We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Backpack

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Backpack
The Backpack
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

622 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Backpack
See the most recent reviews
Showing 524: English reviews
Marquette, Michigan, United States
Reviewed 26 May 2015

I stayed at The Backpack for a week. I was really impressed & pleased that I stayed there. I stayed in a 4 bed female room, paid a bit more but it was well worth it! The room was quiet, extremely clean and completely secure. The bathrooms were spotless! They have hot water everyday! (Bonus!) My experience w/the staff was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Star B
tembi1, Owner at The Backpack, responded to this review

We are so happy that you loved staying with us found our water hot, our rooms clean and all who works here friendly and accommodating and not to forget our delicious breakfasts. The internet has been frustrating for us too and we have had a few hiccups however new fibre optics are a few days away and we will be...

St. Vincent
Reviewed 23 May 2015

I stayed here for over a week. This hostel attracts a great crowd. While I was there, there were many school groups, families and solo travelers. I got to know quite a few foreign travelers while I was there. I spent a few nights out with people I met from the hostel too. The rooms are colorful and there are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank virvoed
tembi1, Owner at The Backpack, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review its really fantastic what you say about our hostel. The good news about the wifi is that we are just waiting to be hooked up to the new super dooper fast wifi and as soon as the phone company hooks us up there will be no slowing down no matter how many people are connected...

seattle, wa
Reviewed 20 May 2015

Hostel was clean and bright, loved the colors. Great location, easy walk to long street and a view of table mountain. Liked the security on the gate. Only two small things: My first morning the breakfast was nearly all finished well before ending time and they had to boil an egg for me, all pastries were gone. My room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank robynhl
tembi1, Owner at The Backpack, responded to this review

We are so happy you loved the fresh new look of The Backpack we love it too. I am sorry that some of the breakfast items were gone - its free, its delicious but if you come late your first choices might be gone. Sorry that the room was noisy when you stayed a good tip is to carry some...

Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewed 18 May 2015

I had a great time at the backpack. It was the perfect location to see all that capetown has to offer. They had great tour recommendations. And the breakfast was always amazing. It was very easy to meet people and join in on activities and the mix of people was good, not just single young backpackers but families, travel groups...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mamayek23
tembi1, Owner at The Backpack, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great review of The Backpack. We are so happy you liked our travel service and delicious free breakfasts. Our guests are the best thing about The Backpack and we are so glad you thought so too. So sorry you found the wifi a bit slow we have been having a bit of a problem...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 May 2015

We visited The Backpack as the first stop on our honeymoon - so we splashed out on the top room! The place was a great start to our trip - everyone was super friendly, the place itself was really well looked after and clean. Our room was stunning - amazing views and really clean, comfy and everything we needed. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew6100
tembi1, Owner at The Backpack, responded to this review

We are so happy to be the first stop on your Honeymoon and even though you had a few extra tenants they did not detract from your stay or expectations. We hope The Backpack will always be part of your happy memories as you travel through life together and we look forward to your coming back again with the kids!...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 10 May 2015

This place was great. Comfy bed with fuzzy blankets 😻. The dorms are a little loud but what dorm isn't. Our last night we stayed in a 3 bed dorm which was the best. Favourite part would be the continental breakfast. So tasty, so many options. Only downside is that they don't offer any other meals. Kloosterman street is near...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank h0lky
tembi1, Owner at The Backpack, responded to this review

Thank yo so much for taking the time to review The Backpack. We are stoked you loved our Continental Breakfast and of course the comfy beds. After all a good nights sleep is really important and a delicious breakfast the way to start your day. There are so many great restaurants on our doorstep we are happy you got to...

Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 16 April 2015

The Backpack is an awesome hostel!! And their staff is so friendly, helpful, and welcoming they truly make you feel like you're at home. I planned on staying for two nights at the backpack and stayed for two and a half weeks!!! That's how great this place is. Great lounge areas for socializing with other travelers. Can't stress enough how...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Meghan B
JadeCPT, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review

Hi there and thank you for taking the time to review us! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us just as much as we enjoyed having you around. The staff loved it when you popped in at the front desk to tell us your new and hilarious travel stories. As well as us being entertained by constantly...

