We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ezulwini Berg Resort

TripAdvisorUS$65*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$65*
US$66*
US$65*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Ezulwini Berg Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

33 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 33: English reviews
Start your review of Ezulwini Berg Resort
 Click to rate
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked this holiday "last minute" and were not really sure what to expect. The rooms are practical and clean, with all amenities required for a self-catering holiday. The travelling distance to Royal Natal national park, makes this a great location, and the view of the berg in the distance from the rooms, is also nice. The staff were friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank robynzoe
ezulwinibergresort, General Manager at Ezulwini Berg Resort, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you for your positive and constructive feedback. We will definitely look into the issues mentioned. We are currently busy with upgrading various things around the resort. We were happy to host you and your family and look forward to welcoming you again.

Reviewed 27 March 2017

Our room was big but already very old and dirty in some corners. The bathroom looked like one for a football team and wasn't nice at all. The street inside the resort is an absolute mess and full of potholes. It wasn't very frequented during our visit and I can imagine why. Wouldn't go there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fabian M
ezulwinibergresort, General Manager at Ezulwini Berg Resort, responded to this review

Good day, I apologise for the bad experience that was had by you at our Resort. I have checked on the cleanliness of the room and the issue was attended. With regards to the road, it is something that we need to budget for to get it done and we are looking into it. Thank you.

Reviewed 2 March 2017

The place is ANCIENT! The pictures seen on the website must have been taken 20 years ago...the entrance into the area looks like some animal farm and the driveway has potholes like nobody's business. The rooms look ancient...the bedding...lets not go there! The rudeness we encountered from the security was appauling! Given the opportunity to go back there, I would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lethiwe Z
ezulwinibergresort, General Manager at Ezulwini Berg Resort, responded to this review

Good day, I am sorry for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay with us. The security were simply asking your guests to turn down their music which was being played from huge speakers. This obviously was disturbing to other guests who come to the berg to enjoy the peace. The rules and regulations of the resort etc were...

Umhlanga, South Africa
Reviewed 26 January 2017

My family visited the Resort over a long weekend. We were Hoping to have a relaxing family holiday but unfortunately did not turn out as we would have liked it to be.😒 The standard of chalets was absolutely disappointing. The couches in the lounge were old, worned out & very uncomfortable to sleep on. The mattresses on the beds in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zpatel7
ezulwinibergresort, General Manager at Ezulwini Berg Resort, responded to this review

Good day, I apologise that you had such a terrible stay with us. While I do believe that our pricing was much lower than the other resorts in the area during the high peak season this is no excuse for you to experience a terrible stay. If possible kindly email management@ezulwiniresort.co.za with the date of your stay and the issues...

Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed 29 December 2016

We spent the Christmas weekend at the Resort. We had a great time. Horse riding, swimming, playing tennis. The resort overlooks the beautiful Drakensberg mountains and is a driving distance to the Royal Natal Park. We hiked the Tugella trail for six hours which was the highlight of our vacation. The resort has to sort out their housekeeping issues urgently...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vuyelwa
ezulwinibergresort, General Manager at Ezulwini Berg Resort, responded to this review

Good day, I am glad that you and your family had a good vacation. Kindly email management@ezulwiniresort.co.za with your feedback about maintenance and housekeeping issues that you had, as well the dates of your stay so that I can ensure that these are addressed. Thank you.

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 25 December 2016

What a disappointment for a year end family holiday. Dirty..hot...rowdy. I can't understand how the owners price their chalets as premium units and deliver such sub-standard fare. Even more disturbing for us... Being kept up and woken up early morning my blaring music and partying from neighbours. And to think they advertise this place as a retreat. One of my...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank zacdesai
ezulwinibergresort, General Manager at Ezulwini Berg Resort, responded to this review

Good day, I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed by your stay with us. As much as we have noise regulations and try to have all guests adhere to these, it is sometimes difficult when we have a large group booked in. Unfortunately the guests on either side of you were part of a large family group who...

