We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Bakubung Bush Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Panoramas (12)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

682 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Bakubung Bush Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 598: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I visited Bakubung as a member of the Trek South Africa Team for Drive South Africa and we had the most amazing time here. From the very second we drove our car through the park gates we were greeted by happy friendly and helpful people, everyone was incredibly accommodating and definitely contributed to making our stay even better. George, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DevonKrantz
Echallens, Switzerland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our 4 days stay at Bakubung Bush Lodge has been superb and we keep excellent memories. The hotel offer and services correspond in all respects to the description of the site and the brochure. The staff is attentive, the place is magic, the buffets are varied and the quality of the products is very good ... For the park, one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank X233
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Superb service by the staff. Very cooperative in making arrangements for vegetarian food for us. You can see the wild elephants and wildebeests right outside your balcony. The best place to be in Pilanesburg.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Riddhi M
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our experience in the Pilanesberg National Park was magnificent. We've been visiting our parks and nature reserves for 16 years, regularly, and we have never seen as much of big game as we saw during the game drives here. As most of the other guests were foreign and seeking the "Big 5," our abundant bird life was basically just given...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dotar5ojat
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 October 2016

Only 2 hours drive from Joburg, and a 5 minute drive into my favourite game park, rooms are lovely, and the pool is a great place to catch some sun. Excellent meals and good service. You can lie in the pool and watch the animals come to the watering hole nearby, including Zebra, Warthogs and an elephant!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Totigirl
GMokotedi, Rooms Division Manager at Bakubung Bush Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Totigirl Thank you for the wonderful feedback, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the park and various services at the Lodge, It always makes us proud to see that the service from the team was good. Thank you for staying with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Bakubung Lodge in the near...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 31 October 2016

A long story short. After experiencing a disappointing game drive and a massive mix up in booking for our four year wedding anniversary boma dinner braai. The general manager, Joel Papenfus went above and beyond to rectify any bad experience we had that day. A stunning private game drive, gift hamper and complimentary dinner was presented to us to show...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CarlaBlanckenberg
GMokotedi, Rooms Division Manager at Bakubung Bush Lodge, responded to this review

Dear CarlaBlanckenberg Thank you very much for the feedback, we are delighted that the game drive mix up was satisfactorily resolved by our General Manager, we take pride in excellent customer service and guest satisfaction, and we are delighted that our boss led by example, we are proud of him. Thank you for staying with us and we are certainly...

Ashkelon, Israel
Reviewed 29 October 2016

What a sad difference between this visit and our previous one in 2011 - in a single serious respect: Pilanesberg is drying out! As a result of three consecutive drought years, the Bushveld has deteriorated drastically, and many tree and shrub varieties have died off completely, denying visitors that special ambience so beloved of this compact, accessible mini-game reserve located...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank eilonglen
GMokotedi, Rooms Division Manager at Bakubung Bush Lodge, responded to this review

Dear eilonglen Thank you very much for your comprehensive feedback, It is much appreciated. It is certainly sad to see the park drying out as a result of drought, we are also very grateful that despite the situation the animal population is still very healthy and we can thankfully enjoy wildlife in abundance. We are delighted to hear that Bakubung...

North Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewed 26 October 2016

Excellent accommodation. We went with our son and his family. Good food. Breakfast and dinner and one game drive a day included in the price. We also did a self drive and saw lots of animals. Grand-children were amazed to see a monkey by the pool stealing someone's cocktail. Saw a big group of elephants right on the road, Wildebeest...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Noeljan52
GMokotedi, Rooms Division Manager at Bakubung Bush Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Noeljan52 Thank you very much for the wonderful feedback. We are delighted that you loved the accommodation and enjoyed the food, we will certainly share the feedback with the Chef and the Food & Beverage team. We are truly grateful to be surrounded by nature and are delighted that the wildlife did not disappoint. Thank you for staying with...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 25 October 2016

A wonderful welcome to our family who were there for my son's wedding, many of whom had never been to Africa. What an amazing stay. The staff were beautiful, the food and service excellent and the location of the rooms overlooking the waterhole incredible. Relaxing and watching all the animals including a herd of elephants frolicking in the waterhole was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank robynsydney2016
GMokotedi, Rooms Division Manager at Bakubung Bush Lodge, responded to this review

Dear robynsydney2016 Thank you for the wonderful feedback. We shall certainly pass on your praises to our staff and we are delighted that your stay was perfect from start to finish. It was an absolute pleasure hosting your son's wedding, I am delighted to see that you enjoyed every moment and every aspect as well as we did hosting and...

Bloemfontein, South Africa
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed in the self catering chalets and at first were slightly disappointed to not be right on the perimeter of the waterhole where we saw some game the afternoon we arrived. In fact we were in a chalet the furthest from the water. This proved to be a blessing in disguise. After a very friendly reception we were pointed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gawie M
GMokotedi, Rooms Division Manager at Bakubung Bush Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Gawie M Thank you very much for your kind comments, we are delighted to hear that you had a lovely and unforgettable experience at Bakubung Bush Lodge. We are certainly looking forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Best Regards George Mokotedi

824 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (528)
Viewed
Dining (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (131)
Viewed
View from Room (24)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (19)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (15)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (253)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (272)
Viewed
Amenities (23)
Viewed
Executive Room (62)
Viewed
Pool (7)
Viewed
Dining (50)
Viewed
Standard Central Room (52)
Viewed
Standard West Room (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pilanesberg National Park
9.2 km away
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
#2 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
554 reviews
4.5 km away
The Palace of the Lost City
3.5 km away
Cascades, Sun City
Cascades, Sun City
#4 of 6 in Sun City
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Cabanas, Sun City
Cabanas, Sun City
#5 of 6 in Sun City
603 reviews
9.8 km away
The Kingdom Resort
The Kingdom Resort
#2 of 6 in Sun City
217 reviews
5.7 km away
Tshukudu Bush Lodge
Tshukudu Bush Lodge
#6 of 14 in Pilanesberg National Park
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A mere two-hour drive from the hustle and bustle of Johannesburg and ten minutes from Sun City, lies a place of breathtaking beauty and serenity. A place called Bakubung Bush Lodge. Concealed in the rich expanses of the malaria-free Pilanesberg National Park, Bakubung, or "People of the Hippo", offers guests everything they need to get in touch with the bush. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bakubung Bush Lodge

Address: Bakubung Gate, Pilanesberg National Park 0316, South Africa
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Pilanesberg National Park
Price Range: €277 - €396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bakubung Bush Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Bakubung Bush Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bakubung Bush Hotel Pilanesberg National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bakubung Bush Lodge staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from Bakubung Bush Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request room in block to the right, not the left. Wonderful value.”
 of 5 bubbles LorraineM_12, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The rooms facing the water hole really make you feel like your on your own safari all the time.”
 of 5 bubbles VickySkipp, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Incredible animal sightings at the water hole, South African feel, Amazing breakfast buffet, free wifi, accommodating staff, The boma dinner”
  • Bedroom (Photo by Drive South Africa, #TrekSouthAfrica)
  • Luxury Bathroom (Photo by Drive South Africa, #TrekSouthAfrica)
 of 5 bubbles DevonKrantz, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“One without a Wi-Fi signal”
 of 5 bubbles Dotar5ojat, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a ground floor room facing the watering hole so you can sit on you own veranda with a Gin and Tonic watching the animals!!”
 of 5 bubbles Totigirl, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay