in Green Point
#1 of 130 in Cape Town Central
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Harpers House
Harpers House
#139 of 951 in Cape Town
64 reviews
0.1 km away
Avatara Guest House
Avatara Guest House
#76 of 163 in Cape Town Central
62 reviews
0.6 km away
A Sunflower Stop
A Sunflower Stop
#7 of 130 in Cape Town Central
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )

Additional Information about House on the Hill

Address: 5 Norman Rd | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Price Range: €40 - €68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your House on the Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House On The Hill Hotel Cape Town Central
House On The Hill Cape Town, South Africa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from House on the Hill staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Portland, Oregon, United States

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from House on the Hill staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room number 7 is very close to the braai/entertainment area. This was the best room for me.”
 of 5 bubbles LamaVn, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Set in a side street off the main road, the rooms are quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles nickinsingapore, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We had two rooms and both were excellent”
 of 5 bubbles trilochansaini, 21 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Our room was upstairs, so be prepared to carry your luggage up”
 of 5 bubbles happytraveller5360, 18 Nov 2015 | Read review
“We stayed in Room 2 (downstairs) with a double and a single bed.”
 of 5 bubbles clemnise, 10 Jan 2015 | Read review
5 of 5