Lenasia, South Africa
Reviewed 5 May 2016 via mobile

Really decent accommodation. Clean, neat and well maintained. We had a 3 bedroom chalet with all the facilities and appliances in good condition.Very clean braai stand. Lots of activities to keep the kids and adults entertained (horse rides - great for early mornings and late afternoons, bicycles, tennis courts, volleyballl, soccer grounds,table tennis,trampolines and jungle gym. Beautiful indoor and outdoor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M S
ezulwinibergresort, General Manager at Ezulwini Berg Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive feedback. I am glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Reviewed 28 April 2016 via mobile

Great place for a retreat! Stunning views of mountains all around ♡ Perfect way to reflect, rethink and refocus. Neat and comfortable chalets, close to amenities. Horse riding, swimming, cycling are just a few to name. Thank you to all the staff and especially Mumtaz, for being efficient and hospitable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nahida E
ezulwinibergresort, General Manager at Ezulwini Berg Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback. It was an absolute pleasure hosting the retreat here. We look forward to welcoming you back know with your family.

Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Reviewed 13 April 2016

Location is good and close to the Royal Natal National Park. Peaceful resort. Fridge was not getting cold and freezer was not freezing. After some complaining, the fridge/freezer from the next door unit was swopped with our unit (there was no guests staying in the next door unit). Indoor pool not heated. Lots of activities including mini golf (the course...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jdes786
ezulwinibergresort, General Manager at Ezulwini Berg Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive feedback. It was a pleasure having you and your family stay with us. The courses are cleaned every morning, however we will definitely look into having them cleaned more than once a day. The indoor pool is not a heated, it is just an indoor pool to offer privacy to ladies for ladies hours. In...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 11 January 2016 via mobile

I stayed with my family at the resort from 28/12/2015 till 03/01/2016. Checked in at 2pm and decided to have a snack after our trip. Microwave was not working and fridge was not getting cold( needs a regas). Braai stand seemed like it had been through a war and the tv channels were not working, by the way the tv...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Bilaal S
ezulwinibergresort, General Manager at Ezulwini Berg Resort, responded to this review

Good day, I would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused to you and your family during your stay. I do know that you had reported a few appliances not working and these were replaced when you complained. We do have a limited number of channels in the room and offer our guests the tv lounge for their use with...

18 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jagersrust
11.8 km away
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bergville
225 reviews
14.6 km away
Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa
26.0 km away
Sandford Park Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Alpine Heath Resort
Alpine Heath Resort
#1 of 1 in Jagersrust
449 reviews
9.0 km away
Drakensberg Mountain Retreat
8.1 km away
Montusi Mountain Lodge
Montusi Mountain Lodge
#1 of 6 in uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The peace and tranquility of the Drakensberg awaits you along with its hidden adventure activities – Located at the foothills of the Drakensberg, Ezulwini offers its guests breathtaking views of the Amphitheatre. Situated against the backdrop of the dramatic shapes of the Northern Drakensberg Mountains, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, Ezulwini Berg Resort is an unforgettable family experience. The quietude and tranquillity of the location, coupled with our excellence in service, allows for a true Ezulwini experience. Ezulwini is a Zulu term which means “heaven” – and our aim is to offer our guests a unique experience in our little piece of heaven. Our family resort offers guests comfortable accommodation, and a wide range of facilities to choose indulge themselves in. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ezulwini Berg Resort

Address: 1 Compound Road | Northern Drakensberg, Jagersrust 3354, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Jagersrust
Price Range: €55 - €116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ezulwini Berg Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ezulwini Berg Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ezulwini Berg Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms facing the Tugella falls offer the best views.”
Vuyelwa, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Enquire about large groups staying either if you're joining or wish to be aside.”
MisterHR, 30 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Carry some insect repellent as there are a lot of bugs in the Berg. Also, carry along good walking/hiking gear as the establishment is close to the Royal Natal National Park which offer excellent hiking trails!”
missa2015, 7 Jan 2015 | Read review
“I don't have a tip because I cannot recommend this place until they make some changes.”
ValdaS_13, 5 Jan 2015 | Read review
“Ask for the chalets with the view of the Berg, you wont be disappointed.”
IshaM746, 18 Jun 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$65* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$66
PricelineUS$65
Booking.comUS$65
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates