We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

One&Only Cape Town

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
Panoramas (12)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,328 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,172: English reviews
Dublin
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Great hotel, right beside V&A. Rooms were very high standard and service was what you would expect. Only annoying thing was each morning the cleaning staff come round too early, make too much noise. It is like they are deliberately waking you up so you leave and they can clean the room. Nobu restaurant was great experience. Silvester who works...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank reviewer4321
Richard_Lyon_2, General Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review

Dear reviewer4321, We appreciate your review. It is marvelous to hear you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay. Your kind words will be passed along to Silvester and the rest of our dedicated team. It was a pleasure accommodating you, and we hope to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, Richard Lyon General Manager

Detroit, Michigan
Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently spent five days at the One & Only in Cape Town and left somewhat disappointed. It is a hard hotel to review because it is full of contradictions. The hard product is excellent but the soft product can be challenging. It is hotel that should be considered, but be forewarned it is not without faults. The Pros: The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tws1086
Richard_Lyon_2, General Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review

Dear tws1086, Thank you for taking the time to share an honest account of your visit. We are delighted your expectations were exceeded in terms of our comfortable accommodations and wonderful location. However, it troubles us to hear about the uncharacteristic challenges you faced during your stay. While we regret these issues, we are pleased to know they were handled...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Fantastic location for easy access to the Waterfront area and the ‘Hop on hop off’ tour bus which is a must use tourist facility. The setting of the hotel is spectacular with views of Table Mountain in the background from the bar area and reception. Staff were all very helpful and friendly, breakfast buffet just great. Entry level room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GastrodontUK
Richard_Lyon_2, General Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review

Dear GastrodontUK, Thank you for your lovely five-star review. We are thrilled you were able take advantage of both our hotel and the lovely surrounding area. It is wonderful to hear you found our location to be so pleasant. Should you find yourself back in Cape Town, we would love to welcome you for another visit. Kind Regards, Richard Lyon...

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is our second time here and last time would have scored a 5. As the title says, the property is faultless. Our room was immaculate and beautifully serviced. Unfortunately little issues have crept in. Firstly the main bar which has stunning views, is suffering from slow and inconsistent service. I don't blame the staff, they were simply not managed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John S
Richard_Lyon_2, General Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review

Dear John S, We appreciate your review and your choice to return for a second visit. While we are pleased you enjoyed the majority of your stay, we are concerned to hear your experience was not exceptional in all areas. We can assure you your comments are taken seriously, and they will be brought to the appropriate departments. It is...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Thank you Vincent for making our experience in the bar so special. Your patience, kindness and warmth set the tone for our whole experience. We had a wonderful evening. Thank you for everything. You are an asset to the One and Only. We loved it there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 414Hotel
Richard_Lyon_2, General Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review

Dear 414Hotel Thank you for your review. We are so delighted that you had a great time at Vista Bar. We will make sure that Vincent gets word of your feedback. Kind regards, Richard Lyon, General Manager

Oakville, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

We blew the budget and stayed here on a recommendation and were not disappointed. It is pricey but the rooms are spacious, gorgeous and immaculately maintained. The staff are attentive and friendly. We thoroughly enjoyed the hotel and its facilities. Our only complaint was the length of time at check in and the attempts to upsell us to a suite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
Richard_Lyon_2, General Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review

Dear Richard Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted that you we were able to live up to your expectations and that you had such a great stay with us. We pride ourselves on creating memorable moments for each and every guest, so it’s always great to get feedback like this. We hope to welcome you back soon...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The amount of care and dedication to service is out of this world. Everyone greets you, makes sure you're ok and always insist on helping with every little problem you have. Seriously seriously good. Clean and consistent, recommend strongly!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pierre M
Richard_Lyon_2, General Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review

Dear Pierre Thank you for this wonderful review! We are so pleased that you found the resort and the service to be so good. We love when our guests leave on such a high and hope you will be back for more soon! Kind regards, Richard Lyon, General Manager.

Cork
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here in November for 4 nights and I have to say it is the best hotel I have ever stayed in. The location, rooms, facilities and in particular the service were all fantastic. It is located right in beside the V&A shops and restaurants but still has beautiful views of Table Mountain. At check in the rooms we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Perrott
Richard_Lyon_2, General Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review

Dear Perrot. Thank you so much for your review. We are so thrilled that you had such a wonderful stay with us. We appreciate your great feedback. Please do visit again should you find yourself back in Cape Town. Kind regards, Richard Lyon, General Manager.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a fantastic experience of outstanding service at the one and only Vista Bar and Lounge. Thank you to Ncomisa whom attended us. Her positiveness, service, attention to details and dedication to the customer's requirements were remarkable. Kind regards, Peggy Lehmann

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PR ART C
Richard_Lyon_2, General Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review

Dear PR ART C. Thank you for your lovely review of Vista and for the praise for Ncomisa. We will make sure that she received the feedback and is recognized in front of her peers. We hope to welcome you back soon again! Kind regards, Richard Lyon, General Manager

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Started our holiday to South Africa with 4 nights in this wonderful hotel - it was a fantastic start to our holiday and I would highly recommend it. I had fresh gluten free bread every morning with breakfast which is a treat for me especially on holidays - staff wonderful, rooms spotless. Great place to stay as 2 minutes from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marie M
Richard_Lyon_2, General Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review

Good day, Marie M Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We value your feedback and we are thrilled to read that your stay with us was so pleasant. We hope to welcome you back soon again. Kind regards, Richard Lyon, General Manager

950 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (727)
Viewed
Room/Suite (155)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (39)
Viewed
View from Room (80)
Viewed
Bathroom (61)
Viewed
Dining (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (88)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (253)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (170)
Viewed
Amenities (8)
Viewed
Marina Grand Suite (64)
Viewed
Marina Mountain Room (37)
Viewed
Pool (16)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (53)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 km away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,799 reviews
0.8 km away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#18 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,831 reviews
1.1 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,346 reviews
0.4 km away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#28 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,410 reviews
1.8 km away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#17 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
One&Only Cape Town, one of the finest resorts in South Africa. This urban chic resort brings an unprecedented level of luxury to Cape Town, one of the world's most fascinating cities.With captivating views of Table Mountain from its enviable location in the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, the resort is a destination unto itself. Discerning travellers are invited to discover the celebrated cuisines of Nobuyuki “Nobu” Matsuhisa and Reuben Riffel, socialise in the high-energy vibe of Vista Bar & Lounge and sample rare and undiscovered vintages at the stunning Wine Loft. The sublime calm of the city's most expansive and sophisticated spa offers an indulgent escape, while NEO Boutique debuts an enviable collection of designer fashions, some available for the first time in South Africa.As the first luxury hotel to open in Cape Town in nearly a decade, the resort is designed to celebrate the city's wine, art, design and spirit, balancing contemporary glamour with an authentic South African style. ... more   less 

Additional Information about One&Only Cape Town

Address: Dock Road, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront | PO Box 51289, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Price Range: €519 - €1,856 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — One&Only Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your One&Only Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One And Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
One&Only Cape Town South Africa
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#16 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from One&Only Cape Town staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from One&Only Cape Town staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the room as excellent”
 of 5 bubbles AndreRSA, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Go for a view of Table Mountain, you won't regret it!”
 of 5 bubbles 936kerryt, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“table Mountain”
 of 5 bubbles kauaijim5, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I think they all face Table Mountain and the marina so all are good!”
 of 5 bubbles CatherineChicago_IL, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I cannot comment on the rooms as I only visited for High Tea.”
 of 5 bubbles BethJacobsFerreira, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay