We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Oceanic

Save
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

20 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 20: English reviews
Start your review of The Oceanic
 Click to rate
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

Travelled with my family everything was just perfect. We arrived an hour earlier for check-in and the hotel welcomed us and made sure we are settled. The room had minimal sea view but still awesome. Will definitely visit again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank moncelia
Pretoria
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our check in was delayed as the front desk informed us that they didn't receive the Bookings.com confirmation of the room number, which we believe shouldn't be the guests issue. We were given a room that was neat, yet a water leak was reported which we were told we were to receive a new room in the morning after sorting...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 811elmariev
First_Resorts, General Manager at The Oceanic, responded to this review

'Good day Elmarie Thank you for your truly constructive criticism, and offering me the opportunity to respond to this matter. We would like to apologise for all the inconvenience caused. We have been in contact with Booking.com. and have rectified and improved our communication with them, so hopefully this unfortunate incident will not happen again. In our desparate attempts to...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 18 January 2017

I will start with the only positives - our room was reasonably sized, and we had a TV with DSTV. But its downhill from there... The location leaves a lot to be desired due to the park engrossed with unnecessary sounds and people throughout the night and day. Nestled in a district of rubble and somewhat rundown shops the area...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank TheSugarBoogers
First_Resorts, General Manager at The Oceanic, responded to this review

Dear Sugar Boogers Thank you for meeting with me on the 21st January 2017, as discussed in the meeting I apologize for all the inconvenience and unacceptable service you experienced. We have noted and highlighted all your concerns and, as some were beyond our control, we have been in contact with Local government, UIP and CPF items of dealing social...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 December 2016

Close to the beach, with shops and a SPAR close by Friendly staff, especially Queen who spent some time answering my touristy questions when she's so busy keeping the room sparkling. Good facilities - swimming pool and hot tub. Great value

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simbaldo
First_Resorts, General Manager at The Oceanic, responded to this review

Good day Simbaldo At The Oceanic we always strive to improve our service levels so are very pleased that we exceeded your expectations. We hope to see you soon and wish to meet you in person on your next visit. Thank you for your positive contribution, I have passed the compliment onto Queen too. Kind regards, Ian Moyo

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 28 November 2016

We enjoyed it. Location perfect. Will go there again. Hoop the stairs to the pool will be better. Could not go to the pool, because of the stairs. Height was the problem. Thank you for kindness.. Till later.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank denisehX3641CX
First_Resorts, General Manager at The Oceanic, responded to this review

Good day Denise Thank you for your positive review. I wish I had met you during your stay, but on your next visit I will make sure we show you another way to the pool and to avoid the stairs and height problem. Once again thank you, we hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Ian Moyo

Bronkhorstspruit, South Africa
Reviewed 29 September 2016

we wen there for a week and an experience I wil never forget in my life we cmng bck agin .we were at home there I think we needed two weeks there thee people of Durban and the stuff at that hotel if I can say it they on fire

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mahlangub101
First_Resorts, General Manager at The Oceanic, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great review! We are thrilled that you had a great rime and enjoyed our city, hotel and hospitality! I shared your review with the staff and encouraged them to stay "on fire!" We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards The Oceanic Management

Ladysmith, South Africa
Reviewed 12 September 2016

Staff are pleasant and check-in process is quick. Safe parking. However, the air-conditioner did not work, I reported it and was told someone will come have a look - that person never showed up. There is only a bathtub and no shower in the room.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank deanf916
First_Resorts, General Manager at The Oceanic, responded to this review

Good day Dean Thank you bringing this matter to my attention. Please be advised that we have repaired the air-conditioner and rectified the reporting structure as this clearly shows that there was miscommunication between our service department. I have noted your concern regarding bath tub as opposed to shower for future consideration. We sincerely apologise for all inconvenience caused during...

Richmond, South Africa
Reviewed 11 September 2016

We spent one night here and were pleased with the spaciousness of our unit. We loved the huge big bed and slept very well. It's situated one block back from the beachfront which is actually a good thing because it wasn't as noisy as a beachfront hotel tends to be. The staff were very pleasant and friendly. I would rate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RobandJanet
First_Resorts, General Manager at The Oceanic, responded to this review

Good day RobandJanet We are very delighted that you enjoyed staying at our Hotel, it is indeed great place for both business and pleasure. The rooms are designed to meet every client requirement, very comfortable for the whole family and spacious as well. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to your home on your next visit. Once again...

Reviewed 6 September 2016

This property is owned and operated by First Resorts, and features in a few Timeshare plans. The reception staff are professional and very friendly. Parking is affordable, and will cost you approx. R30 per night. We stayed in a four sleeper, and the following equipment and layout is present: 2 Bedrooms, 1 with a Queen bed and the other with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Santosh P
First_Resorts, General Manager at The Oceanic, responded to this review

Dear Santosh Thank you for your positive and detailed comments about our hotel and staff. We always strive to exceed our guests expectations and are are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would like you to always stay with us whenever you think of coming to Durban and once again, we as The Oceanic management and...

Centurion
Reviewed 24 August 2016

It was value for money; family room, proximity to the beach and other activities. Reception staff, excellent. Air conditioners in rooms needs upgrading though, and no single kids channel on tv yet there're family rooms...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank N2268IKdanielm
First_Resorts, General Manager at The Oceanic, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you for the good comments about our hotel. We are thrilled that you felt welcomed by our staff. Some of our air conditioners do need to be upgraded and, as of the 17th of September we will be doing a revamp and the air conditioners will be part of the revamp too. As for the children’s channels,...

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Oceanic is situated within walking distance of Durban's beachfront, a mere 35km from King Shaka International Airport. he resort offers 27 luxury high-rise apartments, a stylish restaurant offering divine Italian cuisine and room service, Jacuzzi and entertainment facilities for the whole family. Guests can gather around the communal braai and swimming pool for family fun or a social dining experience. The Oceanic is perfect for those looking to relax, soak up the sun at the on-site pool and enjoy all the fun-filled activities Durban has to offer. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Oceanic

Address: 20 John Mcintyre Road | North Beach, Durban 4001, South Africa (Formerly Don Oceanic)
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Price Range: €30 - €92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Oceanic 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Oceanic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Oceanic Hotel Durban
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Oceanic staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?