We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Winchester Mansions

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Winchester Mansions
Winchester Mansions
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

981 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Winchester Mansions
See the most recent reviews
Showing 831: English reviews
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 December 2014 via mobile

Second time we have stayed here. Why stay anywhere else? Excellent friendly staff, superb breakfasts. Free shuttles to/from the waterfront is a great idea. The sea views from the hotel are wonderful. What a great hotel to spend our honeymoon in. Well done.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank William S
Bianca K, GM Assistant at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review

Congratuluations on your wedding! We are very glad that we could be part of your honeymoon and that you had an amazing time. See you again soon!

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 December 2014

I can only comment on the Sunday brunch at this hotel which I'm glad to say was recommended to me. Brunch is from 11am to 2pm during which time food and drink is copious and is accompanied by a live jazz band and singer. The variety and quantity of food is excellent and the staff very friendly and courteous. This...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John C
Bianca K, GM Assistant at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review on our signature event. Join us again soon if you can!

Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 November 2014

The Winchester Mansions is in a good location and serviced well by the City Bus Tours buses that have a bus stop just across the road. The service in the bar area and reception was very good. It was enjoyable to sit on the terrace and watch the Para gliders coming into land on the lawns across the road. Our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catherine166
Bianca K, GM Assistant at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review

Please accept our apologies for the slow breakfast service you experienced. This is not what we pride ourselves in and we will be sure to take this up with our breakfast team. We are glad that this did not dampen your overall experience and would love to have you back soon!

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 17 November 2014

Even if you have an ocean view from the outside restaurant, we preferred to be seated inside and it was nice and fresh to be in the Courtyard next to the fountain. The focaccia was nice and nice choice of wine by the glass; ask for blue if you wish rare cooked meat. The food had a good taste and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Felicidad3102
Bianca K, GM Assistant at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind rating! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and would like to apologise for the slow service that you experienced. Please be assured that we will take your comment up with our F&B Manager.

Leicester
Reviewed 15 November 2014

Stayed from 4-11 November. As a single female traveller visiting Cape Town for the first time both friends and family had expressed some concern about my trip. They need not have worried. The hotel was fantastic and the staff can't do enough for you. My room was first rate, and the real coffee and cafetière was a real plus. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TannedLeicester
Bianca K, GM Assistant at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review

We are glad that you came to South Africa despite the worries of your friends and family and are very happy that you had a fabulous time and that our staff were able to make you feel safe and welcome!

Merewether, NSW
Reviewed 13 November 2014

My wife and I have had the good fortune to spend 3 days here, as part of her birthday present. This is a lovely traditional hotel, not bland business accommodation, and highly recommended. The reception staff upgraded us to the Robben Island Suite, with lounge, bedroom and 2 bathrooms, overlooking the beach - all very comfortable. Afternoon drinks on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jerry T
Bianca K, GM Assistant at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review

We are loving the great feedback we get regarding our staff. Thank you! We hope your wife had a great birthday and that the remainder of your holiday was equally as good.

Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 12 November 2014

The Winchester Hotel is such a lovely hotel in an amazing location facing the sea. My husband and I spent 3 nights here and the best thing about this hotel is, without doubt its staff - they are so welcoming and friendly and very professional. The food is excellent particularly the breakfast and the dining room is facing the sea....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maccoin
Bianca K, GM Assistant at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your raving review and for the special mention of our staff. We hope to have you back some time soon!

cintimike
Reviewed 11 November 2014

Very friendly staff, great food, location and service. An older hotel but well maintained. (Creaky wood floors were nice actually). Am told it's the only Cape Town hotel on the ocean. Wonderful views of the sea from from fronting rooms. Lively and safe feeling part of town. Good happy hour. Take their van to the harbor; their timely pickups were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cintimike
Bianca K, GM Assistant at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review

Thank you for your favourable review and for mentioning our very friendly staff. We love to hear good things about our staff!

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 November 2014

We stayed 4 nights celebrating our 40th Wedding Anniversary. The staff were extremely welcoming and attentive. The food was excellent and very reasonably priced. Overall an excellent experience. Brilliant.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank judithderekr
Bianca K, GM Assistant at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review

Congratulations again to your 40th wedding anniversary! May you have many more amazing years together. Thank you for your kind rating!

Volmoed, Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 9 November 2014

We had booked several months ago for a few nights at this hotel due to its position on the beach front & the'grand old lady style' of hotel. On arrival we were very disappointed to discover that they had messed up our booking & we were bumped over to another nearby hotel. The manageress who explained the situation was very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alyson G
Bianca K, GM Assistant at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review

Dear Alyson, we just wanted to let you know again through this channel how very sorry we are that we had to move you at the time of your arrival. We hope that this did not spoil your overall experience in Cape Town and that you did enjoy your time here. Kindest regards

563 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (233)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (48)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
View from Room (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Other (86)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (304)
Viewed
Amenities (38)
Viewed
Balcony Suite (40)
Viewed
Classic Room (33)
Viewed
Family Room (66)
Viewed
Junior Suite (36)
Viewed
Modern Classic Room (28)
Viewed
Pool (12)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.2 km away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#26 of 106 in Cape Town Central
447 reviews
2.4 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,641 reviews
2.8 km away
Cape Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,780 reviews
2.0 km away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#34 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,459 reviews
2.8 km away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#27 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Winchester Mansions is an iconic building on the seafront in Cape Town within close proximity to the V&A Waterfront and Cape Town International Airport. Free shuttle service to the Waterfront, free wifi internet access in public areas are standard. This landmark hotel offers classic elegant rooms, many boasting stunning sea views. Facilities include a heated pool, relaxing treatments in the Ginkgo Spa, signature dishes from award winning Harveys Restaurant & Bar as well as full service conferencing. Cape Town's most famous and longest running Jazz brunch is hosted at Winchester Mansions every Sunday of the year. The monthly Grapes, Gourmet and Gallery evenings draw large numbers of food & wine lovers and art aficionados. Winchester Mansions - Part of the Journey ... more   less 

Additional Information about Winchester Mansions

Address: 221 Beach Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Price Range: €125 - €321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Winchester Mansions 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Winchester Mansions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winchester Mansions Hotel Cape Town Central
Winchester Mansions Cape Town, South Africa
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#29 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Winchester Mansions staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Winchester Mansions staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“front facing rooms only and not on upper floor”
 of 5 bubbles CassWoking, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the first floor above the bar can be a bit noisy in the morning when the tables are being put on the terrace outside.”
 of 5 bubbles PSML, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Avoid room 222 (it is a bigger room than most) - housekeeping next door so noisy in the morning.”
 of 5 bubbles SarahP850, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Be aware that some standard rooms have windows facing to inner courtyard so try and get one facing outside or upgrade to a suite.”
 of 5 bubbles TopB, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“225 best room in the hotel with great sea views ”
 of 5 bubbles julieaL8692LU, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5