We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Amphitheatre Backpackers Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jagersrust
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Amphitheatre Backpackers Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

291 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 241: English reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

What a great stay at Amphitheatre backpackers lodge. As a durbanite it was so wonderful to experience the backpackers and the awesome hospitality of our fellow South African's toward the tourists visiting our country. We came for a few nights to kick back and relax and that's exactly what we did. Winding down alongside the beautiful mountain views and making...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank em_cumming
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were supposed to stay at the Amphitheatre Backpackers lodge for 4 nights during a month-long trip in South Africa, but we only ended up staying for 3 nights for reasons to be explained below. When we arrived, we were impressed with the facilities as the lodge includes a large dining area with a small stage for performances, a bar,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wael A
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My friend and I stayed in the Amphitheater Backpackers Lodge for two nights during our tour of South Africa, and we had a fantastic experience. The lodge was in the middle of nowhere, surrounded by gorgeous views of mountains and landscape, and walking around outside felt so peaceful. They have a bar and a restaurant, where we ate breakfast and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel B
smokingdragon, General Manager at Amphitheatre Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Hey Rachel, Many thanks for the lengthy review. You have put a lot of thought into what you experienced while staying with us, and it appears you had a really good time. You loved the mountain views, the restaurant, the breakfast menu, the smoothies, the room, the hike, the guide, and especially that the staff made you feel welcome and...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the Ampitheatre Backpackers Lodge for two days during our trip to South Africa. The lodge is in a beautiful and serene location, surrounded by the Drakensberg mountains and comes equipped with small but cozy rooms, and an on-site bar, restaurant, pool, and hot tub. The staff at the lodge was incredibly helpful and assisted in arranging for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Esther S
smokingdragon, General Manager at Amphitheatre Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Hey Esther, What a pleasure for us to have your voice in print ...! Thank you for a wonderful review. I will most definitely shout out to Hein that he is building up a solid little fan club. Our solid mustachioed receptionist. Always available to help. We thought you girls were great, and were so happy to help you in...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We only wanted to stay in the hostel, because of the tour to the amphitheater. We read about the tour in a newspaper. While doing the request for the room I clearly pointed out that the reason for us to come is because of the tour. When we arrived first it was not be possible to do the tour as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Felix E
smokingdragon, General Manager at Amphitheatre Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Felix and Sarah, thank you for your review. We are not altogether surprised that you were upset about the mistake at your check out, but we are upset that you can't see that it was an honest mistake made by our morning receptionist, trying not to over charge you, and in fact, totally undercharging you, hence our phone call....

Bad Ischl, Austria
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place claims to be a 5 star backpackers. Well - it does have the potential: nice setting, spacious common rooms. But that's where it ends! Common bathrooms were not very clean at all. But the worst 2 parts about this place: The food and the receptionists. We ended up here after a long drive in the evening and being...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Asti2108
Alken, Belgium
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

This isn't a bad hostel, don't get me wrong. But the staff just isn't friendly overall. And you, short-haired white lady at the reception, what is your problem? You were by far the most unfriendly hostel-staff member I ever met. I hope you were just having an, euhm 3, bad days. Your behaviour is truly disgraceful. You take this rating...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dica1908
amphibackpackers, General Manager at Amphitheatre Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. The young lady you mention, is a volunteer at our hostel, and was very apologetic when I mentioned you found her unfriendly. She says it's just her manner and the tone of her voice, and she asked me to say that she is sorry to have offended you. Regarding the Tugela Gorge hike, we don't insist...

Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewed 29 October 2016

We stayed in this place for 2 nights, and wanted to go to nearby day hikes, the most famous of which is the hike to the 'amphitheater' (otherwise called Tugela falls). The staff deliberately concealed information about this hike so we would have to take their guided tour (700R, quite expensive in local standards, and for nothing). Even more then...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ayelet L
amphibackpackers, General Manager at Amphitheatre Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

There are several issues that I need to answer here, so perhaps I'll do it in point form. 1. When you arrive at our lodge, we give you information about the many different hikes you can do in the area, which also includes self-guided hikes, and other activities that might not even include hiking at all! 2. The photograph you...

Beersheba, Israel
Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

uppon our arrivel we were introduced straight away to the owner, and she convinced us to go with their organized trip to Tugela falls. it is very expansive and later on we've found out that you can easily hike it on your own, as long as you have a car that can take you there. we felt that the owner...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank InbarMachnes
amphibackpackers, General Manager at Amphitheatre Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments. No-one can force you to do anything you don't want to do. You are our guest. We give you information when you arrive. If you were convinced that the hike was worth doing by the owner, and then wanted to change your mind because of something one of the guests told you, why blame 'the owner'...

Fredericia, Denmark
Reviewed 17 October 2016

As nice as the whole place, surroundings, lounges, rooms, cleanliness and ONE bar staff is. As disapointing is the way they push people towards buying their tours. Instead of actually informing people at their "information desk", they directly lie to people, especially when you ask about doing the hikes on your own... While staying at the place, we talked to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ErikKraft
amphibackpackers, General Manager at Amphitheatre Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Our information desk helps people with many things. We help them to book for hikes, tours, adventure centre activies, horse riding, safaris, accommodation, bus tickets, plane flights, etc. If you are wanting information on the hikes, we will provide them. For us to shuttle you to the summit to hike on your own doesn't make sense at all. What would...

127 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (122)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Other (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jagersrust
15.5 km away
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bergville
205 reviews
19.5 km away
Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa
18.3 km away
Sandford Park Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.2 km away
Cathedral Peak Hotel
Cathedral Peak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Giants Castle Game Reserve
547 reviews
12.7 km away
Drakensberg Mountain Retreat
13.2 km away
Montusi Mountain Lodge
Montusi Mountain Lodge
#1 of 6 in uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The venue is really amazing. The lodge is found on a stunning 300 hectares of land near the foot of the Amphitheatre (Royal Natal National Park) and Cathedral Peak. The Mpande River weaves through the lands. There are buck, small mammals and a fantastic array of wild birds near the 2 dams and a picture postcard view from the lawn, a 360 degree panorama that takes in the entire Northern range from the Amphitheatre all the way to Cathkin Peak. The lodge is a base from which you can explore different sections and all the highlights of the Drakensberg Park each day. Built from stone, thatch and wood, the place is like an artist's sculpture with stained glass, metal and wooden carvings, mosaics and beautiful indigenous rockeries. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Amphitheatre Backpackers Lodge

Address: R74, Jagersrust 3354, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Jagersrust
Hotel Class:5 star — Amphitheatre Backpackers Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 34
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Amphitheatre Backpackers Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Amphitheatre Backpackers Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you go for a room, go for the ones with the view!”
 of 5 bubbles TeamSchonke, 6 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Not behind the bar”
 of 5 bubbles 685lilyw, 3 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Our room was pretty basic, but that was part of the charm of the place”
 of 5 bubbles BruceC56, 18 May 2016 | Read review
“Tours available to enter Lesotho from this location.”
 of 5 bubbles Mon238, 17 May 2016 | Read review
“Top floor of the backpackers dorm is cool, but for the best views you need to camp.”
 of 5 bubbles Dave_Bargh, 22 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5