We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Royal Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Royal Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

325 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Royal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 158: English reviews
Edenvale, South Africa
Reviewed 14 March 2016

We brought our young grandkids, Andi 13 and Bex 10 with us, to experience the "Time Machine Journey" into the 'PAST'. The girls felt that they were back in the 1800's! The dinner and breakfast were lovely. The accommodation was enchanting, the staff were so friendly and helpful. Renette and I have been there many times and we love Pilgrims...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank M928VPmiked
Neels J, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear M928vpmiked, From the Management and Staff we thank you for visiting the Royal Hotel and wish you and your family back soon. Regads, Neels,Management and Staff.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 March 2016

Fantastic place to spend the night, rooms are very romantic and presented clean and well furnished, the location in Pilgrims Rest is great for seeing the historic town, the attached restaurant is of good quality with Buffet and dinner and Breakfast being the order of the day. Be warned that due the historic nature of the hotel there is no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rhollebon
Neels J, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rhollebon, From the Royal Hotel Management and staff we would like to thank you for visiting Pilgrims Rest and we wish to see you soon. Regargs, Neels, Management and Staff

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 2 February 2016

The hotel is a meseum and very well looked after. The room was very quant and we enjoyed our stay. The dinner was very enjoyable but breakfast was a bit cold. Only really disappointing aspect was that tourists are allowed to pen their names on the walls in the bar. A bit tacky and I see it as encouraging vandalism....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank LynWallace
Neels J, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LyWallance, Thanks for visiting our Historical Hotel we have stopped the writing on the walls and we in the process to repaint the Church Bar in side Thanks for letting us know about your concerned and we pay attention to its, Hope next time you will see a difference Regards, Neels

Hillsborough, New Jersey
Reviewed 15 January 2016

This was my second time to stay at the Royal Hotel in the past couple of years. It's a great place to stopover for the night from Johannesburg to Kruger National Park. I would describe the property as a bit "rustic" in the good sense of the word. It has the feel of steeping back in time. There is a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Keith B
Neels J, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Keith, From the Royal Hotel Pilgrims Rest we just want to thank you for the time spend with us and we hope we will see your soon. Regards, Neels

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 13 January 2016

We stayed in one of the annexes and enjoy rooms with a very olde world feel. Nice comfy bed and lovely claw footed bath tub, but overall the decor needs attention and let's the place down. Pilgrims Rest was at the end of a long drive for us on a very hot day unfortunately there is no aircon in the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sharonSA11
Neels J, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SharonSA11, We thank you for let us know how you feel about Pilgrims Rest and thanks for staying with us. We apologist about the air conditioners but that was just one of the hot days we experience. We hope we see your soon. Regards, Neels

Randburg
Reviewed 11 January 2016

Stayed at the Halfway House. We were looking for quaint oldy worldy but does the soap dish have to be rusty, half falling off the wall? Musty smell, no plug for ladies hairdryer at the dressing table. Beds were so creaking/noisy!! The only option for dinner was the Royal so we had the set carvery R150 per person, the roast...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Z2743RHcarolineh
Benoni
Reviewed 11 January 2016

We have no words to describe our stay at the hotel. We were 9 families that made at least 36 people and were all accommodated comfortably at the hotel. The fact that Royal Hotel and Pilgrims Rest Town has preserved its originality of over years and years was mind blowing. Thank you to the staff who ensured our well being...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 822cliffordl
Neels J, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 822cliffordl, The Royal Hotel just want to thank you and your families who were staying with us. We all wish that we will see your soon. From all the Staff Regards, Neels

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 7 January 2016

Hotel was nicely maintained and well staffed in spite of the seclusion. I didn't expect the amenities it offered and was pleasantly surprised. Thank you to the staff for a fabulous job at making our stay comfortable.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Neels J, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thanks for staying with us for us its a grate pleasure to have your with us. Hope we see your soon Regards, Neels and Team

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 7 January 2016

Whilst the main hotel is a little shabby, the cottage 'annex' thT we occupied was an exquisite recreation of times gone by. A pretty cottage totally furnished as it would have been a hundred years ago. The beds were a bit squeaky, but linens and cleanliness throughout were perfect. Food at the hotel is a little disappointing.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sallyw582
Neels J, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sally582, From the Royal Hotel Staff and Management we just want to thank you for staying with us due to the historical monument we have to keep the beds as it was we have new mattresses on as well as new linen. We apologize for the food and we take note of your comment. Hope your see you soon....

Benoni, South Africa
Reviewed 6 January 2016

accomodation was very good and reasonable, even though it was cold in the early hours of the morning and no extra blankets in closet. the food was terrible..but all in all cozy place and wonderful experience...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 164edelk
Neels J, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear164edelk, We apologist for the inconvenience about the blanks we have extra blanks during winter times but just ask at the reception the next time for extra blanks. We apologist once again for the food i will make sure that our Chef get this message. I hope we see your soon and thanks for place it on record and we...

208 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (208)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Other (88)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pilgrim's Rest
9.6 km away
Graskop Hotel
Graskop Hotel
#1 of 3 in Graskop
541 reviews
21.4 km away
Floreat Riverside Lodge
0.0 km away
Nkambeni Safari Camp
Nkambeni Safari Camp
#95 of 171 in Kruger National Park
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 km away
Zur alten Mine
Zur alten Mine
#2 of 15 in Graskop
496 reviews
9.8 km away
Westlodge Bed & Breakfast
24.3 km away
Tsanana Log Cabins & Mulberry Lane Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: Main Road, Pilgrim's Rest 1290, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Pilgrim's Rest
Price Range: €75 - €83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Royal Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Pilgrims Rest
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Royal Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Royal Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were in the *Bank House in a 'honeymoon' room, which turned out to be a HUGE suite.”
 of 5 bubbles kjdbjd1983, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Stay away. This hotel is poorly managed.”
 of 5 bubbles 729marcd, 5 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Loved the bank house the most”
 of 5 bubbles Sami365, 23 Mar 2016 | Read review
“There is no Fuel filling station or Cash Machine.”
 of 5 bubbles RENSHAWWELSH, 30 Nov 2015 | Read review
“We had the room up by the court house - It was quiet, comfortable and just so pretty!”
 of 5 bubbles Imissafrica, 9 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5