We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Fairmont Zimbali Lodge

Zimbali Estate | Umhlali, Ballito 4390, South Africa
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Show Prices
Close 
  • Crocodile Creek
    3.2 km
  • 5 star hotel
  • Pool
Reviewed 19 February 2015
Fabulous Lodge
We stayed here for four nights at the end of a touring holiday... more
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

346 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 308: English reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights at the end of a touring holiday. We found the hotel to be delightful. The surrounding estate is filled with trees and wildlife. The rooms are big and spacious. The housekeeping staff do and great job and nothing is to much trouble. Generally speaking the whole team are friendly and charming. The restaurant is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marie J
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Marie J Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are thrilled to hear that you had a delightful stay with us and that you found our team to be friendly and charming during your stay. Thank you for sharing your concerns regarding the need for shower facilities at the pool and for guests...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 6 January 2015

December is really busy so much of the feedback below is related to this time of the year: Around the pool, there are often non hotel guests using the loungers, so you need to get in early. We managed to get a lounger most days, but ended up sitting on the floor one day, staff did not offer any assistance...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank IvanJenkins
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear IvanJenkins We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us. We value your feedback. Thank you for your kind words regarding our helpful and efficient staff. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay even though you experienced some challenges with the service around the pool which has been duly noted. We are glad...

hartebeesportdam
Reviewed 5 January 2015 via mobile

Would not visit this Place again.I waited for an ice bucket for 7 hours it never arrived. The chef cnt even make eggs he is pathetic. The meals are not varied n boring. You dnt always get the exact meal as per the menu. When it comes to the shuttle service my goodness horrid. Toilets are smelly n unhygienic and...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank ophelianate
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear ophelianate We would like to thank you for sharing your review with us. We really do appreciate your valuable feedback. We are saddened to hear that your experience was not in keeping with the level of service that we strive to deliver at Fairmont, and apologise that you left feeling disappointed. Your feedback has already been reviewed by our...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 27 December 2014

The reception staff & staff in general were friendly and welcoming, setting was lovely, right in the forrest & a great pool. A walk down to the beach is recommended. Room was dated with a lot of upgrades needed, furnishings looked and felt cheap. While showering the plastic shower head broke off and fell on my head. Maintenance staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Simon C
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Simon C Thank you very much for taking the time to share feedback on your stay at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge. This is much appreciated as it allows us the opportunity to constantly improve our guest experience. We are delighted that you enjoyed the beautiful scenery that surrounds the Lodge. This is truly a magnificent location and we are very...

Amman, Jordan
Reviewed 26 December 2014

No adequate words to describe this lodge - amazing setting, beautiful surroundings and superb attention to detail - service in line with any five-star resort. The Trophy bar at the pool offers some of the best curry in South Africa as well as some of the best poolside drinks. Spend most of your time lazing at the pool for total...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Esme L
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Esme L Thank you very much for taking the time to share your positive comments with us and for choosing to stay at the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge during the festive season. We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay and hope that you’ll visit us again soon – even if it’s just for another chance...

Reviewed 3 December 2014

The reception staff are warm and professional. Porters are prompt and neat. Exceptional service at security when we arrived. Very arrogant security individual when we checked out. The room view was spectacular. Unfortunately towels are tired. The room tiling in certain areas looked worn out and the fridge had a funny smell. I also found a cockroach in the room....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SayedFarah
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear SayedFarah Thank for taking the time to review the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge and for your lovely comments regarding our Reception Staff and our Porters. We are sorry to hear that your room did not meet your expectations and that you had a bad experience when departing the Zimbali Estate. Please rest assured that your concerns have been raised with...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 2 December 2014

The hotel is beautiful and the rooms are spacious, however, it is very far from the beach. The conference venue was disappointing and the conference rooms were small with no airconditioning working. The food quality was average.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Muhammad Anees H
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Muhammad Anees H Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are glad that you enjoyed the spacious rooms at our beautiful property. Please accept our apologies for the challenges that you were faced with while conferencing at the Lodge. We hope that your future experience will be a more pleasant and memorable one....

London, England
Reviewed 30 November 2014

There is no dout that the Zimbali Lodge is a lovely place to stay, however I have say that it just falls short of it's five star rating which is disappointing. This was our second visit here, the last was five years ago. On the plus side it's a huge, secure site with the spacious rooms set in a living...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JohnT42
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear JohnT42 Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We are disheartened to hear that your stay did not live up to your expectations of the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge. We have taken note of your concerns regarding the key cards not working and lack of amenities within the...

Benoni, South Africa
Reviewed 29 October 2014 via mobile

I find it bizarre that you stay at a beach resort and have no access to the beach. The receptionist had to phone the Fairmont hotel to take me down to the beach. At a cost of R 50 too. The Lodge is not able to give you an access key. There are far better hotels to stay if you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michael M
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Michael M Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and for choosing to stay at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge. The Zimbali Coastal Estate is a secured gated estate, with 2 beach access points. One of the beach access points can unfortunately only be reached on foot, due to the fact that one needs...

Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 27 October 2014

We attended a wedding at Zimbali and stayed at Zimbali Lodge for 2 nights - 24/25 Oct 2014. I must say for such a beautiful location and buildings the service is extremely disappointing. The food quality is not good and the staff are dis-organised. Room service food quality is a lot worse than the dining room quality. That being said...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Waldorphian
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Waldorphian Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We do hope that you enjoyed the wedding which you attended. We’re sorry that the service and food quality was not up to your expectations. Please rest assured that we are investigating to get a better understanding of the challenges which you experienced. The...

223 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (217)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Other (86)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballito
23.0 km away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,562 reviews
23.0 km away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
904 reviews
2.4 km away
Hampshire Hotel
Hampshire Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ballito
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
2.1 km away
Fairmont Zimbali Resort
1.1 km away
Zimbali View Eco Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Fairmont Zimbali Lodge

Address: Zimbali Estate | Umhlali, Ballito 4390, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Ballito
Price Range: €100 - €194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Zimbali Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Zimbali Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Zimbali Hotel Ballito
Zimbali Hotel
Zimbali Lodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fairmont Zimbali Lodge staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Fairmont Zimbali Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a higher floor to get an expansive view.”
 of 5 bubbles sarahrow2015, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
“1st floor rooms, just behind reception, have amazing sea views and close enough to the lobby to access the dolphin/whale viewing deck”
  • A view of the main pool from the room
 of 5 bubbles VimalSardar, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“ocean view is a must”
 of 5 bubbles LindaF46, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had a room with a balcony see view”
 of 5 bubbles mike271142, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a Sea View”
 of 5 bubbles jillking2016, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5