We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Fairmont Zimbali Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

362 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 320: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 7 June 2015 via mobile

We enjoy 5 Star accommodation and Fairmont lives up to this level around the world, but the venue at Zimbali Resort outside Durban disappoints. It's a 4 Star facility.... badly leaking shower, slanting sink, no minibar, noisy doors and no central heating in the rooms describes our experience over a couple of days. We do not recommend unless it's 4...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tony B
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Tony B Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Fairmont Zimbali with us. We are disheartened to hear that we did not live up to your expectation, and that you were faced with some maintenance challenges at the Hotel. We would like to apologise for any inconveniences caused and we are sorry that you left feeling disappointed by...

Brackley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 June 2015

Fairmont Zimbali Lodge is a lovely hotel built in colonial style with stunning views over the Indian Ocean. You travel in golf carts to your lodge along forest paths. The real downside is the fact that the restaurant is only open for breakfast. As we were full board we had to be ferried to the hotel for lunch and dinner....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cber51
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Cber51 Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the stunning views of the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, and that you found the staff to be helpful and friendly during your stay. We are sorry for any inconveniences caused regarding your lunch and dinner arrangements at the Hotel....

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 2 June 2015 via mobile

Where do I begin! From the perfectly manicured 18 hole golf course with breath taking views of the Indian Ocean...to the finer details. Giving new meaning to the word "VIP treatment'. I want to thank the hotel staff, in particular Samuel Moralo for helping my husband to organise a great surprise for my 40th birthday from 650km away.The memories of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HoneyMamabolo
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear HoneyMamabolo Thank you for sharing your lovely experience with us. We are so pleased to hear that we were able to be part of your special day, and that we could turn your moment with us into a memorable one. We hope that you had a wonderful 40th Birthday. We loved receiving your feedback and will certainly pass your...

Hilton, South Africa
Reviewed 22 May 2015

Tranquil and beautiful setting with beautiful views. Excellent front of house service, very professional staff and overall service. Restaurant boasts an impressive wine list and also offer cap classique by the glass. Food was scrumptious and of very high quality. Our waiter was exceptional and offered above- average service. The rooms are spacious and tasteful, but didn't feature a few...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AnjavdBerg
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Anja V Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We appreciate your feedback. We are pleased that you found our service to be professional and of excellence, and that you had a lovely experience at the restaurant. We are disheartened to hear that our rooms did not live up to your expectations, and that...

Cape Town
Reviewed 10 May 2015

My wife surprised me with a few days away at the Lodge. Impressive! During our stay, we were royally treated by professional front of house (Manish, Yvonne), drivers (Ricky, Duncan), bar/restaurant (Vinogrie) and housekeeping staff. Rooms were spacious, simply but opulently designed with a great view of the forest. Breakfasts, dinner and room-service had diverse menus that catered for vegetarians...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Prasidh R
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Prasidh R Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely review with us. We are so thrilled to hear that you had a lovely stay with us, and that we were able to make your wife’s surprise a memorable one. We would like to apologise for any inconveniences experienced due to the delayed transfers made between the...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 4 May 2015

The perfect place to relax and be spoilt a little! This property gives a more resort feel than just hotel. Beautifully designed, decorated and landscaped Zimbali takes you away and for a couple of days you just switch off and relax. Great restaurants, swimming pools around every corner, a 'beach bar' where you can sip through the cocktail menu all...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LoonyLizzy
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear LoonyLizzy Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We are thrilled to hear that you will be back to our beautiful property after experiencing our facilities, scenery and service which left you feeling relaxed and spoiled. It was our pleasure having you stay with us, and we look forward to your return to the...

Reviewed 1 May 2015 via mobile

Of all the places in the world we've visited, this is the one we return to. It's like a piece of top class heaven. We occupied 4 2-sleeper units in the Lodge to accommodate 8 family members. The units are very spacious and well equipped, serviced daily. Hair dryer, iron, big bath, shower, TV, microwave, stove, kettle, toaster, fridge, washing...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TravelBabeSA
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear TravelBabeSA Thank you for sharing your lovely review with the TripAdvisor community. We are so glad to hear that you found the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge and its service to be of immaculate standard and that this is one property that you will return to. It was our pleasure having you stay at our 'piece of top class heaven', and...

Reviewed 29 April 2015 via mobile

Tranquil, beautiful and picturesque... there was a soft drizzle for about 2 nights while I was here,I sat on the balcony ordered champagne and literally closed my eyes as I enjoyed the sounds of nature blending perfectly well with the subtle rain. Yes we went around Durban,Ballito,Umhlanga during the day and did what tourists do but my highlight was always...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ladubbel
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Ladubbel We loved receiving your feedback of your stay at the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge. Thank you for taking the time to share your story with us. From the tranquil and picturesque scenery to the sounds of nature blending with the rain as you sipped away on champagne, we understand why this was the highlight of your stay in KwaZulu...

Mysore, India
Reviewed 27 April 2015

This place is unique and the service was above par. The rooms are very cozy and the balcony facing the forest and lush green garden. They provided fairly good Veg breakfast ( a little rare in SA) and the dinner was also very good. More than any thing, the attitude of the staff was extremely good. Worth staying at this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GURURAJA
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear GURURAJA Thank you for sharing your lovely review with us. We are so glad to hear that you had a memorable stay at the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, and that you found the staff and the service to be extremely good. We look forward to welcoming you back to our unique and beautiful property, and offering you another memorable stay...

Reviewed 24 April 2015

We're a family of 5 and have just spent a wonderful week here. Idyllic location, not crowded, very friendly staff. The rooms are very big and we had no problems fitting in all 5 of us for a game of Monopoly. At dusk and dawn the monkeys come and visit and provide good entertainment. Keep your balcony doors shut when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marcborl
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Marcborl We are so thrilled to hear that you had a lovely family getaway at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We loved hearing that you were able to make use of our spacious rooms for a game of Monopoly with your family. We hope that you will be back again in the near...

223 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (217)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Other (86)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballito
23.0 km away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,652 reviews
23.0 km away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
955 reviews
2.4 km away
Hampshire Hotel
Hampshire Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ballito
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
248 reviews
2.1 km away
Fairmont Zimbali Resort
1.1 km away
Zimbali View Eco Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Fairmont Zimbali Lodge

Address: Zimbali Estate | Umhlali, Ballito 4390, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Ballito
Price Range: €97 - €197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Zimbali Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Zimbali Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Zimbali Hotel Ballito
Zimbali Hotel
Zimbali Lodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fairmont Zimbali Lodge staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Fairmont Zimbali Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room facing the sea”
 of 5 bubbles , 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms face the ocean but those on the upper floors have the bd them to have no ocean view and to be too public.”
 of 5 bubbles Mountainmann, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“At the end of the row of rooms at the top”
 of 5 bubbles aluettev, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ask to be left alone, or you'll be easily annoyed”
 of 5 bubbles KarlKarl_Jacobs, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“sea view room is a must !”
 of 5 bubbles HamzaYacoob, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5