We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction

Booking.comUS$131*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$272*
US$131*
US$272*
US$131*
US$272*
US$131*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

594 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 508: English reviews
Start your review of Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction
 Click to rate
Porto, Portugal
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

In short… I enjoyed my stay in this place, to put it in simple terms. Now, this is what I think: POSITIVE POINTS: First I need to commend the staff… ALL staff, truly an asset to this hotel. Front desk / bar / restaurant… and a special mention to the cleaning staff, who do an excellent job of keeping this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trave1Bandit
Auckland
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The staff are friendly and food is good in the restaurant, if a little limited at dinner. The rooms are comfortable and quirky, if a little smaller than at some Protea hotels. The outdoor pool is across the carpark and the only disabled access is in the carpark, which taxis and coaches cannot access - very silly and awkward. Most...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank itspji
PHVJ-GM, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction, responded to this review

Dear itspji, Thank you for taking the time to complete the review in regards to your recent stay at the Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction. We truly appreciate your compliments regarding our friendly staff and comfortable rooms. With aspiration to always exceed GUEST expectations, we have unfortunately fallen short of this goal during your visit. We will...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I love this hotel. The rooms are comfortable, the staff are fantastic and the location is excellent. I have stayed here on many occasions and I always look forward to going back. In terms of value for money, I believe this is the best hotel in Cape Town. You are close to the waterfront, you can walk down the road...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank H H
PHVJ-GM, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction, responded to this review

Dear H H, Thank you for your wonderful recommendation and taking the time to write your review. We are so happy to read that you always thoroughly enjoy your time with us and that you found our rooms, friendly service and location ideal for your travel needs. Your recommendation as one of our regular return GUESTS is highly valued and...

Beirut, Lebanon
Reviewed 1 week ago

My stay at the Protea Hotel in Cape Town was nothing near what i have heard and read on reviews. Staff are not friendly at all, they are not helpful! They would give you a hard time if you even asked for a bottle of water. Not to mention the horrific room service! Not recommended. Only good thing about this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ghada K
PHVJ-GM, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction, responded to this review

Dear Ghada K, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your stay with us! We would like to take this opportunity to apologize for the dissatisfied experience you had with us on your recent stay. I can confirm that your comments have been followed up and remedial action has been taken to ensure that this...

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 1 week ago

Clean rooms, good location and friendly staff. Quirky building design. Terrible wifi speed and awful window blinds, which leave the glow of the buildings architectural lighting and green fluorescent light pouring in. Certainly a business hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andmiz
PHVJ-GM, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction, responded to this review

Dear Andmiz, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review after your most recent stay at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction! On behalf of the management and STAFF, I would like to apologize most sincerely for your bad experience you had with our wifi. We are extremely saddened by your feedback. As we...

Confluence, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 1 week ago

The flight got in early and rooms weren't available. The front desk handled the storage of our luggage and pointed us to the waterfront for a hop-on-hop-off bus and a quick tour. We asked about dinner at Mamma Africa and they book us a reservation. Off we went. Once back at the hotel the desk arranged for a free shuttle...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pwiegman
PHVJ-GM, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction, responded to this review

Dear pwiegman, Thank you very much for the exceptional review! Thank you for your recognition on the friendly service as well as the competence of the TEAM. We are happy to hear that you managed to make use of all facilities the hotel and the area have to offer! We are delighted to receive your recommendation and look forward to...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I recently stayed at this hotel (May 9-13) and the location was within a fifteenth -twenty minutes walk from the hotel to the Water Front in Cape Town, South Africa. We had a suite and it was very comfortable and you could entertain friends or family. The bed was comfortable and room was large. The breakfast buffet was okay. However,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carlos T
PHVJ-GM, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction, responded to this review

Dear Carlos T, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your kind words and are delighted to hear that you had a comfortable stay in our Loft Rooms and found the location ideal. We continually strive to deliver excellent GUEST service and ongoing training will be done with our restaurant staff to address...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Well appointed rooms. Quite spacious. Loft rooms are best for extended stays in my opinion. Well trained staff and no request was not honoured including an upgrade. Close to decent restaurants and coffee shops and 10 minute walk to V&A.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank R J
PHVJ-GM, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction, responded to this review

Dear R J, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review after your most recent stay at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction! Thank you for your lovely feedback regarding our spacious loft rooms, efficient staff and ideal location close to the V&A Waterfront! Positive feedback like yours helps boost STAFF morale so we...

New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We started our South African adventure in Cape Town and the travel agency we used booked us into this hotel. Overall, the experience was ok but not more. The room was clean and comfortable, but the service needs improvement. Desk staff continually failed to provide timely wake up calls and we encountered at least one surly/bad attitude front desk person...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bruce M
PHVJ-GM, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction, responded to this review

Dear Bruce M, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction! As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels, we have unfortunately fallen short of our goal during your recent stay. We will be sure to review your concerns...

Chicago
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in this property for 3 nights. This hotel is within walking distance to Waterfront but we never walked there. We took Uber or free hotel shuttle which was provided on certain time. The area is relatively safe but I don't recommend walking around the area in the evening. We were approached by strangers as we walked towards KFC...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank punamo
PHVJ-GM, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction, responded to this review

Dear punamo, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review after your most recent stay at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction! On behalf of the management and STAFF, I would like to apologize most sincerely for your unacceptable stay experience. We are extremely saddened by your feedback. As we pride ourselves on delivering...

262 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (155)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (54)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (107)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (24)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.6 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#60 of 109 in Cape Town Central
945 reviews
1.6 km away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marr...
#79 of 109 in Cape Town Central
988 reviews
0.7 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#58 of 109 in Cape Town Central
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#67 of 109 in Cape Town Central
320 reviews
0.3 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#80 of 109 in Cape Town Central
197 reviews
1.8 km away
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel
#38 of 109 in Cape Town Central
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in the urban landscape of Greenpoint, one of Cape Town's trendiest suburbs, The Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction's location offers easy access to major Cape Town tourist attractions as well as the CBD, the Cape Town International Convention Centre and the V&A Waterfront for GUESTS staying on business. Our in house, Connexxion Restaurant is the perfect option for guests on the go. The breakfast buffet remains of international standard with a huge variety of items to choose from and for your convenience - breakfast hours over weekends are extended so you can sleep in! The Hotel provides a new contemporary urban lifestyle where you can live, work and play within a 5 kilometre radius. Walk to the Cape Quarter Lifestyle Centre and the Greenpoint Park or cycle on the new pedestrian and cycle ways. Catch a MyCity bus or the red Cape Town Tourism bus to visit Clifton, Camps Bay beach or as far as Simon's Town and Constantia! All the bedrooms feature sleek, modern design that offer environmentally friendly lighting, water-saving rain showers and energy efficient entertainment options like the Bravia LCD screens and iPod docking stations. International adapter installations also improve services to our International GUESTS. Protea Hotel Victoria Junction - a contemporary urban lifestyle! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction

Address: corner Somerset Road and Ebenezer Road, Cape Town Central 8002, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Price Range: €96 - €200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Cape Town
Protea Hotel Victoria Junction
Victoria Junction
Protea Hotel By Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction South Africa
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#35 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#50 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a high floor”
itspji, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“The rooms are very noisy, you could hear everything happening in the other rooms.”
223ghadak, 19 May 2017 | Read review
“ask for a room with a view of the harbor. We didn't get one and the experience is better if you have that view.”
276brucem, 14 May 2017 | Read review
“Try to get a room not facing the main street as friends told us it was noisy.”
Islandgirl4242, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Great hotel and location”
carlmanm, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$131* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUS$131
Hotels.comUS$131
AMOMAUS$272
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates