We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Place on the Bay

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Place on the Bay
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

256 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Place on the Bay
See the most recent reviews
Showing 232: English reviews
Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 31 December 2014

This place is the place to be, great location and the hotel itself is fantastic, we got an upgrade for free, we had not just a room but a house with 2 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, kitchen, dinning room, living room and our own private pool and terrace facing the ocean. this hotel is by far the best i have...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nannydc
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this review

Dear NannyDC Thank you so much for your feedback!! Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and looking forward to welcoming you back!! Have a great 2015!! Kind regards Marlie

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 21 December 2014

Great super place for the whole family. Situated in the highly popular stretch of beach of Camps Bay. - A walking distance from the best restaurants in town. The units are pristine and clean, fully equipped and offer nothing but bliss, comfort and relaxation. Great breath taking views of the sea and the twelve apostles of Table Mountain in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LaurenceA
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this review

Dear LaurenceA A big thank you for your feedback!! I am happy to hear that the staff looked well after everybody!! Looking forward to welcoming you and your family back!! Have a great 2015!! Kind regards Marlie

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 20 December 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 4 days and had a great experience. The hotel itself is in the perfect location, you just walk outside the hotel, cross the road and you are on the beach, and what a gorgeous beach it is. The room was very clean and well equipped with a nice bathroom, comfy bed, TV and a cute little balcony...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sarah1501
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Sarah1501 Thank you very much for your feedback - much appreciated!! Happy to hear that you enjoyed the attractions and hope to see you again soon. Have a good 2015!!!! Kind regards Marlie

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 December 2014

Staff friendly and accommodating. Location excellent. Views stunning. Self-catering room good sized and well maintained. Loads of very reasonable excellent quality restaurants within 5 minutes walk. Beach within 1 minute walk!! A well deserved great review.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ric J
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Ric J A big thank you for the review!!! Much appreciated!!! Have a great 2015 and hope we see you again soon!!! Kind regards Marlie

San Diego, California
Reviewed 23 November 2014

The hotel is in the center of Camp's Bay and directly across from the beach. We had a 2 bedroom apartment with a view of the ocean. Overall the stay was fine however check in and out took longer than it should have and the rooms are dated but clean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank snowgalCo
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this review

Dear SnowgalCo Thank you for the feedback - we will work on the problem. Have a great 2015!!!! Kind regards Marlie

Reviewed 22 November 2014

A nice hotel with good sized rooms, the swimming pool is a bit small. Location in Camps Bay is great and it's a 15 second walk to the beach. Wifi was not working for 4 days whilst we were there! Staff very helpful

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen L
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Stephen L Wi-Fi sorted and for free!! So sorry about it but it was in the time we switched over. Hope to see you again in 2015. Have a great year!!!! Kind regards Marlie

wales
Reviewed 18 November 2014

Stayed here for one night only. Our apartment overlooked camps bay and the view was amazing. A short stroll over the road to the beach. The only downside is that there are lots steps around the complex so not very accessible. Staff are very helpful and friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank binnysays
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Binnysays Hope you can stay longer next time to experience more!! Good wishes for 2015!!!! Kind regards Marlie

Dunboyne, Ireland
Reviewed 17 November 2014

Stayed in place on the bay the first night of our holiday in November 2014. To say we were disappointed is an understatement. We arrived and check in was fine, although we got the room with the jacuzzi in it and we weren't told anywhere before booking that the jacuzzi takes 3-4 hours to heat up but that wasn't really...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Eleanorbk
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Eleanorbk Thank you for your feedback. I am really sorry so many things happened to you!! I followed up and took care of it. Hope you have a great 2015!!! Kind regards Marlie

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 November 2014 via mobile

We stayed for three nights in October. We were travelling with friends and their room was upgraded - we could have all stayed in their apartment as it was huge and had 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, living room/kitchen and terrace. It would be perfect for families as the pool could be accessed from the terrace. Our room was at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phunter62
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Phunter62 Thank you so much for your feedback - much appreciated!! So good to hear that you enjoyed your stay and it is always nice to hear that the staff was helpful. Hope to see you again!!! Kind regards Marlie

bristol
Reviewed 5 November 2014

perfect location right opposite the beach with table mountain and the 12 apostles behind, we stayed in room 106 with two bedrooms and two bathrooms, well equipped ,pool freezing so brace yourself ...beware of the wind as you can get sunburnt very quickly, small niggles about the place in the bay ,shower head kept flying off and it took 3...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BristolJacko
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this review

Dear BristolJacko Thank you for your feedback - much appreciated. I am so sorry to hear about the shower problem -luckily it`s been fixed. We almost there with our new wi fi system. Hope to you see one day again at Place on the Bay. Kind Regards Marlie

197 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (143)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
View from Room (33)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (28)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.6 km away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
262 reviews
0.2 km away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
616 reviews
2.4 km away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#6 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
0.3 km away
The Marly Hotel
The Marly Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
192 reviews
0.2 km away
Primi Seacastle Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Place on the Bay, situated along the beach-front road enjoys an undisturbed picturesque view of the white sandy beaches, the palm fringed bay and the majestic Twelve Apostle Mountains. The hotel is perfectly positioned in Cape Town`s trendiest suburb, Camps Bay, 15 minutes' drive from the Cape Town CBD.The Place on the Bay hotel offers 21 serviced hotel apartments. All are elegantly furnished en suite bedrooms with a kitchen, king/queen-size beds, Samsung LCD TV with satellite television, air-conditioning unit, coffee/tea-making facilities and a bar fridge. The suites are serviced daily and guests have access to the outdoor pool and braai(BBQ) facilities. The luxurious and exclusive five-star penthouse with its private heated swimming pool and sundeck, caters for all your personal needs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Place on the Bay

Address: Victoria Rd, Camps Bay 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Price Range: €129 - €365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Place on the Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Place on the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Place On The Bay Hotel Camps Bay
The Place On Bay
Place On The Bay Camps
The Place On The Bay Camps Bay, Cape Town
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Place on the Bay staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Brigantine, New Jersey

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The Place on the Bay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best views on the front but the traffic may be a little noisy for some although we all slept perfectly well.”
 of 5 bubbles alisonhQ8833SE, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for the rooms with the beach view.”
  • View of the beach from the room. you just need to cross the road to access the Camps Bay Beach.
  • View from the bed room. A small balcony with a table and chairs adds to the charm.
 of 5 bubbles , 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“penthouse the best”
 of 5 bubbles kate234, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If possible request a room at the front of the hotel to maximize the view.”
 of 5 bubbles V4934EDchristinak, 5 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Get Oceanview”
 of 5 bubbles chrisgort, 26 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5