We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

La Splendida

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
La Splendida
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

180 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for La Splendida
See the most recent reviews
Showing 155: English reviews
Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 9 June 2016

After a long trip from Thailand we spend the night at La Splendida. Lovely 3 star Property accros the road from the beach, nice restaurant area on the ground floor, had a lovely breakfast there. The Bathroom do need a bit of an upgrade , but the room was very spacious and clean. Close to Waterfront , ideal location.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank anneliev2016
ResidentManager2015, General Manager at La Splendida, responded to this review

Dear Anneliev2016, Thank you for visiting the La Splendida Hotel recently. My Team and I are delighted to note from your survey, that you enjoyed your stay with us! It makes me extremely proud when we have lived up to our standard and by doing so, created an exceptional experience for our Guests. This in turn will hopefully ensure that...

St. Anton am Arlberg, Austria
Reviewed 1 June 2016

Great room, comfortable bed and a power shower. A couple of things that need a look at - Wifi is intermittent and poor. Really important for tourists and business travel to have reliable internet in the rooms. Also, didn't like the hotel photocopying my drivers licence and credit card. SA is awash with CC and ID theft. Why is this...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrefella
ResidentManager2015, General Manager at La Splendida, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for visiting the La Splendida Hotel recently. My Team and I are delighted to note from your survey, that you enjoyed your stay with us! It makes me extremely proud when we have lived up to our standard and by doing so, created an exceptional experience for our Guests. This in turn will hopefully ensure that...

Ballito, South Africa
Reviewed 29 May 2016

Great stay in superb location. Also great restuarant downstairs offering good food with sunset views of note. Staff friendly and arguably best coffee on the strip. Took the bed and breakfast option- good omelette and wifi for mornings work. Would deffo's go back.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank H8578IUstevenc
ResidentManager2015, General Manager at La Splendida, responded to this review

Dear H8578IUstevenc, Thank you for visiting the La Splendida Hotel recently. My Team and I are delighted to note from your survey, that you enjoyed your stay with us! We are without a doubt situated in a superb location with breathtaking views and various outdoor activities surrounding the hotel. Your kind comments will be passed on to team. Thank you...

Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewed 23 May 2016

I really enjoyed my stay at La Splendida. I found that for the price, the accommodations were clean and the service was friendly. Management was particularly knowledgeable and friendly. The hotel is located in a great area for morning and evening walks. Free parking right across the street, which was available close to the hotel throughout my stay. The breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ENickinA2
ResidentManager2015, General Manager at La Splendida, responded to this review

Dear ENickinA2, Thank you for visiting the La Splendida Hotel recently. My Team and I are delighted to note from your survey, that you enjoyed your stay with us! It makes me extremely proud when we have lived up to our standard and by doing so, created an exceptional experience for our Guests. This in turn will hopefully ensure that...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 22 May 2016

incredibly noisy - above a restaurant where they play music til late even though there no customers downstairs so its more to entertain the staff. they setup the chairs in the morning from about 6am so you hear every stool and table being dragged on the floor and unfolded. there was also painting taking place in the corridors whilst we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank koshboy
ResidentManager2015, General Manager at La Splendida, responded to this review

Dear koshboy Thank you for visiting the La Splendida Hotel recently. My Team and I are saddened to note from your survey, that you have not enjoyed your stay with us! This is not the standard we pride ourselves in. The problems you have encountered are being addressed with Management and will not be taken lightly. On your next visit...

Reviewed 20 May 2016

The hotel is in a good part of town and within a walkable distance to the Waterfront where there is always stuff going on. The hotel was clean and the staff were very friendly. The restaurant serves a wide variety of food, and from what I experienced it is top quality and very delicious. I had accidentally left a small...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ang2win
ResidentManager2015, General Manager at La Splendida, responded to this review

Dear Ang2win Thank you for visiting the La Splendida Hotel recently. My Team and I are delighted to note from your survey, that you enjoyed your stay with us! The honesty and outstanding service you have received makes me extremely proud when we have lived up to our standard and by doing so, created an exceptional experience for our Guests....

