We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Haus am Strand

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Haus am Strand
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

319 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Haus am Strand
See the most recent reviews
Showing 153: English reviews
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Reviewed 22 May 2016

Rita not avalliable at reception when we arrived,Tommy helped us with the luggage .Veronica brought the key of our suite after we have asked.Televion and wifi did not work , we asked the next day for Tommy everything,was alright. No compomentary acceroorries in bathroom available like in other 4 stars.No light our apartment on steps.Never saw Rita. Tommy and Veronica...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 587riaanv
hausamstrand, Inhaber at Haus am Strand, responded to this review

Dear Mr/s. van der Merwe, Although I lived in the apartment next to you I unfortunately missed you. The light on the steps was in good order. The TV was working, Mike explained to you how it works. We have the Hotel and Guesthouse bouquet. There should have been toiletries. Veronika would have brought anything to you, had you asked....

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 8 May 2016

Spent a lovely long weekend in the cozy mini-suite. All rooms are beautiful and have sea-view. Direct access to the beach via the garden. Beautiful property. Very clean. Rita is an excellent host, kind, welcoming, warm-hearted. She and her friendly staff will go out of their way to ensure you enjoy your stay. Thank you for a perfect short vacation...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NoraMarie4
hausamstrand, Inhaber at Haus am Strand, responded to this review

Dear Nora-Marie, Thank you for the nice review. Its winter time now and we renovating the house again, like always in the quiet season. Hopefully you will visit soon again. Yours, Rita and Mike

Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed 18 April 2016

Beautiful and so peaceful. My daughter and I stayed in the mini suite which was beautifully furnished and the French doors opened up on to the lawn adjacent to the beach. Walking distance from great restaurants and a supermarket. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Evenings were amazing and the sound of the waves crashing on the beach was absolutely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor M
hausamstrand, Inhaber at Haus am Strand, responded to this review

Dear Mrs. Marais, Thank you for your stay with us and I hope very much that you will come again to visit us. Yours Rita

Stellenbosch, South Africa
Reviewed 18 April 2016

we booked to stay in the honeymoon room / suite. unfortunately this room is up stairs, - loft room. this proved to be a bit of an uncomfortable situation, as all the ceilings etc. are very low and not suitable for a 6.4ft person. my poor husband spend a lot of time having to bend down while in the suite....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank K1628BTkiml
hausamstrand, Inhaber at Haus am Strand, responded to this review

Hallo, Your are right, this roof is low in some places. But I cant make it higher. I am sorry. I will take your advise and write that the Honeymoon Suite is not good for taller people. Why did you not ask to change the room for you? I would like to offer you 2 days free of charge in...

West Sussex
Reviewed 15 April 2016

Booked Haus am Strand online for 3 days but ended up staying 5 as we were enjoying it so much. Great location, right on the beach with fantastic views, staff friendly and helpful, shops, supermarket and great restaurants just across the road. Overall a top place and will hopefully return soon. Bravo

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thelastfrontier
hausamstrand, Inhaber at Haus am Strand, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review, its very appreciated. You were such friendly and orderly guests, your daughter so well behaved. It was lovely having you. Hearty greetings to you from all of us, yours sincerely, Rita, Mike, Joe, Veronika

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 2 April 2016

Our beach front accommodations opened immediately on to the lawn which adjoins the sand. We could open the french doors and had a front row seat to watch the waves crash from bed! It's the only property we saw on this beach that gets you this close. Meanwhile you are located immediately across the road from all of the main...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cemangan
hausamstrand, Inhaber at Haus am Strand, responded to this review

I am so happy that you liked it. You were in the Garden Suite ? Thank you for your kind review and we hope you take nice memories home with you. Kind regards, Rita, Mike and Joe.

Weggis, Switzerland
Reviewed 29 March 2016 via mobile

We unfortunately stayed just one day in this beautiful spot right at the sandy beach with great view and very clean clean, nice rooms and suites. Staff and management very friendly. Great restaurants in walking distance. Nice garden to relax!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andrealessmueller
Klerksdorp, South Africa
Reviewed 6 March 2016

A special thanks to Rita and staff (Veronica) for the wonderful welcome and beautiful environment created to relax and enjoy a peaceful stay. Thoroughly enjoyed the 2 days we spent at Haus am Strand and its beautiful beach and surrounding scenic areas. Restaurants and a small grocery store are within walking distance giving us a needed break from the long...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mranderee
hausamstrand, Inhaber at Haus am Strand, responded to this review

Well, this were only Schnupperdays... (trial days). So we say please come again to relax and regain your strength and we say thank you for your nice review, yours Rita

Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed 4 March 2016

Wilderness is quiet and beautiful place, and even people from Cape-town are here, escaping from bad traffic and thousands of tourists everywhere. Lodge itself very well equipped and good looking with expensive decorations . Of course the best about this lodge is that it is 20 metres from the beach and you can throw the stones in the ocean from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nazar G
hausamstrand, Inhaber at Haus am Strand, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind review and we will be happy to make it always as nice as possible for you. Please come again and relax in our garden, grilling at the beach. Yours, Rita and Mike.

Cologne, Germany
Reviewed 28 February 2016

We felt at home right from the very beginning. The staff was extremely friendly and the place was really nice, spotlessly clean and with an incredible view to the ocean out of bed! It takes 30 seconds to the beach, the sunbeds are locaded in the shared garden area which reminded us of a small english park. It offers enough...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 736anja
hausamstrand, Inhaber at Haus am Strand, responded to this review

Dear Anja, Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review. I am very happy if my guests are enjoying the garden with grill and this is what life is all about. Just relaxing and having a good time. See you hopefully soon again and note: The Beach Bungalow will be redecorated and look different when you come again....

154 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (129)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
0.3 km away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
0.3 km away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
496 reviews
0.2 km away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#1 of 54 in Wilderness
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Dune Guest Lodge
Dune Guest Lodge
#4 of 54 in Wilderness
346 reviews
0.7 km away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 54 in Wilderness
201 reviews
3.6 km away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Wilderness
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Beautiful, romantic Guesthouse directly on the Beach. Large exotic garden flowing right onto the beach, with sun-loungers and grill. All apartments are on suite with Jacuzzi/Shower. The rooms are nicely furnished and supplied with heaters, heating blankets, towel heaters, some with underfloor heating, gowns and extra blankets for your comfort. Sat-TV in all rooms, except Mini Suite. WIFI FREE ! Most of them come with kitchenette and Jacuzzis. Two have facilities to make a small breakfast only, i.e. fridge, toaster, kettle... but not a kitchen. We offer breakfast with free coffee in our Partner-Restaurants, 2 minutes walk. There are about 12 Restaurants, Supermarket, Bars, Doctors, Postoffice, Bars, Laundry and small shops in the village across the road. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Haus am Strand

Address: 83 Sands Road, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Price Range: €66 - €127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Haus am Strand 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Haus am Strand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Haus am Strand staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Johannesburg, South Africa
over a year ago
London, United Kingdom

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Haus am Strand staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Honeymoon suite is great!”
 of 5 bubbles daleen232, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The Sea Cottage is most suitable for a couple travelling with a child”
 of 5 bubbles AngVoul, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“all rooms are sea facing”
 of 5 bubbles GretchenP157, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The sea cottage is perfect for a romantic getaway.”
 of 5 bubbles ChanelleHaupt, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor rooms have direct garden/beach access - top floor rooms have balconies. All rooms face the sea!”
 of 5 bubbles NoraMarie4, 8 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay