We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Backpack

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Backpack
The Backpack
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

636 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Backpack
See the most recent reviews
Showing 535: English reviews
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 20 July 2015

The Backpacker is even better in reality than on the photographs. It is well located close to Kloof and Long street where there are many excellent restaurants and bars. The décor and style is very vibrant and you can really feel comfortable and at home. We stayed in the Madiba room which was excellent with a view over the swimming...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BenKunz
JadeCPT, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for reviewing us. It's awesome that you had a good stay with us, enjoying your room, Cape Town and its surrounding and the spectacular views of Table Mountain from our swimming pool area! Come back again soon, Kind Regards, Jade Calmeyer

Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 July 2015

I spent 5 nights in total and the friendliness of all the staff is what makes the Back Pack different. With such a reception it helps all travellers relax and talk and i thoroughly enjoyed my staff and met so great people from all over the world. Well recommended i stayed in a small dorm and it was clean ,sociable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank forevermagpie
JadeCPT, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for the lovely review of our hostel! We are so chuffed that the staff made your stay excellent and that all the advice we could give helped! We hope that in the future you can come back and stay with us again! Kind Regards, Jade Calmeyer

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 2 July 2015

I booked a last-minute 5 day trip to Capetown and stayed in a 3-bed girls´ room the first night and private room with bathroom the rest of the time. I booked several tours through the staff - peninsula tour, winelands, and shark dive - and all were great! They were also a good way to get to know other guests...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LaurenL52
tembi1, Owner at The Backpack, responded to this review

thanks for your great review about our hostel. we are happy that we were able to accommodate you that you were warm and cosy in your bed and enjoyed our free scrumptious breakfasts. even though it is winter and mornings and evenings can be chilly i am sure you enjoyed our sunny days where the mercury got up to the...

Reviewed 22 June 2015 via mobile

I've stayed at many hostels and this one tops the list. Staff is very welcoming and helpful, rooms are clean, breakfast was great! Location was also convenient, there's a grocery store nearby and there's a communal fridge that you can leave stuff in! Highly recommend! Will definitely be back! :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kristina S
tembi1, Owner at The Backpack, responded to this review

Thanks so much for staying with us. We love that you loved staying here with us. Of course it goes without saying how beautiful our city is and its a place you will never tire of there is so much to do and even if you don't want to do anything its great to just take in our mountain. So...

Shanghai, China
Reviewed 17 June 2015

I loved this place so much that I decided to stay for 2 weeks, and I made some great friends along the way. I could go on and on about all the pluses of this place: the value, the comfort, the cleanliness, the terrific breakfasts, the worthy causes / community programs that they support. I would definitely come back to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jason S
tembi1, Owner at The Backpack, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us you have really made a difference. We look forward to your return. Kind regards The Backpack Team

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 June 2015

I booked this hotel under the philosophy of "best of the worst" as opposed to "worst of the best" - going for the best backpacker hostel instead of the cheapest proper hotel. Upon arrival, I honestly couldn't tell the difference between The Backpack and any of the 5* hotels I have stayed in across the globe (aside from the eclectic...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WildThailand
tembi1, Owner at The Backpack, responded to this review

WOW this really is a fab review thank you. I am so sorry that you were told the pool was out of service - it was probably due to the fact that we are feeling the cold but hey if you want to crack the ice you are welcome to a brisk swim anytime as long as its before 10...

denver
Reviewed 15 June 2015

I was staying in Cape Town for a week with my daughter and had heard about the Backpack. We booked the 2 bed studio apartment. Upon arriving we found that the room was much smaller than depicted in the photos, had very little storage, the laundry mentioned in the description was not in the unit, and the "wifi available" was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank COdreaming
tembi1, Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review

We are sorry our Studio did not meet with your expectations. We do not advertise free wifi in this studio. The apartment is getting free wifi from the end of this month. The laundry is like a laundromat on the premises, not inside the apartment, however very convenient as there are none in the area. Our cancellation terms and conditions...

Detroit
Reviewed 8 June 2015 via mobile

Had an excellent time here, and would be back again! Great location and great view of table mountain! Love the small bar and hangout area as well, and the staff was so sweet. Felt super safe and comfortable during my stay!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frankiecalli
tembi1, Owner at The Backpack, responded to this review

We are thrilled you loved the Backpack and we love the views too -Table Mountain something you never get tired of and you really feel so close from our deck. We hope you will be back too. Kind regards The Backpack Team

Reviewed 6 June 2015

One of the coolest places I've stayed in abroad. Everyone working in the front offered an abundance of excellent service including but not limited to: information regarding activities, other lodges to stay in outside Cape Town and along the Garden route, diverse opportunities that one may not know about, superb execution of planning and making reservations, and suggestions regarding logistics...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Austin D
tembi1, Owner at The Backpack, responded to this review

We really appreciate your review thank you so much. You should have seen the faces of everyone light up when they read it and it makes our week. Kind regards The Backpack Team

Reviewed 27 May 2015

Beautiful place just very close to the center. You do not feel like in town inside this small village, because it looks like a small village inside not as the standard house. It is a set of small buildings and paths between. Friendly staff and other people makes from this place a good point to stay. I can just recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank robopsb
tembi1, Owner at The Backpack, responded to this review

We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and loved the unique spaces of the Backpack. The Backpack Team

378 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (165)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
1:48
Videos (5)
Viewed
Other (77)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (182)
Viewed
Amenities (24)
Viewed
Pool (8)
Viewed
President's Suite (38)
Viewed
Private Room (27)
Viewed
Private Room with Shared Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
1.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#46 of 106 in Cape Town Central
691 reviews
2.3 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#70 of 106 in Cape Town Central
286 reviews
0.9 km away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
2.3 km away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,847 reviews
1.0 km away
Parliament Hotel
Parliament Hotel
#35 of 106 in Cape Town Central
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Selected as best value stay in the world 2014 by Lonely Planet and Best Hostel in Africa 2014 by Hostelworld customers. Making a difference is more than just an initiative of The Backpack, it is the way we are, the way we work and the way we live. South Africa's original award-winning backpacker hostel and travel agency is simply the best place to make your travel arrangements, with all the facilities you can expect from a hip, urban hostel, such as stylishly decorated Afro-chic rooms offering superior comfort and quality, with shared or en-suite bathrooms, private electronic safes and in-house ATM. Stay in touch in our internet cafe or use WiFi throughout the hostel; swim in the pool with a stunning view of Table Mountain, or meet like-minded international travellers in our buzzing Cafe or Bar. We offer a variety of rooms, ranging from 8- and 4-bed dorms, to singles, twins, doubles and family rooms. We have recently built a loft apartment with amazing views of Table Mountain featuring its own kitchen. The hostel has communal kitchen and dining facilities; lots of sociable and chill-out spots to relax in. A night on the town in Long Street, gorgeous Clifton and Camps Bay beaches, Table Mountain, V&A Waterfront and the city centre is just a stone's throw away. Awards: Awarded Best Hostel in South Africa 2014, 2013, 2010, 2009 & 2008, Awarded Best Hostel in Africa 2014, Lonely Planet Top 10 Best Value Stays 2014. Independent winner for Best Practice Economic Impact - Imvelo Awards 2011, Independent winner for Best Single Resource Management Program in Waste Management - Imvelo Awards 2011, "One of the world's 10 coolest hostels" Guardian UK - 2010, Winner of 2011 AA Quality Assured Accommodation ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Backpack

Address: 74 New Church Street | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Tamboerskloof
Price Range: €24 - €94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Backpack reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Backpack Hotel Cape Town Central
The Backpack Cape Town, South Africa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Backpack staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Johannesburg, South Africa
Tel Aviv, Israel

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Backpack staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Breakfast is amazing!”
 of 5 bubbles 422leandrar, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“book in advance”
 of 5 bubbles 114elisan, 26 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Centrally located”
 of 5 bubbles thomaslJ4042MY, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Share rooms at the back have a view of Table Mountain.”
 of 5 bubbles 515janettew, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The rooms at the front of the building get early sun, so its a little harder to sleep in, but otherwise, they were all good!”
 of 5 bubbles amycD7797QP, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay