We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Crystal

180 reviews
Save
Traveller (98)
Room & Suite (100)
Pool & Beach (21)
Overview
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good31%
  • Average10%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“self catering”(23 reviews)
“bay hotel”(19 reviews)
Wifi
Free Parking
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Kitchenette
Dry Cleaning
4.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (180)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for The Crystal
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveller rating
86
52
17
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
86
52
17
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself cateringbay hotelthese apartmentsbed apartmentbasement car parktable mountainlovely infinity pooloffer free wifireception areacape townwashing machine and tumble dryernecessary amenitiesnice apartmentground floorfull kitchenstayed here for one nightsea front
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
51 - 55 of 167 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2016

Modern purpose-built high spec apartments. However! Our apartment was I think owned by Camps Bay Hotel and booked through a UK agent. We were there over Christmas. There was no service for three days and ‘we should have realised’. Pardon? Also there is no reception,...More

1  Thank BBRT
Reviewed 14 December 2015

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment for a week as part of a large group. On arrival our rooms weren't ready, and there was a complete lack of communication from the staff. We were all tired and sweaty from our flight and so this...More

1  Thank shaantravels
Reviewed 12 December 2015 via mobile

Made booking on line, drive to apartments. Was easier to penetrate a morgue. No reception, no answer to manager 24 hour no. Called booking.com Was assured some one will call me back. At the time of writing, its been 1 hour. Stay away!!!! I was...More

3  Thank Jacques L
Response from TheCrystalCampsBay, General Manager at The CrystalResponded 24 December 2015

Dear Mr. Louw Due to unfortunate circumstances and miscommunication your reservation was not handled efficiently. This is definitely not the level of service that we as a team strive to provide and we apologize for the inconvenience. Trust we can make this up to you...More

Reviewed 9 December 2015

Plus points: 1. The apartments are beautiful, modern, clean, spacious 2. The views are amazing and the location is perfect Minus points: 1. Wifi doesn't work at all and you have to pay for it which is seriously terrible 2. The pool smells really, really,...More

Thank Amsterdam12188590
Response from TheCrystalCampsBay, General Manager at The CrystalResponded 24 December 2015

Dear Amsterdam 12188590 Thank you for your valuable feedback. We will be upgrading the Wifi system in the New Year. Any faulty vouchers will be investigated and reimbursed accordingly. Currently we have a complimentary Wifi zone at our service center as well as a guest...More

Reviewed 24 November 2015 via mobile

Myself and my partner stayed here for a week whilst staying in camps bay. The Apartment itself was amazing, very clean, well appointed, spacious, amazing views. Only downsides were the constant building work done on communal stairwells (which I appreciate needs doing) and poor internet...More

Thank Mark W
Response from TheCrystalCampsBay, General Manager at The CrystalResponded 24 December 2015

Dear Millets 80 Thank you for your review. Unfortunately unplanned repairs had to take place in the common areas, we apologize for the inconvenience caused. We will be upgrading the Wifi system in the New Year. We would however like to invite you back in...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
191011121334
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Pool
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Self-Serve Laundry
Babysitting
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Things to do
Pool
Details
Price range
US$166 - US$404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$166 - US$404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (98)
Room & Suite (100)
Pool & Beach (21)
Dining (10)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
best325
16 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Alberto D | Reviewed this property |
It is ok to walk to Cmaps Bay, quite a walk back uphill - depends on your make-up and requirements
0
Votes
Room Tips
"lots of wind noise but not sure which rooms are better"
Read review
"excellent views good location"
Read review
"I would recommend rooms 201 202 301 302"
Read review
"This is a 2 bedroom luxury appartment so cost is slightly higher than mid range."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing