We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

282 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 226: English reviews
Start your review of Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
 Click to rate
Devizes, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

This place has really got it right. A fantastic setting by a river, great decor - think quirky Edwardian. Incredibly comfortable accommodation. It may be a tent but is more like a luxury hotel room including an outside shower (brilliant!), old fashioned mosquito nets (very romantic) and our own private veranda. The service from the staff was exceptional: efficient, respectful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrsBobtheFarmersWife
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review

Dear MrsBobtheFarmersWife - Thank you for sharing your impressions of Hamiltons Tented Camp. We're very happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon to share more Hamiltons moments with you.

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This place is a treat, not cheap but well worth the experience. Its an opportunity to come as close to an actual open bush safari without having to break camp each morning. You can fly in from Johannesburg or you can drive in. The place is really for adults only, it has 6 individual raised air conditioned tents, each with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gerry V
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review

Dear Gerry V - Thank you for taking the time to post your detailed review of your stay at Hamiltons Tented Camp. We're very happy to hear how much you enjoyed every aspect of your stay, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Pretoria
Reviewed 1 week ago

Hamiltons has charming accommodation and the setting is stunning. The food is disappointing though, there is no choice and the quality is poor, we stayed at Hamiltons last year as well and it was the same. By comparison Imbali, its sister camp, where we also spent 2 nights has fabulous food, masses of it and loads of choice, clearly the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrisannj
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review

Dear chrisannj - Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Hamiltons Tented Camp. We're very happy to hear that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay, but naturally we're disappointed that you did not enjoy the food more. We will be sharing your feedback with our head chef and kitchen team as part of our policy...

Nassau, New Providence Island
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A stay at Hamiltons is a unique experience: a blend of luxury accommodation, wonderful food, warm hospitality and exceptional game viewing. We stayed for five days, arriving expectantly as guests and departing tearfully as friends, with Harold and his staff making us really feel part of their family. A completely immersive experience, driven by the rhythm of the bush, the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 242Gourmet
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review

Dear 242Gourmet - Thank you for taking the time to write your very detailed review of your stay at Hamiltons Tented Camp. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed every aspect of your stay, and that you found it so enjoyable and educational. We very much look forward to your next visit.

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent staff and facility. Great safari experience Did not see all the big five but still a great experience. interesting sleeping in tents...well protected. Frogs serenaded one to sleep. Great sundown experience on safari

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank LibbyfromToronto
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review

Dear LibbyfromToronto - Thanks for sharing your exciting Hamiltons Tented Camp experience. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and all the special moments on your safari. We hope you will visit again!

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our stay was really lovely , stunning resort and staff were exceptional. Food was great and tasty. On the negative side, for the money we paid, we did not receive value. The game drives were dismal, it would appear that the game here is very sparse and will not visit here again because of this. My family and I were...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank K D S
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review

Dear K D S - Thank you for sharing your impressions of Hamiltons Tented Camp. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed the lodge experience, but naturally we're sorry that you were disappointed by your game drive experience. To some extent, this is of course outside our control, and the recent severe drought in Kruger has affected animal movements throughout...

Toronto
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Staying at Hamiltons is like going back in time to Safaris of long ago. The tents are beautiful and have all the modern conveniences but the atmosphere of the camp is of colonial South Africa. There are many relics displayed in the lobby. This is a very small camp, accommodating only 12 people. The atmosphere is very intimate. Animals are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ruby2sdayToronto
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review

Dear ruby2sdayToronto - Thank you for sharing your Hamiltons Tented Camp experience. We're very happy to hear that you enjoyed the authentic safari of yesteryear ambience and the game-viewing experience, and reconnecting with nature.

Port Elizabeth
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What a wonderful surprise!! Nestled far off the beaten track, alongside a large pool of water in a mostly dry river bed, Hamiltons is a sight for sore eyes. After a long, hot drive we arrived to broad smiles a quick witted laugh and a welcoming drink with the obligatory damp cloth to sooth away the days travel. Reception duties...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wildguide
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review

Dear wildguide - Thank you for taking the time to write your detailed review of Hamiltons Tented Camp. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and we can't wait for your next visit as there is so much more we want to share with you.

Geneva
Reviewed 12 January 2017

I was very glad to have choosen Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp. I highly recommend the lodge to people who like nature and the authenticity of the bush experience. Meals are very tasty and staff were very nice. I have had a great time to be there.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank z_boyali
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review

Dear z_boyali - Thanks for sharing your Hamiltons Tented Camp experience. We're thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us so much, and deeply honoured that your would recommend Hamiltons to future travellers - thank you.

Sheffield
Reviewed 12 January 2017

This was a brilliant experience. If I ever do a return trip this would be the place. We were a group of five friends, ages from 79+ to 45, and we all had a great time.we saw many animals, and Simon as a ranger did an excellent job of making sure that happened.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank SheffieldArtist
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review

Dear SheffieldArtist - Thank you for sharing your Hamiltons Tented Camp experience. We're very happy to hear that you and your friends had such an enjoyable time and we very much hope you will visit again.

381 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (366)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (80)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (190)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
3.3 km away
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
#51 of 169 in Kruger National Park
257 reviews
0.0 km away
Imbali Safari Lodge
Imbali Safari Lodge
#53 of 169 in Kruger National Park
360 reviews
13.6 km away
Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps
Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps
#2 of 6 in Manyeleti Game Reserve
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 km away
Tintswalo Safari Lodge
Tintswalo Safari Lodge
#1 of 6 in Manyeleti Game Reserve
304 reviews
88.5 km away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#73 of 169 in Kruger National Park
87 reviews
27.6 km away
The Wild Olive Tree Camp
The Wild Olive Tree Camp
#121 of 169 in Kruger National Park
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Named after Colonel Stephenson Hamilton, who was instrumental in establishing the world famous Kruger National Park, Hamilton's Tented Camp reflects a safari adventure of the early twentieth century, where grace and style were the epitome of luxurious living. Historically themed along the lines of a big game hunter’s camp encompassing the bygone era of the early 1900’s, Hamiltons Tented Camp allows indulgence in pure luxury, combined with the sounds and smells of the African bush. Six magnificent canvas tents, complete with teak floorboards, dreamy mosquito nets and a superb view of the seasonal river, are linked to the main lodge area by raised timber walkways amongst ancient Jackalberry trees. Uncompromising elegance and breathtaking beauty identifies Hamiltons Tented Camp with open tented lounge, butler service and personalised cuisine.All tented suites have a romantic slipper bath and outdoor shower overlooking the Ngwenyeni Dam, private veranda, air conditioning and an intercom service.Spa treatments are available in the privacy of your room. Safaris in 4x4 vehicles, bird watching, self drive in the Kruger National Park and guided safari walks by prior arrangement.Children over the age of 8 years are welcome and are accommodated in their own room. The camp is situated in a malaria area. Gate entry fees are applicable and charged per person per day. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp

Address: Mluwati Concession, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Price Range: €589 - €926 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp Hotel Kruger National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 6 is the furthest from the lodge, and provides a very private experience with a touch of the wild side - a true taste of Africa.”
 of 5 bubbles 242Gourmet, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms 12 and three are closer to the lounge / dining areas”
 of 5 bubbles wildguide, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We were in tent 6, but I understand that tent 1 offers an even better view, though that is hard to imagine!”
 of 5 bubbles AndreaH515, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We prefer the Tents that are the furthest from the main area, better for the animals to be seen in camp.”
 of 5 bubbles 252charlesm, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We were in Room 1 which was close to the main lodge with great views.”
 of 5 bubbles 54JCL, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5