Long Island
Reviewed 16 April 2015

I could go on and on about how great this hostel is. The staff were fabulous, the location was perfect, the spaces were clean and it was such an incredible perk having a bar inside the actual hostel which was pretty much open at all times. The cool thing about this hostel is that it can really be whatever you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cmcnicol
JadeCPT, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review

Hey there, thanks for the review! Wow, we are forever grateful for this awesome feedback! It is comments like this that keep us driven and aware that we are doing it right. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and made use of the communal areas, such as enjoying some drinks at the bar with us. We do...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 16 April 2015

I've had a read through some of the latest reviews and honestly feel that they are doing this place a disservice. This is the 5th time I have stayed at the Backpack and it never fails to disappoint. The people are amazingly warm and friendly (maybe you get back what you give out?). Sadly no more Lisa and Paul but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebeccamling
JadeCPT, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks for the lovely review of our hostel. Yes, you have walked through our doors 5 times now and we can't wait for you to come back for a 6th time! We are glad that the new staff were just as friendly and helpful as the old. Thank you for appreciating the small touches we add to The...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 13 April 2015

I stayed at the Backpack for 3 nights last week and as a female traveller travelling alone I couldn't recommend it more. Was in a four girls shared dorm which was very clean, comfortable and well maintained throughout the stay. Great location, especially for table mountain and proximity to main city. Airport shuttle was organised for me seamlessly when requested...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jaya268
JadeCPT, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review

Hi there and thanks for the review of our hostel! We are so happy to hear that you had a great stay with us and you felt that our service was up to standard. We love helping our guests to make the most of their stay in Cape Town and we are glad that you did just that! We hope...

377 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (164)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
1:48
Videos (5)
Viewed
Other (77)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (182)
Viewed
Amenities (24)
Viewed
Pool (8)
Viewed
President's Suite (38)
Viewed
Private Room (27)
Viewed
Private Room with Shared Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
2.3 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#68 of 106 in Cape Town Central
278 reviews
1.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#46 of 106 in Cape Town Central
670 reviews
0.9 km away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#17 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#24 of 106 in Cape Town Central
408 reviews
2.3 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#52 of 106 in Cape Town Central
833 reviews
3.1 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Selected as best value stay in the world 2014 by Lonely Planet and Best Hostel in Africa 2014 by Hostelworld customers. Making a difference is more than just an initiative of The Backpack, it is the way we are, the way we work and the way we live. South Africa's original award-winning backpacker hostel and travel agency is simply the best place to make your travel arrangements, with all the facilities you can expect from a hip, urban hostel, such as stylishly decorated Afro-chic rooms offering superior comfort and quality, with shared or en-suite bathrooms, private electronic safes and in-house ATM. Stay in touch in our internet cafe or use WiFi throughout the hostel; swim in the pool with a stunning view of Table Mountain, or meet like-minded international travellers in our buzzing Cafe or Bar. We offer a variety of rooms, ranging from 8- and 4-bed dorms, to singles, twins, doubles and family rooms. We have recently built a loft apartment with amazing views of Table Mountain featuring its own kitchen. The hostel has communal kitchen and dining facilities; lots of sociable and chill-out spots to relax in. A night on the town in Long Street, gorgeous Clifton and Camps Bay beaches, Table Mountain, V&A Waterfront and the city centre is just a stone's throw away. Awards: Awarded Best Hostel in South Africa 2014, 2013, 2010, 2009 & 2008, Awarded Best Hostel in Africa 2014, Lonely Planet Top 10 Best Value Stays 2014. Independent winner for Best Practice Economic Impact - Imvelo Awards 2011, Independent winner for Best Single Resource Management Program in Waste Management - Imvelo Awards 2011, "One of the world's 10 coolest hostels" Guardian UK - 2010, Winner of 2011 AA Quality Assured Accommodation ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Backpack

Address: 74 New Church Street | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Tamboerskloof
Price Range: €24 - €104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your The Backpack reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Backpack Hotel Cape Town Central
The Backpack Cape Town, South Africa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Backpack staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Johannesburg, South Africa
Tel Aviv, Israel

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Backpack staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Share rooms at the back have a view of Table Mountain.”
 of 5 bubbles 515janettew, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The rooms at the front of the building get early sun, so its a little harder to sleep in, but otherwise, they were all good!”
 of 5 bubbles amycD7797QP, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Car parking is a schlep, but its a great place to stay ! Private bathroom rooms are the best.”
 of 5 bubbles Mukti_Ki, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“pay a little extra and get a private room”
 of 5 bubbles Shona68, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Best location next to table mountain and long street”
 of 5 bubbles 558rafaeli, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay