We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Chartwell Guest House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Chartwell Guest House
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

36 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 30: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Warm, wonderful and welcoming. The staff were at sll times helpful, friendly snd kniwlwdgable abiut the area and attraction. They were superb. Fantastic setting. Rooms spotlessly clean and tastefully furnished. This would be our first for a return visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nlb640
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

this is a place to be, even the staff there is of the hook. they treat all their guests with respect. I would go back there anytime, this place is closer to the beach and also you can even go to the the mall not forgetting the restaurants. magnificent, within a walking distance if you don't want to drive or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 415websterc
Richards Bay, South Africa
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Visited this guest house for one night on 22 Oct. Firstly the location is excellent - beautiful lush green setting with a beach view in the distant background + Blue Security cameras and patrols to ensure security. Ample parking inside, behind electric gate. We stayed in Suite 7 which is ample space for 2 adults and a child. Room was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PHM_Law
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 21 October 2016

I book for my colleagues to stay at the Chartwell Guest House often and they always come back with great feedback. Their staff are always accommodating and friendly and the rooms are clean and comfortable. I will continue to recommend this guest house for a lovely accommodation option in Umhlanga :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank renekruis
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

My daughter and I had the great privelalge of staying at the Chartwell guest house. So welcoming, my daughter is a very busy little girl nd they were so patient and loving towrds her, she just loved them to pieces. The Food was great, accom was awesome and the staff, Loriane, David and Andile we beyond spectacular. I felt so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AndyLox
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

Great experience. What a lovely location and facilities. Close to all needs. Beach, shops & restaurants. Rooms were very clean and the decor was gorgeous. Staff helpful and friendly making our visit very stress free. A must for either business needs or holiday makers. Thank you!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 624tarynr
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 20 October 2016

A friend recommended Chartwell guest house to us, and we are so happy we took her recommendation. What a beautiful well positioned place to stay. The rooms are beautifully decorated and immaculately clean. The staff were welcoming and friendly and the guest house is run so professionally. Breakfasts were well proportioned and delicious and being 5 minutes from the beach...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rodriguesm358
London
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Was ok but service was bad. Staff unfriendly and unwelcoming. No manager on site. Wouldn't go back there or recommend it to anybody else. Much better places and options for the same money. Location is good though, pitty about the rest.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rynovanderwalt
Hartbeespoort, South Africa
Reviewed 15 October 2016

Room was great. 9/10 for cleanliness. Included a decent sized TV, microwave, hair drier, and bar fridge pre-stocked with drinks and snacks. Signal in the room was a bit poor though. Beds were very comfortable, bathroom also included a bigger than standard bath tub. Breakfast was good, albeit a bit pricey. Dining room had a nespresso machine, and board games...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gordz84
chartwellguesthouse, Owner at Chartwell Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. We always try our best to make our guests happy.

Reviewed 18 September 2016

We had booked 2 nights at the guest house. We found the staff to be very unwelcoming and unfriendly, especially during mid-day when the staff refused to offer tea or coffee and we were told to go to our rooms. This behaviour was defended by management to indicate the staff were extremely busy and could not afford to serve beverages...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Lara M
88Chartwelldrive, Owner at Chartwell Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Lara, Your poor review is noted. The facts are as follows: You checked in on Monday 12/09 and checked out the next day. Check out is at 10:30am. You requested a late check out. My staff did their best to accommodate you, by allowing you to stay in your room until 12:30pm. You were not charged for this 2...

7 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
1.4 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
1.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
1.5 km away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
315 reviews
1.5 km away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
899 reviews
0.9 km away
Tesorino B&B
Tesorino B&B
#13 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Whether you are traveling to Umhlanga Rocks for business or pleasure, Chartwell Guest House has it all. We are close to the airport, beaches, Gateway Shopping Centre, Umhlanga Village, bars, restaurants & night clubs. Our rooms are all large, luxurious and spotlessly clean. Some rooms have spectacular sea views whilst others have self-catering facilities and decadent luxury. Our staff are warm & friendly and we pride ourself on excellent service and generous hospitality. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chartwell Guest House

Address: 88 Chartwell Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4320, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: €49 - €113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chartwell Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Chartwell Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Chartwell Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“romantic suite, is the best - with see view”
 of 5 bubbles 415websterc, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“suite number 3 is fantastic,with view to indian ocean”
 of 5 bubbles adrian13091961, 8 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Choose suite 1 or 2 if you are a night life person to avoid going through the reception area at night.”
 of 5 bubbles 660stellag, 26 Aug 2014 | Read review
3 of 3
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay