We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Urban Chic Boutique Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Urban Chic Boutique Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

275 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 220: English reviews
Start your review of Urban Chic Boutique Hotel
 Click to rate
Lagos, Nigeria
Reviewed 1 week ago

the general manager is unbelievable rude and not willing to help the guests in their requests. Cape town is such a beautiful place and so touristic, I would have thought the hotels should have bigger customer culture.....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ksenia_vm
UrbanChicBoutique, General Manager at Urban Chic Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Good day Please note that since you have never stayed with us, this is an invalid and fraudulent review. You have never experienced our hotel at all. You cancelled your booking with us (which was for check in on the 11th of March 2017) on Friday the 10th of February 2017 because you were unhappy with our policies and procedures...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Don't stay here! It's noisy, run down, bleak and depressing. And that's without taking into account the fact that you have to endure pounding, pumping music in your room from the club opposite the "hotel". Worst night away ever.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DeeW-SA
UrbanChicBoutique, General Manager at Urban Chic Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Good day Ma'am Yes, we are situated in what is commonly known as the party street of Cape Town, All of our reviews and our website clearly state this. We even offer earplugs on check in and state as much on our website. When my staff offered you the earplugs you declined though Our website uses phrases like "never sleeps...

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights from 28/01 untill 01/01. The hotel has a small but pleasant reception. The staff are very happy to assist you with your enquiries. The Breakfast is served up stairs at the front of the hotel, overlooking the street. There is a bar in the hotel on the ground floor. Lifts provide access to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PaulA126
Montagu, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It is a really nice hotel to stay at. The staff at the hotel is really friendly and polite, very willing to help you. It is central to all the restaurants and bars and the atmosphere is nice. The rooms are beautiful and clean. Will definitely come again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrscarol60
Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Vegetarian breakfast (egg-free) was excellent. Rooms were clean and spacious. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Free parking and wifi was available. My sister and I walked to the V&A Waterfront. The hotel is also walking distance to the Castle of Good Hope.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jasoda N
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

It was a last minute decision to stay in cape town .... we booked the urban chic quickly and then looked at the reviews so did not expect much due to the negative feedback.... all i can say is this us a lovely spot .... great welcome by the receptionist who was nothing short of helpful, lovely clean quirky rooms,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tony C
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a 2 star Best and Breakfast operating under the disguise of a hotel and would like to find-out why Tourism South Africa graded the establishment as a 4 star hotel. Expect disappointment from the time you walk through the reception door until check out. I asked for a refund after staying one night but management declined. If you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Staywell2017
UrbanChicBoutique, General Manager at Urban Chic Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Good day ma'am You complained about the noise after the first night and you were upset that we would not give you a refund and for the next 3 days you were not happy with anything - probably because you were unhappy that we did not agree to your request for a refund even though it clearly states on all...

Brockenhurst, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 January 2017

This was a flight package so we had no idea except the trip adviser reviews and not all were complementary but we thought we would give it a go as we have only stayed in the V&A and this would give us a base in the center of town. We had a room on the sixth floor, three days mid...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bigcthebogan
Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

Booked a luxury king room. Arrived and paid in full when I checked in just before 14:00. Room was very stuffy. If you use the staircase you only smell smoke - even though it is non smoking in the rooms. Not up to standard. Very disappointed. Booked for 3 nights - could not even stay for one.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa A
UrbanChicBoutique, General Manager at Urban Chic Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Good day and thank you for your review I'm sorry you feel this way and wish you had stayed longer than an hour and spoken to us before leaving so that we could try rectifying the issues you had. All of our rooms ARE non-smoking - unfortunately our bar is a smoking area and on rare occasions, some smoke travels...

Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

This is a clean well serviced small hotel in the middle of Long Street, one of the busiest night spots in Cape Town. The staff are friendly, polite and very helpful. There is limited parking spaces, but depending on your activities I would recommend not hiring a car unless you have to. Be prepared for a lot of noise till...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chisanga C

112 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (84)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
2:13
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#43 of 106 in Cape Town Central
714 reviews
0.2 km away
Long Street Boutique Hotel
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#51 of 106 in Cape Town Central
169 reviews
0.3 km away
Cape Town Lodge
Cape Town Lodge
#71 of 106 in Cape Town Central
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Strand Tower Hotel
Strand Tower Hotel
#48 of 106 in Cape Town Central
616 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel on St Georges
Hotel on St Georges
#70 of 106 in Cape Town Central
422 reviews
0.5 km away
Parliament Hotel
Parliament Hotel
#34 of 106 in Cape Town Central
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Urban Chic Hotel has 20 bedrooms and luxurious en-suite bathrooms that offers everything that an overseas tourist or corporate client could want, in the form of comfort and state-of-the-art amenities. The well-appointed rooms all have air-conditioning, and wireless communication ensure instant internet access for laptop users. Our Rooms have large windows that offer breathtaking views of Table Mountain, Lions Head and Signal Hill. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Urban Chic Boutique Hotel

Address: 172 Long Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Price Range: €73 - €141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Urban Chic Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Urban Chic Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urban Chic Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa
Hotel Style:
#65 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Urban Chic Boutique Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
4 months ago
San Francisco, California
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Urban Chic Boutique Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“For a good nights sleep avoid rooms that face Long Street.”
  • View of Table Mountain from Hotel Room
 of 5 bubbles PaulA126, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Chose rooms on the fourth floor and above for better sleep.”
 of 5 bubbles jasodan, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Sixth floor is still pumping. Room 603 has a great view of Table mountain.”
 of 5 bubbles bigcthebogan, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room off long street if you choose to stay here”
 of 5 bubbles HelenMaccarese, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Over look long street”
 of 5 bubbles crystalmO8180KZ, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5