We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Pile-Inn Bed and Breakfast

04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Pile-Inn Bed and Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

51 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Pile-Inn Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Showing 38: English reviews
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We found this very beautifull little hotel when we arrived in Underberg. New owners were really friendly, treated us as part of their family. Caroline made sure we had everything we needed and her son in law gave us very important information about the treaks to do in the surroundings, specially to go to Sani Pass. The rooms were very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
New York City, New York
Reviewed 16 December 2012

We were traveling in the Drakensberg during the school holidays in October, and the first place we stayed confused our reservation for the 2nd night of our trip. Fortunately, we found rooms at Pile Inn. It was incredibly comfy--the beds were soft and I especially enjoyed the complimentary coffee and tea in the room. We were planning on getting up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JeanVerde
New York City, New York
Reviewed 22 November 2012

We made a last-minute reservation here when our original plan fell through. We didn't know what to expect, as we didn't have internet access to see photos & reviews. We were so pleasantly surprised when we arrived! The rooms were very cozy, clean, comfortable, and comparatively much more luxurious than the other places we had stayed (backpacker lodgings). This was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denise J
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 November 2012

I stayed at the Pile Inn for two nights - one at each end of my hike in the Drakensberg Mountains. Lucia is a great hostess and serves a first class brekkie, but unfortunately for us travellers she is moving on to something different. Hopefully the new host(es) will be equally good. The rooms are basic but nice (as a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lena H
Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We booked a few months agog and this was a real gem of a holiday for our family of 5,including our very ill, moither-in-law. Lucia, did take care of ALL our needs, I mean ALL our needs. Weil be back, or i might even think of buying this little gem of a old house,if the price is right..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jutishra
pilesey, Owner at Pile-Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your great response. I am Sure Lucia was thrilled to have received it, as we were to read it. ps, everything is for sale at the right price!!

Knysna, South Africa
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Lucia is certainly the best guesthouse keeper we met during our South African holiday. According to our Dutch needs she made us a special breakfast. And profided us with all the info and arrangement we needed. A trip to the Sani Pass was one of the highlights.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Niels B
East London, South Africa
Reviewed 24 June 2012

This is a great BB if you are looking for clean, friendly and good value for money in the Underberg area and intend to explore the area. The English breakfasts are awesome and the your are made to feel so so welcome. Not ideal if you are not good on stairs as all rooms are up some steep wooden stairs....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chefane
Durban
Reviewed 13 May 2012

No frills, but inexpensive, The rooms are simple, but comfortable. It's a good place to use as a base to explore the southern Drakensberg. There's no TV in the room, if that is what you are looking for, and not really much to do at night in Underberg. But the traditionaly English breakfast is great, cooked and served by the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NautieZA
Roseville, California
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Upon entering the front door, we were put-off by the non-existent entry and run-down appearance of the establishment. I remembered that this was a marginally 3-star accommodation and decided that my husband and I would "wing it". I'm tremendously glad we did. We had plans to join renowned mountain/rock art guides, Philip and Christeen Grant for hikes to important San...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ougeekgirl
Gent, Belgium
Reviewed 7 December 2010

Pile Inn B&B is situated in a very quiet street with nice rooms and excellent personal service with quiet some flexibility (e.g. breakfast hours) . Ideally situated for visits to the Drakensberge and the Sani Pass and Lesotho.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank uyunisalar

15 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Underberg
13.9 km away
Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel
25.4 km away
Gooderson Drakensberg Gardens Golf & Spa Resort
28.2 km away
Khotso Adventure Farm
Khotso Adventure Farm
#3 of 19 in Underberg
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
The Old Hatchery
The Old Hatchery
#2 of 12 in Underberg
121 reviews
1.4 km away
No photo provided
Douglas Drift Cottages
#9 of 12 in Underberg
1 reviews
6.9 km away
Malachite Manor
Malachite Manor
#4 of 19 in Underberg
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Pile-Inn achieved AA Awards, Semi Finalist, based purely on guest comments. Perfectly situated on the outskirts of Underberg, we ensure a memorable and relaxed stay. Tours into Lesotho now available ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pile-Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 27 Old Main Road, Underberg 3257, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Underberg
Price Range: €51 - €56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pile-Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Pile-Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Pile-Inn Bed and Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A perfect stopover to explore thuis reall gem of an area, of Underberg, or just to unwind and relax. Thanks Lucia”
jutishra, 24 Sep 2012 | Read review
“Would ask for the main room at end of passage. All rooms upstairs”
Chefane, 24 Jun 2012 | Read review
“Definitely book the upstairs family room for sunshine, views and quiet. Nice furnishings and good, but rather drafty ensuite bathroom with ample shower. Best visited in South Africa's summer. Otherwise, bring your woolies”
ougeekgirl, 21 Nov 2011 | Read review
3 of 3
Hotels.com
* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$62
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates