We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Richards Bay Caravan Park

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Meerensee
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Richards Bay Caravan Park
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

10 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 10: English reviews
Bronkhorstspruit, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2016

It where the best Caravan holiday EVER, Will always go back for more Good fun and frendly people. Clean camp and frendly service always. Pool always clean and also Toilets and bathrooms. The Shop is also great. And not even talking about the TAKE AWAYS brilliant

Helpful?
Thank johannieuwoudt08
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2016

Firstly I want to say that you have really nice people working at the reception. Especially the young lady with the very pink lips at the hotels reception. What a breath of fresh air, she is so friendly and help full. You should really do something about the monkeys they are getting to be a pest, and very dangerous, there... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Juanita P
Ballito, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2016 via mobile

My wife and I decided we needed to recharge our batteries and booked a 7 day breakaway at Richards Bay Caravan Park. Arriving there, the gate guard was a friendly bundle of energy and reception effective, fast and friendly. We chose our campsite at our leisure and were relaxing in no time. The whole campsite had huge trees with most... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Knersus53
Clarens, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2016

The park is beautiful, with big grassed sites and plenty of trees. Frontline staff are friendly and helpful, and ablution blocks are clean but there was a problem with hot water in the ladies ablutions. There's a lovely play area, with swimming pool, trampoline and swings etc. A small shop and bottle store is also on site for your very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brukwe
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2016 via mobile

We camped at the caravan park for 3 nights and enjoyed our stay their! Most of the caravan sites are under trees, and the premises is well kept! Very secure caravan park! The ablutions are neat and clean! Definitely will visit again I was hoping to have a sea view, but with all the bushes one is not able to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cathy B
Udine, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2015

We arrive late and we have to pass 2 gates go get in, want to go down to the beach and you face another gate with security there. We would like to have a coffee in the morning but the shop/bar didnt open until late (dispite time showing 7 am opening). We wish to get into a ballpaint game but... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank jumpinetto
Bilene, Mozambique
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2015

A previous management team decided to make certain facilities available to outsiders in order to generate some cash. Unfortunately the outsiders also generated considerable noise. That management team has been disposed of and sanity has returned. This is once again my favourite caravan park,by a large margin.The 2-week pensioner rate of R1000 all-in is pretty spectacular value, in my opinion.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Fyko v
rbcp2015, General Manager at Richards Bay Caravan Park, responded to this review

I thank you for your kind response and will try to keep up the hi standards. Regards Willie Olwagen More 

Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2015

We were staying in Richardsbay caravan park over DEC 2014. Our campsite was close to the permanent campers, they stopped their boats and cars on our campsite, and when we asked them to be moved, the atmosphere suddenly changed. We were no longer greeted by the Manager, everybody that was permanent campers ignored us. We went to speak to the... More 

Helpful?
8 Thank ons5rasse
rbcp2015, General Manager at Richards Bay Caravan Park, responded to this review

This unfortunate incident was discussed in detail with our customer. The students, other campers mentioned were all contacted and promised to visit our park as always. We will do our utmost to prevent bad relationships in the future and invite the client to visit our beautiful park again. More 

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We spent a couple nights camping at Richard's Bay Caravan Park. It cost 110 Rand per person per night and there was a 100 Rand deposit (which you get back upon departure) if you wanted the beach access key. The campsites had electricity and the ablutions were clean. The washing area was great, and there was direct access to the... More 

Helpful?
11 Thank wanderlust119
Maputo
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

If you're a pensioner and you have 2 weeks or more to spare than this is the place to spend them. This park is the best value for money that I have yet found. Privately owned and meticulously maintained, simple but spotless ablutions, excellent security and a wonderful in-the-bush layout. Quite unexpected when you see the horrible pallisade of stinking... More 

Helpful?
16 Thank SimonTMaputo

30 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meerensee
0.3 km away
Imvubu Lodge
Imvubu Lodge
#1 of 1 in Meerensee
83 reviews
5.9 km away
Road Lodge Richards Bay
Road Lodge Richards Bay
#5 of 8 in Richards Bay
10 reviews
0.5 km away
Splendid Inn Bayshore
Splendid Inn Bayshore
#6 of 8 in Richards Bay
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Indaba Lodge Richards Bay
Indaba Lodge Richards Bay
#7 of 8 in Richards Bay
40 reviews
1.8 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Richards Bay Waterfront
0.6 km away
Premier Hotel The Richards
Premier Hotel The Richards
#2 of 8 in Richards Bay
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in Richards Bay, KwaZulu-Natal North Coast, and with direct access to the beach, the resort is very conveniently situated for that quick weekend getaway, or that very much-deserved annual holiday. Only two hours north of Durban, the beauty of this warm, lush subtropical region with the savannah of the many game reserves and its picturesque surroundings, Richards Bay Caravan Park offers all the amenities for the discerning camper. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Richards Bay Caravan Park

Address: CNR Krewelkring and Hibberd Drive | KwaZuluNatal, Meerensee, Richards Bay 3901, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Richards Bay > Meerensee
Price Range: €52 - €89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 260
Also Known As:
Richards Bay Caravan Park Hotel Meerensee
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Richards Bay Caravan Park staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Richards Bay Caravan Park staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book early for good spot”
 of 5 bubbles johannieuwoudt08, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The neighbouring lodge has built a row of rooms overlooking the lower 'G' section of the camp. These rooms attract a lot of loud-mouths and drunks. One shrieking female was berating her mate until 3am, and I was quite ready to go up there and bury the hatchet - in her skull. Consider this if you book for section 'G'.”
 of 5 bubbles fykov, 29 Jan 2015 | Read review
2 of 2