We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani

Show Prices
#2 of 42 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Management photos
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,539 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,457: English reviews
Vereeniging, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I couldn't enjoy sleeping during my first night because the refrigerator was making a noise truly speaking I'm not used to that type of noise. the other issues on the 10th the escalator was stuck and we had to use steps.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tefosimonr
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your valuable feedback. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused by the noisy refrigerator and the elevators not working - I would like to assure you that this is not the norm and has been shared with the team for their immediate actions. We look forward...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotels were fine but the service could be better Staff in the vigour and verve are unfriendly and not very helpful- not everyone I did not like being constantly accosted by the vagrants and beggars in front of the hotels at all something needs to done about this

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Samuel V
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your valuable feedback. Please accept my sincere apologies for the lapse in service standards experienced from the staff and V&V - your feedback has been shared with the manager, who will address this with his team. We are currently working with City officials on ways in which we...

Hillcrest, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spent 3 days on conference with ActionCOACH and BEFA 2016. The staff were always attentive and assisted in every way to make our stay amazing. Assistance with the conference was great and they made every effort to ensure that all attendees were taken care of and the venue always looked great.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wart7
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your valuable feedback. I am pleased that you had a successful conference and that the conference team looked after all of the delegates. We look forward to hosting your group again soon. Regards Samantha

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I will be visiting the hotel again in January 2017, great value for money. Guests are not restricted which breakfast venue to use between Elangeni or Maharani - this makes the stay even more enjoyable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rhulaniderrickm
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. All facilities are available to all Guests, irrespective of the tower in which they are staying. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in January. Regards Samantha

Empangeni, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The only improvements needed are in as far as porter services are concerned especially when you are using under cover parking, no one helps you with luggage. the entrance from parking is not manned and is from behind the reception so it is not easy for the receptionist to see.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jabu M
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your valuable feedback. Generally we do encourage Guests to check in prior to parking, as the access from the parking to the lobby at Elangeni is limited to stairs. We will however look at ways of improving on the porter service from the parking area. We look forward...

Alicante, Spain
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After finally disembarking from the worst cruise we have ever been on, MSC Sinfonia from Venice to Durban, we were in need of some serious TLC and we certainly got it here. From the moment we stepped out of our mini bus to the day we set off for home 3 days later we were met with 5 star customer...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chris G
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am sorry to hear that you did not have a pleasant experience on the ship - but delighted that we were able to make up for it at the end of your trip. We look forward to welcoming you back when you next travel to Durban Regards Samantha

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel has a fantastic location only one block from the beach. My room was very large and nicely appointed, filled with amenities. Both the dinner buffet and breakfast were very nice and we enjoyed them.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carols01
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards Samantha

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed in the Elangeni tower of the hotel on the 16th floor for a conference I attended in Durban. The hotel is very well situated on the Golden Mile of Durban which borders the beach. The hotel is close to a number of good restaurants and coffee shops, and perfect for walking to the beach. The room was nice....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pieter K
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your valuable feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and had a good conference. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards Samantha

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

elangeni/maharani hotels.............part of tsogo sun hotels.......................management and staff......in particular samantha croft and new manageress farzana moosa (maharani hotel)..............consistently providing superior guest service..............

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mdindar
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

music at panorama bar was untasteful and disgusting and to loud( like disco style) central aircon was too cold, rooms were freezing, heating did not made a difference otherwise the stay was very nice, food was amazing

 Report
Helpful?
Thank N1931RQandreass
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your valuable feedback, which I have shared with the team. The food & beverage manager will certainly look into the music at Panorama bar. I am pleased that despite this you had a good stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards Samantha

399 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (370)
Viewed
View from Room (63)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (54)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (44)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (144)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.9 km away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 42 in Durban
1,218 reviews
1.0 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
1.1 km away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#6 of 42 in Durban
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#14 of 42 in Durban
520 reviews
0.5 km away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#10 of 42 in Durban
382 reviews
16.7 km away
Premier Hotel Pinetown
Premier Hotel Pinetown
#1 of 1 in Pinetown
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Radiating energy and elegance across the Golden Mile, Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani invites you to take your place in the sun. From the stylish bedrooms with breath-taking sea-views to the variety of restaurants and recreation facilities, visitors can look forward to the vibrancy, colour and culture of Durban's premier hotel destination offering more choice than ever before, from service and hospitality through to accommodation and dining. Absolutely everything under one sun! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani

Address: 63 OR O R Tambo Parade | North Beach, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Price Range: €128 - €324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani 4*
Number of rooms: 449
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, HRS and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Elangeni Durban
Elangeni Hotel Durban
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Durban
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
#2 Business Hotel in Durban
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Facing water on a higher floor”
 of 5 bubbles G7278NJscottc, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Prefer the Maharani hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 473michellen, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“412 was near the lifts and had a fantastic view over the bay”
 of 5 bubbles chrisgL5115YC, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Any room is good, higher rooms have better views.”
 of 5 bubbles , 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“rooms at maharani are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles srane_125311, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay