We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Bay Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
Panoramas (14)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,034 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Bay Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 951: English reviews
Crawley Down, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Bay Hotel has always made my family and I very welcome. Location is ideal and secure. The staff are always on hand especially at the poolside. Breakfast was always welcoming until they introduced onions in the sausages and potatoes - not a welcoming smell 1st thing in the morning. To pay for WiFi is a bit much for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank angelaprice2016
SesiESibanyoni, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Good Evening Mrs. Angela Price, It's always a pleasure having you at The Bay Hotel. We have noted the concern about Breakfast. Thank you. We can't wait to welcome you back, at The Bay Hotel. See you soon! Kind Regards, The Bay Hotel Family

Abergele, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had stayed before in Cape Town Waterfront and Sabona Wildlife Reserve where staff had been wonderful. Arrived at the Bay Hotel and the reception staff were surly, miserable and lacking in any charisma or guest acknowledgement. Went to the bar for a snack where we were completely ignored by the six staff. I went the bar, ordered a snack and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank helenamike
SesiESibanyoni, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Good Evening, All feedback received from every guest, simply helps us to improve. We thank you for above mentioned concerns. Kind Regards, The Bay Hotel Team

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Where to start with this one? Let’s go with the good points... The hotel location is fantastic, right on the front of Camps bay just a main road in front of you then it’s a lovely beach. Camps bay to the V&A is only around 80-120Ran via Uber so not too bad at all (make sure you get Uber otherwise...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Samantha L
SesiESibanyoni, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Samantha L, Thank you so much for the good feedback. We have taken every point and together with our Team will be working on making things better. Hope to see you again. Kind Regards, The Bay Hotel Team

NW
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Disappointed this time; Closed, guarded gates and a photo needed to access the hotel (we only went for lunch), seriously? How many super-stars, celebrities and/or politicians are you hiding in there? Location is the major plus point here, in all other areas the hotel has declined I'm afraid to say. Oh, yes, and then they 'charge' for wifi.... not with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ACK66Pepe
SesiESibanyoni, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We have increased security, only to protect guests like yourself. The procedure at the gate has been placed there; so that at all times, our Security team knows who is at the property. I am so sorry, you did not enjoy your time at the Hotel.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The Bay has excellent kerb appeal, centrally located in Camps Bay and great views of the beach. Unfortunately the overall experience was just average, which was a shame as it is expensive and has the potential to be fantastic. Our room was OK - a cabana room, conveniently located and with immediate pool access. It needs a general update/refresh but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank abinger9
SesiESibanyoni, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, Thank you for the feedback, From here, we can only do better. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay and hope we will be able to change that, in the near future. Kind Regards, The Bay Hotel Team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Started our holiday in South Africa at Camps Bay , with 5 nights at the Bay Hotel. We had a premier sea view room, which was good and the views even better. Camps Bay is a busy and vibrant location, lots of nice bars and restaurants, the hotel is perfectly located on the front strip , with the stunning mountains...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MiddleAgedFromMids
SesiESibanyoni, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, We thank you for the above concerns, All points have been taken and we will definitely improve. For the positive feedback, thank you. Much Appreciated. Kind Regards, The Bay Hotel Team

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

At first sight the hotel looks lovely and like other reviews say, it's a great location. But, again, as other reviews say, it is WAY overpriced for what it is. The facade is nice but the inside is way, way, way to tired for the price. Surely they've made enough money now so that they can put the money back...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Melissa D
SesiESibanyoni, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Good Evening Melissa D, So sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We can only do better by knowing, thank you. Kind Regards, The Bay Hotel Team

Durban
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at this hotel with guests from overseas on business. We were instantly upgraded to the Cabanas at no charge. All our rooms were sea facing and you have a great sea view lying on your bed with curtains opened. The rooms were spacious and tastefully decorated. Safe and Secured parking facilities. The breakfast room overlooks the sea and if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sewpersad S
SesiESibanyoni, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Good Evening, Thank you for the feedback. Do come back soon! Kind Regards, The Bay Hotel Team

Alnmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stopped here for our first ever four nights in South Africa. Arrived just after 9am, the reception staff could not have been more helpful. Offered us facilities to freshen up and have breakfast. Left our stuff, safely locked away, and off we we went for the day. Advised to stay here rather than at the V & A, glad we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TrevitTreels
SesiESibanyoni, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Good Evening, Thank you for the lovely feedback. We have missed some little things but we are glad that did not turn around your experience. Ps: On your next visit, please leave your Picture, we shall put it next to Prince Harry! Kind Regards, The Bay Hotel Team

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a fabulous time at The Bay Hotel due mainly to two facts: our room opened directly onto the lovely pool deck and the hotel enjoys an unrivalled position in the centre of this atmospheric and fashionable resort. However, there can be no question that the hotel is exploiting its unchallenged position by failing entirely to meet the expectations...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Amazonian
SesiESibanyoni, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Good Evening, Firstly, thank you for the above feedback. Every point; has been looked at and hopefully you will give us a second chance to prove it. Kind Regards, The Bay Hotel Team

716 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (445)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (87)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (82)
Viewed
View from Room (47)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (65)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (129)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (223)
Viewed
Amenities (32)
Viewed
Cabana Pool (20)
Viewed
Main Pool (14)
Viewed
Premier Room with Mountain View (52)
Viewed
Dining (49)
Viewed
Sandy B Pool (10)
Viewed
The Hotel (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
2.9 km away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
252 reviews
6.1 km away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
2.3 km away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
The Place on the Bay
The Place on the Bay
#10 of 12 in Camps Bay
252 reviews
2.7 km away
The Marly Hotel
The Marly Hotel
#6 of 12 in Camps Bay
189 reviews
1.9 km away
Camps Bay Retreat
Camps Bay Retreat
#9 of 12 in Camps Bay
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A distinctive blend of sophisticated elegance and casual comfort. The Bay Hotel is superbly designed with 78 rooms and suites offering luxury in an unsurpassed setting. No less than four hotel pools with expansive sun decks offer superlative views of the Atlantic Ocean and majestic Lion's Head. Renowned as a haven for romantics, leisure is our catchword, from rejuvenating spa treatments to the convenience of our unique cocktail bar. And for the ultimate in relaxation, we recommend our cigar lounge and bar with breathtaking views. Celebrate special events at the intimate Celebration Table or Private Deck overlooking a sapphire sea. Fully-equipped meeting and events venues are available to suit every occasion, including the historic Rotunda for glittering parties and flawless weddings. Breathe deep... Exhale slowly and rediscover fun. Float into blissful relaxation while enjoying our exceptional brand of hospitality. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Bay Hotel

Address: 69 Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Price Range: €156 - €643 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Bay Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Hotel Camps
The Bay Hotel Camps Bay, Cape Town
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Camps Bay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
#5 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
#5 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Bay Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from The Bay Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“we were given ground floor luxury room overlooking the book withpatio”
 of 5 bubbles 222peterg, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All good and book early to avoid missing out”
 of 5 bubbles geoffgoad, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We had a room with a mountain view. If I went again, I would choose a sea-facing view.”
 of 5 bubbles Beatrix63, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Mountain rooms are cheaper than sea facing - you're facing the sea at the pool side.”
 of 5 bubbles angelaprice2016, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Stay away from the "luxury rooms"”
 of 5 bubbles melissad206, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5