Reviewed 18 May 2016 via mobile

A couple of years ago I stayed here. It was very nice. Now they have "upgraded it". It's disgusting. The room smelled of smoke The aircon was faulty, the room had very little in the way of comfort the bathroom window was straight onto the passage with no security. It was noisy and unwelcoming. I wish they had left it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janekuzlo
ResidentManager2015, General Manager at La Splendida, responded to this review

Dear Janekuzlo, Thank you for visiting the La Splendida Hotel recently. My Team and I are saddened to note from your survey, that you have not enjoyed your stay with us! Your comments will not not go unnoticed and will be taken serious and has been addressed. A penalty fee has been put in place to ensue the rooms are...

Kloof, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Reviewed 19 April 2016

I used to stay in this hotel for many years and it was always great, but it seems to have changed ownership and it's no longer what it used to be. On arrival there was no-one at reception and eventually a lady came to see to us - her manner was casual as though she was talking to one of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelsey B
ResidentManager2015, General Manager at La Splendida, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Boyce, I would like to apologize for the unprofessional service you have received. This is not the service we pride ourselves in. And the lack of professionalism is completely unacceptable and will not go unnoticed. I will make contact with you to discuss the matter further. Regards, Faizel Abrahams

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 9 April 2016

Location is the best, staff are tops! Linen is divine experience and if you book Seaview facing room, it's heavenly . Restuarant part of hotel serves delicious food with wonderful compliment of friendly staff ! It's my home away from home when I am on business in Cape Town

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sagreegerdharee
ResidentManager2015, General Manager at La Splendida, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Gerdharee, Thank you for visiting the La Splendida Hotel recently. My Team and I are delighted to note from your survey, that you enjoyed your stay with us! It gives me great pleasure in always welcoming our return guests to ensure they are warmly received upon check in and during their stay. It makes me extremely proud when...

Reviewed 5 April 2016 via mobile

Gross misrepresentation of the quality of the hotel from the photos provided online. Checked in on the 30th for a night and the room provided was in such poor shape we asked if we could pay to move room to a better one. Once we were told there was none available we requested to check out, suddenly rooms were available...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Witty A
ResidentManager2015, General Manager at La Splendida, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Byrne, I have noted from your survey the unpleasant stay you have experienced with us. It has saddened me greatly we have not lived up to our standard to ensure the problems you have encountered be dealt with in a more professional manner. Your comments will not go unnoticed. I have contacted you on your personal email. Regards,...

89 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (60)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
1.6 km away
Premier Hotel Cape Town
Premier Hotel Cape Town
#58 of 106 in Cape Town Central
476 reviews
1.7 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#78 of 106 in Cape Town Central
192 reviews
2.1 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#68 of 106 in Cape Town Central
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#25 of 106 in Cape Town Central
445 reviews
1.5 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#59 of 106 in Cape Town Central
897 reviews
2.9 km away
New Kings Hotel
New Kings Hotel
#70 of 106 in Cape Town Central
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about La Splendida

Address: 121 Beach Road | Mouille Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Price Range: €78 - €181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Splendida 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your La Splendida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Splendida Hotel Cape Town Central
La Splendida Cape Town, South Africa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from La Splendida staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from La Splendida staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If noise bothers you, ask for a sea-facing room on a higher floor or a mountain-facing room.”
 of 5 bubbles TaniaDLK, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“see view is great, but make sure you two floors up as restaurant can be a little noizy”
 of 5 bubbles L3311WQelenal, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 302 had great views and was very spacious and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles 816lesleyd, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Mountain view rooms as quiet and roomier”
 of 5 bubbles laurenw129, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Would have gotten the ocean view if it had been available.”
 of 5 bubbles ljshank, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5