We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hilton Durban

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hilton Durban
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,320 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hilton Durban
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,230: English reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2016

As a Hilton Diamond Member, check-in/check-out is typically quick, precise, and hassle-free! For the first time in awhile this was not the case! Understandably, this was a busy week. However, 1) Losing a blazer with stored luggage 2) Business Desk person forgetting to hand back ID with credit card 3) Business Desk person lying to say that "no upgraded rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve K
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent visit. First and foremost, we sincerely apologize for the issues you had on your stay and again I am very sorry to read about your overall arrival experience and lost luggage/blazer and have addressed this with our Front Office Manager and Reservations Manager. We...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 25 July 2016

A beautiful Hotel. Great Scenery. Service could be better for fellow Africans. The room was really a treat - I had a wonderful view of the ocean, the stadium. The staff at the entrance to the hotel were a treasure - very helpful - I loved the gentleman with the decorated coat. I would stay at the Hilton Durban -...

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christina M
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for sharing your experience about your stay with us at the Hilton Durban. We are glad to note that you were satisfied with your overall accommodation and front office team and our facilities. However, I do sincerely apologize for the staff at our restaurant and if they offended you in anyway and will address this...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 25 July 2016

All staff were very helpful and accessible. I worked one day in my room, and the cleaning staff was incredibly unobtrusive, and thoughtful. Location was fine (was told it isn't safe to walk to the beach, although others clearly have), gym is well equipped, and the outdoor pool looked nice, although it was raining while I stayed, so didn't try...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RC-Cambridge
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Greetings from Hilton Durban! Thank you for your feedback which gives us a great insight into your experience in our hotel. I really appreciate your compliment about our team members & hotel services. At Hilton Durban, we aspire to provide the best in world class services, reflecting true Durban hospitality. I look forward to welcoming you to...

Johannesburg, Saudi Arabia
Reviewed 25 July 2016

The hotel is up to standard and the staff are very efficient, they well went all the way out to ensure we are happy, well checked in, mostly safe. I was even escorted to my room. keep up the good work... excellent service. Best staff. THANK YOU!

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nozizwe Z
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Greetings from Hilton Durban! Thank you so much for your great review. It was a true pleasure to have you stay with us and to learn that you went back home with great memories and our staff was world class! We hope to welcome you back soon to Hilton Durban. Yours sincerely, Markus

Lagos, Nigeria
Reviewed 25 July 2016

Hilton Hotel is a brand that delivers on its promises all the times. I will not hesitate to choose it over and over again and; would readily recommend it to others. As a Hilton Honours' member, you're treated like a king.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sunday O
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for your message. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and were treated like a king! Thank you for your recommendation to fellow TripAdvisor travelers and hoping to welcome you back soon to Hilton Durban. Yours Sincerely, Markus

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

If you are an Hilton Honours Member then everything from check inn and usage of executive lounge is great. Staff are helpful and friendly. Overall a great place to stay. Roon service is excellent. Good variety at breakfast. The staff are always looking to make you feel at home from the time you enter the hotel right untill you check...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MuhammadJ81
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property and sharing with us your wonderful experience. We strive to provide exceptional customer service for all of our guests and it is very rewarding to know our team was able to do this for you. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed 7 nights attending a conference in the ICC next door Room was in very good shape, among the most comfortable bed and pillows I have encountered Staff were without exception warm, helpful, industrious Breakfast buffet had a nice mix of local and international fare

 Report
Helpful?
Thank roy c
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest We greatly appreciate the feedback. We are incredibly thrilled to learn you had such a pleasant visit with us recently. We are happy to hear we made you feel as comfortable as possible during your visit. We look forward to seeing you in the future. Yours sincerely Markus

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 July 2016

Stayed for three nights due to business. Very warm staff and well situated hotel for what I needed in terms of transport to and from meetings. They have a good restaurant I think called The Big Easy. On!y tried it as I am a huge golf fan and its owned by Ernie Els. Very good food and service!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank simonwinters007
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for your recent stay and review! It's great to know you found our staff, Big Easy Winebar & Grill Durban by Ernie Els and the hotel's central location to your liking and to your business needs. We hope to have another chance to welcome you again in the near future. Yours sincerely Markus

Chichester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 July 2016

This is one of the best hotels in Durban! It is very central and only a short walk from the beach( The Golden Mile) It serves the best food you will have ever tasted and for sure the best Durban curry!!!!!! Enjoy!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank George B
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and for your review via tripadvisor. It is good to see that you had a pleasant time. Thanks for highlighting the great central location and great food!, which is a great motivation for all of us. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in not...

Reviewed 23 July 2016 via mobile

Spent a few nights here while in Durban. Hotel lobby is nice but rooms are old and out dated. Although they are starting the renovations. Service was poor. Location is middle of no where. Not near the beach or trendy parts of town. We were advised not to walk out of the hotel as not safe. Had to drive everywhere....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hajira D
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thanks for your detailed comments on your recent stay with us. Your feedback which is much appreciated. We were very concerned about the poor service you have encountered and will definitely discuss your comments with the responsible departmental managers. We do hope to be able to welcome you back to the Hilton Durban so you experience our...

421 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (230)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (41)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (92)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (191)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (79)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (14)
Viewed
Other (33)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.0 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.9 km away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
1.4 km away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 41 in Durban
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#13 of 41 in Durban
560 reviews
1.9 km away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#7 of 41 in Durban
426 reviews
0.5 km away
City Lodge Hotel Durban
City Lodge Hotel Durban
#14 of 41 in Durban
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Hilton Durban

Address: 12 - 14 Walnut Road, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Price Range: €92 - €237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Durban 5*
Number of rooms: 324
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Durban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Durban Hotel Durban
Hilton International Durban
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Durban
#9 Business Hotel in Durban
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hilton Durban staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Hilton Durban staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose another hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles Zakera, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a refurbished room.”
 of 5 bubbles 896geoffreys, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a renovated room.”
 of 5 bubbles rosaposer165, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for higher floors.”
 of 5 bubbles 85smangelek, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Request a high floor, away from the elevators. Don't bother with executive rooms unless it is a free upgrade.”
 of 5 bubbles Yuvan29, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5