We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Redlands Hotel and Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Redlands Hotel and Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

104 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 103: English reviews
Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Extremely helpful staff. Breakfast was rather chaotic on our second morning. Very comfortable stay overall and would definitely use again. Situated in nice part of city and close to motorway. Chris. Bedford U.K.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrissY4982AN
Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We have stayed at the Redlands Hotel on numerous occasions when travelling to PMB on business. We have always had excellent service and meals. We also use the Redlands Hotel for meeting clients when we are just visiting for the day and the staff always ensure we are well looked after.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SusanSueb
Port Vila, Vanuatu
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good location No drinking water in the room No Min Bar No Coffee House keeping Staff keep harassing me to clean room even after i had the please don not disturb sign up Good Landry service Food was Okay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank D8417RHnicolasr
Redlands_Hotel, General Manager at Redlands Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Nick. Thanks for taking the time to review Redlands Hotel. We are very fortunate in that the tap water in South Africa in general and Pietermaritzburg in particular, is of excellent quality and so we do not need to supply bottled water. These are however available on request. Similarly we do not have mini bars in most of our...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was not impressed with the facilities in the room. No porter or staff member to help with luggage in an end room. No hair dryer, no plug to charge phone, no TV channel guide, TV remote broken. No breakfast included with an expensive rate.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M9298WZamandaw
Redlands_Hotel, General Manager at Redlands Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. In order for me to follow up correctly. please can you e-mail me on gm@redlandshotel.co.za. Unfortunately due to privacy issues, I am unable to determine which room you were in or when you travelled. We do not have a porter however guests should be asked on check in and departure if they require help with...

Roodepoort, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Its difficult to say why I didn't love this place as nothing was wrong. The staff was friendly and the room was spacious and overlooked a beautiful pool. I found the furniture a bit drab and electrical outlets were limited. My three main tests of any hotel (food, bed & shower) all passed with flying colours. The dinner and breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ronald K
Redlands_Hotel, General Manager at Redlands Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Ronald. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry that we did not hit the spot in giving you a great stay. If you have any insight into what we could be doing better, please do not hesitate in contacting me directly at gm@redlandshotel.co.za. Regards and best wishes. Paul

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed three nights at Redlands and found the staff friendly and helpful, the suite (#12) extremely comfortable, and the surroundings very relaxing, with pleasant outdoor space for meetings with friends. We will definitely return to Redlands the next time we are visiting Pietermaritzburg.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank D223LRjeanh
Redlands_Hotel, General Manager at Redlands Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Jean. It was great having you back. Thanks so much for your feedback. Really good to know you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you in the not to distant future. Regards and best wishes. Paul

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I was impressed by the room overlooking a sparkling pool and perfectly kept gardens. Staff were very helpful and courteous and the food was great. The hotel is ideally situated, a few minutes from the city centre - just enough to have peace and quiet, but only a short drive to the shops. Great place. Will certainty be back next...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A4902NWanthonyl
Redlands_Hotel, General Manager at Redlands Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We really do value the feedback and it is great to hear when we are getting things right!!! Hope to see you back at Redlands soon. Regards and best wishes. Paul

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 26 October 2016

I arrived on 18 October 2016 (overnight accommodation) after a tiring drive from Johannesburg and I was welcomed by a friendly staff who directed me accordingly. I had a good sleep and it was quiet and the room was spacious. Breakfast in the morning was cooked to my liking and I had no complaints. I would book again should I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Majoro P
Redlands_Hotel, General Manager at Redlands Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review

I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Taking the time to write a review is really appreciated. We look forward to having you back at Redlands soon. Regards and best wishes. Paul

Sandton, South Africa
Reviewed 24 October 2016

My wife and I spent a night at Redlands visiting family living in Pietermaritzburg. The weather was bad so instead of going out for dinner we decided to invite family to the restaurant for dinner. The service and meals were excellent. The room was comfortable and clean. A thoroughly enjoyable experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank L2716HSrobertt
Redlands_Hotel, General Manager at Redlands Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review

Feedback is so important to us. Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review and I will certainly pass this onto my staff. Hope to see you all back at Redlands in the not to distant future. Regards and best wishes. Paul

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 15 September 2016

I was surprised at how nice this hotel is. My room had a lounge separate from the bedroom. Stunning views. Spacious. Nice breakfast. Friendly staff. It is situated close to town and ideal for business trips.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Red947
Redlands_Hotel, General Manager at Redlands Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay and we sincerely hope that we will see you back at Redlands in the not to distant future. Warm regards. Paul

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pietermaritzburg hotels
8.0 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton
#2 of 8 in Pietermaritzburg
204 reviews
2.3 km away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#5 of 8 in Pietermaritzburg
64 reviews
5.8 km away
Road Lodge Pietermaritzburg
Road Lodge Pietermaritzburg
#7 of 8 in Pietermaritzburg
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Southern Sun Pietermaritzburg
Southern Sun Pietermaritzburg
#3 of 8 in Pietermaritzburg
108 reviews
4.9 km away
Ascot Inn
Ascot Inn
#3 of 63 in Pietermaritzburg
67 reviews
3.7 km away
Tancredi B&B
Tancredi B&B
#1 of 63 in Pietermaritzburg
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Redlands Hotel and Lodge caters for the discerning corporate traveller, parents visiting school children in the area, tourists wishing to explore the Midlands, intimate weddings and functions. Our restaurant and Club Room are open daily. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Redlands Hotel and Lodge

Address: 1 George Mac Farlane Lane | Wembley, Pietermaritzburg 3201, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Pietermaritzburg
Price Range: €80 - €109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Redlands Hotel and Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Redlands Hotel and Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Redlands Hotel and Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a garden view”
 of 5 bubbles 898JohnR, 12 May 2016 | Read review
“Arrive early to enjoy their dinner...”
 of 5 bubbles thulim2014, 21 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the south wing - you can ask for rooms on the right of the corridor - the staff and hotel management are very accommodating!”
 of 5 bubbles lulamam, 10 Dec 2015 | Read review
“I would prefer the garden rooms where you can walk straight onto the terrace and pool”
 of 5 bubbles RunarF, 30 Oct 2015 | Read review
“No. 19 had a balcony, no great view, we did not require a view. If you want a pool view ask for it. The main building may have a city view.”
 of 5 bubbles WalterP669, 20 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay