We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

190 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle
See the most recent reviews
Showing 168: English reviews
Bentonville, Arkansas
Reviewed 4 October 2015 via mobile

I have generally had good experiences with the Protea brand but this one was the worst experience. Had selected this property for its proximity to the Waterfront yet not in the hustle and bustle. It is located on a main road and mostly residential. The good: -was welcomed as an Marriott Reward member -received notes in my room from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Latino_Hog
Bracknell, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 September 2015

I stayed here as part of a business trip of South Africa. The hotel is OK, but does not have much going for it. The rooms are OK, the corridors very narrow and a bit claustrophobic but on the good side the staff were willing and very pleasant. Breakfast was reasonable and the overall cost was great but I would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris O
Austin, Texas
Reviewed 9 September 2015

The service and views and value make up for this older property's tiredness. It is a great location with both a grocery store and a slew of great restaurants and bars just around the corner. The staff were exceptional, always happy to help. Rooms are big if you have living area but the bedrooms are very tight. Two twins will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraJoubert
Naples, Florida
Reviewed 4 September 2015 via mobile

I got a room here for one night although all the other hotels were sold out. I had a small room. It's clean and the bed is comfortable. Breakfast was not included. It's in walking distance to the V&A waterfront. It's more like a business hotel. I probably wouldn't stay here again unless I had a meeting just around the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EnnoFL89
PHCapeCastle, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle, responded to this review

Good day Basics, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am pleased you were comfortable and found the location convenient for your business. We hope you do choose to stay with us again. Kind Regards General Manager David Wilson-Poe

Great Brak River, South Africa
Reviewed 4 September 2015

We booked a superior room and got one with a lovely view of the Waterfront. It was really spectacular to sit on the balcony at night and enjoy the view. We arrived late and ordered room service. There is a complete kitchenette with tea and coffee making facilities as well. The food was fine for what we needed. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tuscany987
PHCapeCastle, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle, responded to this review

Good day Tuscany987, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are pleased you were comfortable and enjoyed the views from your room overlooking the Waterfront. We hope you will return soon. Kind Regards General Manager David Wilson-Poe

Eastern Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 15 August 2015

The spacious suites facing the Waterfront are well worth it.The suite was perfect and very spacious and the Staff were super friendly and helpful.The wifi works splendidly and was free. The street is a bit noisy from the street down stairs but the views make up for it and it calms down at night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bredenoord
PHCapeCastle, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle, responded to this review

Dear Bredenoord Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and your visit to the Mother City. Kind regards General Manager David Wilson-Poe

Ogdensburg, New York
Reviewed 16 July 2015

The Cape Castle is on the Main Road in Green Point near the stadium and very close to Victoria Wharf. It is centrally located to go anywhere. While Main Road is a multi-lane and busy thoroughfare, it has a wide center island with plantings, benches for relaxing, and a pedestrian pathway so that you do not have to worry about...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marf13669
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewed 26 May 2015

Its good, but very old. I´d stay there again only if money was a big issue It´s ok for budget people that used to stay in 3* hotels Need some refurbishing Good service, good location to explore Green Point. Amazing view!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ElianeSB
San Jose, California
Reviewed 21 May 2015

I stayed for 6 nights recently on my business trip. I chose this place as the Protea group has joined Marriott's partner hotels. The location is easy to access and I was able to go do my work easily. But getting a Taxi was a bit tricky during the evenings. The room was good, clean and well kept, with a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JupiterNine
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 14 May 2015

Great view from Balcony, we could see the sun set and rise from our balcony, and see Table Mtn from our shower with hot water. Good, comfortable beds. Room service was always fast. All the staff was friendly and very helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Guy999999
PHCapeCastle, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle, responded to this review

Good Day Guy999999 Thank you for taking the time to fill in a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and your visit to Cape Town. Come back soon. Kind Regards General Manager David Wilson-Poe

134 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (62)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (72)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.4 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#53 of 106 in Cape Town Central
875 reviews
0.3 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#52 of 106 in Cape Town Central
551 reviews
1.0 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#61 of 106 in Cape Town Central
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#70 of 106 in Cape Town Central
298 reviews
1.7 km away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marr...
#78 of 106 in Cape Town Central
954 reviews
0.0 km away
Sugar Hotel & Spa
Sugar Hotel & Spa
#51 of 106 in Cape Town Central
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Protea Hotel Cape Castle, a 3 star hotel, is every traveler’s home away from home. The ultimate in self-catering, the hotel comprises of 65 fully serviced luxury apartment suites. No matter which apartment you stay in, wake up to great views of the waterfront, city or mountain. The apartments comprise of an en-suite bathroom, a comfortable lounge (with sleeper couch for extra GUESTS or children), dining area, a fully-equipped kitchen, a workplace for busy executives, air conditioning and satellite TV. Could you ask for more? In case you do, Protea Hotel Cape Castle features a rim-flow pool overlooking the V&A Waterfront, plenty of undercover parking and 24-hour security, photocopying, telephone, e-mail, limited free connectivity WIFI and internet. When you get tired of cooking pop down to the Tribes Restaurant which serves full English buffet breakfast, a la carte lunch and dinner daily. The hotel is within easy strolling distance of the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, the CBD, Green Point Stadium, sidewalk bistros and some of Cape Town's most exciting restaurants, pubs and shops. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle

Address: 3 Main Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Cape Castle)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Price Range: €81 - €172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Marriott so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel By Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle South Africa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask if possible for a room facing either the mountain or the waterfront.”
 of 5 bubbles 334JohnP, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“higher the better”
 of 5 bubbles Gardengel-IoW, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I was on the 7th floor”
 of 5 bubbles NomsaMhembiri, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at front have some views but may be noisy. Suggest level 2 or higher.”
 of 5 bubbles VickiE340, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Mountain side is away from the main road .”
 of 5 bubbles tys259, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5