We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Fairmont Zimbali Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Fairmont Zimbali Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

767 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Fairmont Zimbali Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 724: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The location set in a Golf estate with a natural reverse. You can spot monkeys and deer on route to the hotel and its very serene and relaxing. Book a sea facing room and you have lovely vistas of the ocean. Well maintained. Not exactly on the beach but there are paths that will lead to the beach with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shube1
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review

Dear Shube1 Thank you for sharing your detailed review with us and the Trip Advisor community. We are happy to hear that you found your stay at the Resort to be relaxing and peaceful. We are glad that you experienced our wildlife and that you enjoyed our pool area, dining options and your interaction with our staff. We are sorry...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The experience was amazing The staff was very helpful The rooms were amazing We really enjoyed ourselves and would definitely visit again The breakfast at coral tree was amaaaaaaazing Turndown in the room when we arrived, my boyfriend was blown away

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 734fikilem
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review

Dear 734fikilem Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Fairmont Zimbali Resort from your interaction with our staff to the rooms and turn-down service to the breakfast at Coral Tree! We hope to have another opportunity to blow you away with a visit from you in the future. Kind...

Johannesburg
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Slow room service, narrow selection of in-room dining, and room was smelly at times due to plumbing issues. TV reception was not working but had to call twice to get them to send someone - same with ordering room service. Overall, stunning place/location but not good value for money to stay at the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 786nyasham
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review

Dear 786nyasham Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are disheartened to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We are sorry that you left feeling dissatisfied with the service and with the in-room dining selection and we apologize for any discomfort caused. We hope that you will see these challenges as once-off occurrences and give...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel room we checked into "The Deluxe Sea View Queen Room" was huge and comfortably accommodated our small family of 3. We had a balcony with a fantastic view over one of the resort's many swimming pools and onward to the ocean. Zimbali has so much to offer and is easily my favourite local destination in South Africa, many...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tag11Mac
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review

Dear Tag11Mac Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with your family at the Fairmont Zimbali Resort. We are happy that you delighted in the beautiful ocean and pool view, as well as the room space that the Deluxe Sea View Queen Room has to...

Johannesburg
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at Zimabli Hotel during my son's mid-term break. The room was average, floor was not clean when we arrived. Great bath and shower facilities. The children's programme was not available even though it was school holidays. Not much to do at the resort if you have kids. Concierge was rude and unfriendly and got into a fight with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank boitumelom616
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review

Dear boitumelom616 Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback. We are disheartened to hear that you did not feel accommodated for during your stay with us. We are sorry that your interaction with our Concierge Team and Manager was an unpleasant experience. This is certainly not in keeping with the Fairmont standard and we will be...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Fairmont Zimbali Resort is one of the most amazing places I have ever been to. I was treated like a queen by the staff, the room was amazing. I was on the sixth floor and the view from my room looked like something out of a Fairy tale.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bonolom566
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review

Dear bonolom566 Thank you for your feedback. We are overjoyed to hear that you felt like royalty during your stay with us. We are happy that you took pleasure in your accommodation and view and to hear that our staff left a lasting impression on you. We look forward to hosting you again in the future. Kind Regards, Nils Rothbarth...

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I stayed here by myself for some pampering. I did spa treatments everyday and ordered room service at night. The rooms were elegant and classy and the service was on point - which is to be expected considering the rates. I would stay here again. The breakfast buffet was the best I have ever seen, with a wide and decadent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tamarin F
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review

Dear Tamarin F Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay filled with pampering. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our facilities, environment and ease of booking. The Fairmont Zimbali Resort is set in a relaxing setting which offers animal sightings and a feeling of peacefulness....

Basel, Switzerland
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Nice place to stay for some days. 45 minutes away from Durban centre, this is the right place to have rest in hilly estate with nice pools. Facing the ocean, but not really recommended to go for swimming there, you will certainly enjoy the pools. Service was good, beer was good, salmon bagel and fries very ok. It's a huge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarisse
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review

Dear Sarisse Thank you for sharing your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, from our location to our facilities and service. We hope to host you again for another long weekend in the future. Kind Regards, Nils Rothbarth General Manager

Sandton, South Africa
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Me and my wife had a great weekend at the Fairmont Zimbali Resort. From their warm welcome of hand-washing to their amazing dining experience. This resort has all we needed for a nice and cozy weekend stay, we enjoyed the oceans views abd beach walks. Great holiday stay!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sibusisoleonards
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review

Dear sibusisoleonards Thank you for sharing your stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful experience at the Fairmont Zimbali Resort, from our hand-washing experience to dining and to our beautiful surroundings! We look forward to host you again in the future. Kind Regards, Nils Rothbarth General Manager

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We booked to stay 4 nights at the Fairmont Zimbali Hotel this week. On arrival the public area looked amazing - 5 star. Our room however was 3 star at best. It was shabby, old fashioned and definitely needing refurbished. The fabric on the chair worn, the wooded parts of the furniture scuffed and split. The service was poor. No...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 114Rosie
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review

Dear 114Rosie Thank you for sharing your stay with us. We are disheartened to learn that your stay did not meet your expectations. We are sorry that you left feeling dissatisfied and we apologize for any discomfort you experienced during your time with us. We thank you for your comments as we take them to heart and hope to improve...

458 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (394)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (56)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (35)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (93)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Other (146)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballito
2.1 km away
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
#2 of 7 in Ballito
342 reviews
20.9 km away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,517 reviews
20.9 km away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 km away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
303 reviews
4.2 km away
Hampshire Hotel
Hampshire Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ballito
93 reviews
20.9 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Fairmont Zimbali Resort

Address: PO Box 17, Zimbali | 4420, Ballito 4422, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Ballito
Price Range: €141 - €419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Zimbali Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Zimbali Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Zimbali Hotel Ballito
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fairmont Zimbali Resort staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Fairmont Zimbali Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The rooms on the upper floors have a good view. However, on the ground floor you can walk out onto the lawn.”
 of 5 bubbles Michelle_Guy_100, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Get a room with a view”
 of 5 bubbles danders212, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Sea facing rooms are spectacular”
 of 5 bubbles HelenM941, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We loved our sea facing junior suite which is really a lovely big flat with a huge covered veranda.”
 of 5 bubbles annelie_hattingh, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“sea views deluxe room”
 of 5 bubbles Shube1, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay