We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hilltop Country Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Hilltop Country Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

37 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 25: English reviews
Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We booked for four nights in January 2017 and extended for a further two as we felt so comfortable here. Originally built 19 years ago and run ever since by Hennie & Magda Schoeman the Hilltop is a gem of a place. Every part, whether interior or exterior, is beautifully maintained and presented and Hennie, who is well travelled and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AdrianB144
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

If you are looking for peace tranquility and 1st class service then this is the place,the owners simply cannot do enough for you, lovely clean rooms with comfy beds tea and coffee facilities plus amazing views over Wilderness beach, continental breakfast served which is more than ample to set you off for the day relaxing by the pool or hire...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debbie W
Stokke
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for two nights late October - fantastic room, stunning view, and the best breakfast we've had for years. The landlords and their staff was very Nice and helpful. Highly recommended - we'll be back!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liv V
Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

Great stay at Hilltop, while on second honeymoon!! The 270 degree view from the house is stunning, 800 ft up looking over Wilderness, the mountains and the sea. Beautiful guest house and garden and pool. Very attractive bedroom. Nature trail down through the bush below the house leads to further views. Very well looked after by the host Heny.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Henry B
Magda S, Owner at Hilltop Country Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your response. We really enjoyed having you as guest and come back for another anniversary! Regards Magda

Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

I do no often write reviews however I received very inflexible, unfriendly service from the lodges managers/owners while traveling on business, I can easily say they ruined the experience for myself and they do not deserve near a 4 star status. From most reviews you will see the main compliment is the location and views with "nice management" however the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank D305WNthomasc
Magda S, Owner at Hilltop Country Lodge, responded to this review

Mrs Choice, We are sorry that you found our guest house so unsatisfactory. We only have two family rooms and the ons was booked for guest arriving after you very long ago. So you never had an option of interleading door rooms. The other room was already prepared for the guests who booked the room. You booked one family room...

Camps Bay, South Africa
Reviewed 30 November 2016

Where do I start with my awful experience at Hilltop 4 Star Country Lodge.... The setting is magnificent with the most amazing view with friendly staff but that is precisely where it stops. The owners have a terrible attitude. I travelled with my twins who are two and a half, adopted and black and my Au Pair. We are frequent...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank MarvBlonde
Magda S, Owner at Hilltop Country Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Choice, We are sorry that you found our guesthouse so unsatisfactory. We only have two family rooms and one was booked for guests arriving the day after you VERY long ago. So there was never an option of interleading rooms. The other room was already prepared for the guests who booked the room. You booked one family room...

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 November 2016

Well what can we say .. We entered our rooms and were blown away with the view. We also saw the super Moon Sharing a glass of wine with Hennie and Magda .(Bella too little yorkie ). This was an amazing guest house with fantastic owners it felt like we had know them for years ...the service and cleanliness of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tinkerbell070
Magda S, Owner at Hilltop Country Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Friends, What a lovely reminder of our very special time together! We enjoyed you all so much. Thank you for staying with us! We wish all of you a very Happy and Blessed Christmas and a wonderful 2017. We hope to meet you all again. Take care magda

Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 15 September 2016

We stayed here for a short break to George. The views over the coastline from Wilderness towards Plettenberg Bay were absolutely magnificent. The sunrise from the comfort of our bed was one of the best experiences on the holiday. The service was very personal and Hennie made sure our every need was taken care of. We just wish we could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thom S
Magda S, Owner at Hilltop Country Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your response! We really enjoyed having you as guests and hope to meet again. Thank you for staying with us!

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 April 2016

This accommodation was outstanding, especially given the cost - the same in England would have cost as least twice, if not three times as much. The views were amazing, almost unbelievable - never seen better, anywhere. The couple who own the property, Hennie and Magda were exceptional in their hospitality and the breakfasts were fantastic- described as continental, but the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JoHughes65
Magda S, Owner at Hilltop Country Lodge, responded to this review

Hallo to you! Thanks so much for your very positive review! I t is highly appreciated. You were lovely guests to have and we hope to meet soion again at Hilltop! Take care and regards to you Magda

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 23 March 2016

Thank you Magda & Hennie for a very pleasant & relaxing stay. The surroundings are magnificent. We really enjoyed stretching our legs on the footpath. Conveniently close to George, Wilderness & Vic Bay. We would love to come back one day!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BradSchaff
Magda S, Owner at Hilltop Country Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review! We also hope that you will be able to visit again. Super guests. Take care Magda

15 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilderness
2.5 km away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
2.2 km away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
564 reviews
12.5 km away
Lakeside Lodge & Spa
Lakeside Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Sedgefield
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott King George
40.0 km away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
1.5 km away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Wilderness
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Hilltop Country Lodge

Address: PO Box 12002, Garden Route Mall, George, 6546 | Victoria Bay Heights, Wilderness, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Price Range: €118 - €224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilltop Country Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hilltop Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilltop Country Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hilltop Country Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“AMAZING VIEWS FROM ALL ROOMS . you must do the walk down the path to see the views”
 of 5 bubbles Tinkerbell070, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are equally good, with a balcony and fantastic views.”
 of 5 bubbles JoHughes65, 9 Apr 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms have superb views”
 of 5 bubbles isabella1953, 14 Feb 2015 | Read review
“Our room, number 3, was cosy and comfortable. All the rooms have amazing views.”
 of 5 bubbles 684elizabetht, 2 Mar 2014 | Read review
“The new suites 7 & 8 are great.”
 of 5 bubbles Wakelind, 1 Mar 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay