We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

301 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 295: English reviews
Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

So tranquil and peaceful, beautiful decor and gardens. Delicious food. Would definitely recommend. Lovely pool area. Well sign posted. The only thing is that the room was a little small and the roof seemed to be leaking. Peter, Lawrence and William were great waiters who were helpful and friendly. In fact all the staff were fantastic. Stunning!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you Kim B for your feedback. We will investigate the roof reference and apologize for this. Peter, Lawrence and William will also be thrilled to read your review. Come back again soon!

SOUTH AFRICA
Reviewed 7 December 2016

Country hotel with tremendous potential. Unfortunately, we were the only ones booked for dinner on the night of our stay, meaning that staff were very attentive, as they wished to knock off. Room definitely in need of a make over, with only a bath (no shower connection either), which is not good for those with back problems. Taps both marked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FLASHSOUTHAFRICA
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear about your experience. Thank you for your feedback, which will be investigated. We do offer discounts on select room types, and as these differ on availability, rates may change.

Johannesburg
Reviewed 25 November 2016

Upon arrival we were pleasantly surprised with the beautiful gardens.After settling into our rooms (which we really liked) we went to the pool to have a light lunch and relax. We waited and waited for service leading us to go and ask at reception if someone could serve us. When we got the menu I really struggled to find something...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tania R
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

We take note of your feedback Tania R and will be addressing this with management.

Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed 20 November 2016

Wow what a lovely place to stay, The food is great and well prepared Very friendly staff. The Spa treatment was super. We loved the two dogs, rooms are clean and comfortable and quite. We will visit again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ullricke V
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Ullricke. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that PJ and Fires (our resident dogs) were one of your highlights during your time here.

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 6 November 2016

We were here for a lunch on the 4th of October and discovered an oasis of peace with excellent service. The surroundings are beautiful, the waitor was very kind and the food was perfect. We had an enjoyabel lunch.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MKS57
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for your review. We completely agree - Shangri-La is the perfect place to enjoy a lunch time getaway amongst trees and surrounded by a grand selection of vintage and baroque décor.

Kempton Park, South Africa
Reviewed 15 October 2016

I was going to a construction company just not far from the hotel. I had to spend the night at the hotel on the 10th October 2016. It is very good place indeed. I had a very good welcome. The Guy at the reception is very good. I had not booked as I thought my boss has booked. But everything...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fthelma60
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We take note of your comments regarding the stairway to our main building and will discuss this at our next meeting on how to enhance the entrance with additional lights so as to not have guests feel concerned at night.

Reviewed 14 October 2016

This venue is fantastic, the staff went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable, the food was really really good, and the spa treatments fantastic. We had 40 people spend the weekend @ Shangri-La, and received nothing but good reviews from the guys who came with us ! Thank you Thabo & Mapule - you guys were awesome...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alisonf255
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Alison F, we thank you for your lovely review. We'll be sure to let Thabo and Mapula know about your compliments - they will be delighted.

Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

Earlier this month we attended the Lilizela Awards event for service excellence and the Shangri La Country Hotel won an award for best country hotel. Imagine my delight when I heard we would be spending the last evening of our 4 day whirl wind trip there ... The hotel has various categories of room to suit all budgets and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elsabe B
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you Elsabe for your thoughtful review. It was an honour to host you and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Smyrna, Georgia
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Shangri-La Country Hotel and Spa was our last stop of a 3 week tour of South Africa. The place is amazing, beautiful gardens to walk in, friendly Labs and cats to make you feel right at home and the staff is wonderful. Our dinner in the formal dining room was like a storybook setting. If your in the area you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chharrington
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience at Shangri-La with us on TripAdvisor. We'll be sure to pass your compliments on to the team, whom we are sure will be elated. We're honoured that you chose to end your tour of our beautiful country at Shangri-La and that it ended your trip on a high. We look forward to welcoming you...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 20 September 2016

On arrival reception was not up to standard-no welcome drink offered. Room given to us was poor, bathroom very small, not enough towels and dirty, shower with dirty plastic curtain, room needs lots of maintenance overall. We were very disappointed and decided to go and talk to reception or leave at once. We were tired. Margaret, upgraded us to another...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hildab740
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you Hilda and Gerhard for your review. We will be sure to pass this on to the manager of Shangri-La to address the points you have listed above. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay.

484 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (446)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Dining (76)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (101)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (27)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Other (172)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Modimolle (Nylstroom)
17.3 km away
Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas
8.0 km away
Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa
Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa
#2 of 24 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
180 reviews
13.2 km away
Buyskop Lodge
Buyskop Lodge
#5 of 49 in Bela Bela
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 km away
Abba Game Lodge
Abba Game Lodge
#4 of 24 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
33 reviews
15.1 km away
Summerset Place Country House
6.7 km away
Linga-Longa
Linga-Longa
#18 of 49 in Bela Bela
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa outside Bela Bela is a tranquil secluded hideaway nestled against the Waterberg Mountains. This peaceful gem just one hour north of Gauteng, offers the elegance of yesteryear, with beautiful antiques, homely pampering in 49 en-suite rooms surrounded by lush tropical gardens. All the comfortable rooms and rondavels at Shangri-La are situated within walking distance of a sparkling swimming pool, relaxing spa as well as other facilities including two restaurants and a cellar (with a Diners Club award winning wine list), a small wedding chapel and fully equipped conference centres. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa

Address: Eersbewoon Road, Modimolle (Nylstroom) 0510, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Shangri-La)
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Modimolle (Nylstroom)
Price Range: €54 - €183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Benoni, South Africa

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask when you book,there is so many rooms with good locations”
 of 5 bubbles J9889PIguestg, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms near the rose garden is nice and quite, but really all rooms are superb”
 of 5 bubbles BBeukes, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Request a room with shower facilities, if they have one”
 of 5 bubbles FLASHSOUTHAFRICA, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The family room has children room. Very good”
 of 5 bubbles fthelma60, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“rooms 1 - 4 are prime positions for me. close to the reception and restaurant and very quite. ample space for kids to play”
 of 5 bubbles ThabisoSehloho, 25 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5