We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Blyde River Canyon Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Blyde River Canyon Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

210 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Blyde River Canyon Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 136: English reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2016 via mobile

I had to check out before the 2 days that we had initially booked for. let them have our money that's how bad it was, the TV was not working, no signal on cell phones,no activities to do with the kids so if you plan to go there with the kids please don't ever the only thing we were told...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Musa P
Blyde, Owner at Blyde River Canyon Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Musa It is sad to see how people want to damage business that are committed to service excellence because they do not book into the correct style of accommodation which would suit their needs. I see that you have reviewed us on Tripadvisor. When you left early I asked you for the reason. You said that you could not...

Reviewed 20 March 2016

Food was not very good at all. The only place in South Africa where we didn't like the food! No menu to choose from. Staff were very nice and accommodating. Very attentive. Some animals would wander onto the reserve which was nice to see. Room was fine. Wifi was poor, but it is the bush! You must pay to use...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sabrina G
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 15 March 2016

We recently stayed over at the Blyde River Canyon Lodge as we were attending a wedding in the area and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. While it was a short overnight stay, of the little we experienced, we were thoroughly impressed. The staff were welcoming and pleasant, the room was cosy and neat, and the farmhouse breakfast the next morning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank India G
delhi
Reviewed 13 February 2016

We stayed at the Blyde River Hillside House about 10k away from the lodge. There were 6 of us staying very comfortably in the large well furnished house. It is self catering so need to bring your own food and drinks, but they do have spices, salt, pepper and sugar for one to use. They also have a Nespreso type...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank africanbush
Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 14 January 2016

No working WiFi, no SAT-TV, the bar is closed at half past eight and no further service. The staff there was extremly loud talking to each other, when we are lying at the pool and want to relaxe, after one hours we left the pool. I complained about the not working TV and WiFi at the receiption, but the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jens G
Blyde, Owner at Blyde River Canyon Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Jens G Thank you for your taking the time to review Blyde River Canyon Lodge, we take constructive criticism very seriously but find that your review on Trip advisor is incorrect. To put it chronologically. I am surprised at your reaction towards the staff being loud as when you arrived you were very happy and enjoyed your interaction with...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 6 January 2016

I was taken her on a surprise engagement weekend by my now fiance. The staff were friendly from the minute we arrived and while we checked in were given a welcome drink. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The fourposter bed had mosquito net curtains and was huge and comfy. The bathroom had a bath and a shower and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank beansy201
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 31 December 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights but wish it could have been longer. The rooms at the lodge are gorgeous and the food was excellent. The setting is also lovely and very convenient for the Blyde River activities and the animal Rehab centre which is only a 10 minute drive away. The best thing though was probably the staff. Portia...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ciara M
UK
Reviewed 28 December 2015

Stayed in the 2-room cottage at the Lodge in December 15. The staff are excellent and the food was very good indeed. The place has a nice, remote feel to it and is surrounded by very nice scenery. It is a short 10 min drive into the centre of the Blyde River Canyon, which is worth the effort for its...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TheBrownTrout
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 21 December 2015

We had a wonder stay at Blyde River Canyon. We stayed in the loft room for an evening. It was a cozy room that had lots of charm. The area is beautiful and my husband enjoyed taking photographs. We had an amazing dinner of soup, steak and cheesecake. It was our best meal in South Africa. The hostess was able...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jaw070701
Blyde, Guest Relations Manager at Blyde River Canyon Lodge, responded to this review

Dear jaw070701 Thank you so much for your beautiful review , we are so please you had a wonderful stay with us. we are very pleased to hear that the meal you had was the best you had in south Africa , I will pass that on to the kitchen we look forward to seeing you again in the near...

Reviewed 18 December 2015

The free roaming Zebra was a surprise to me and was great to see just before dinner. We enjoyed the 3 course dinner and was not disappointed. The aircon helped tremendously with the hot weather that we experienced while staying here. The beds has mosquito nets around them, which was also nice. WiFi is a once off extra, but handy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leon v
Blyde, Guest Relations Manager at Blyde River Canyon Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Leon Thank you for your review. im pleased to hear you had a relaxing stay with us and the Zebras were to your Delight. im also glad you found our air-conditioning a great help, yes the heat can be uncomfortable but the pool and air-con works wonders. so glad to hear that you will be back we look forward...

192 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (180)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (66)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoedspruit
13.4 km away
Blyde River Wilderness Lodge
Blyde River Wilderness Lodge
#29 of 99 in Hoedspruit
141 reviews
1.4 km away
umVangati House
umVangati House
#1 of 18 in Hoedspruit
166 reviews
5.1 km away
Amafu Forest Lodge
Amafu Forest Lodge
#1 of 1 in Kampersrus
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.0 km away
Bushriver Lodge
Bushriver Lodge
#5 of 99 in Hoedspruit
311 reviews
24.3 km away
African Rock Lodge
African Rock Lodge
#3 of 99 in Hoedspruit
259 reviews
22.6 km away
Shikwari Game Reserve
Shikwari Game Reserve
#48 of 99 in Hoedspruit
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Blyde River Canyon Lodge

Address: Swadini Road | Blyde River Botanical Reserve, Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Price Range: €119 - €259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blyde River Canyon Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotel.de, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Blyde River Canyon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blyde River Canyon Hotel Limpopo Province
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Blyde River Canyon Lodge staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Blyde River Canyon Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay in Hillside House for family groups or small groups of friends”
 of 5 bubbles HappyTravelsQld, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Some of the bedrooms on the web site appear larger than they actually are.”
 of 5 bubbles Jenny0053, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“See if you can get a room on the river side, the open on to greeny.”
 of 5 bubbles 173FrancisB, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“2 bed rooms with bath and own kitchen - perfect for 4 person families”
 of 5 bubbles 908kaib, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room 1 and 2 had beautiful view on the gardens. I think room 3 and 4 as well.”
 of 5 bubbles johannabishop, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5