We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sir Harveys Bed & Breakfast

02/04/2017 03/04/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Sir Harveys Bed & Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

16 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 15: English reviews
Start your review of Sir Harveys Bed & Breakfast
 Click to rate
PE
Reviewed 9 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed here with my mom for 4 days - the room was beautifully decorated with two super comfy beds, plenty of hot water and aircon which was very welcome! Small touches made our stay really comfortable (like plenty of adaptors for cell phones, an umbrella, hair dryer and a stocked fridge). Sonja was so warm and welcoming without being intrusive...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pe_Baby_L
Fish Hoek, South Africa
Reviewed 30 November 2016

When Sonia saw I had a broken leg, she immediately switched my room so that I did not have to walk far from the car park or to the dining room. The staff were super friendly and the breakfasts great. Sir Harvey's is very central to everything

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pierre R
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 7 August 2016

Very disappointed after reading at the great reviews on Booking.com. I have no idea in which rooms those guests had stayed... I was booked into the Shaka room with African decor, immediately below the pool deck. Mould mould mould everywhere in corners and ceiling, mouldy smell in the room and even water seeping through the one wall! Even mould on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JanineZA
SirHarveysBandB, Owner at Sir Harveys Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Durban had those terrible floods. We are doing everything to get the room back to normal. I offered to refund the guest but she left without giving her credit card to do the refund.I am very sorry the guest did not enjoy her stay.

Mbabane, Swaziland
Reviewed 14 April 2016

The Delfie Room at Sir Harveys is a nightmare. You get woken up by 4 am due to footsteps on the floor above. And they never stop! The same thing happens from 7 pm till you fall asleep. The breakfast was not so bad, but the fruit salad gets recycled over and over. There is no internet which is supposed...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Teeboodee
Mossel Bay, South Africa
Reviewed 26 February 2016

What can I say. This place is superb and faultless. Siobhan who owns the B+B does everything possible to make sure your stay is amazing. Our 6 year old stayed with us and she did not charge us extra. The bed was so huge he slept between us. White linen sheets, puffy pillows, dstv, kitchenette this place has it all....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lainey040167
SirHarveysBandB, Owner at Sir Harveys Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to host you and I look forward to seeing you again.

Redditch, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 January 2016

Stayed here for about four nights. Really nice accommodation, nice room, tastefully decorated. Sonia was a great host. Breakfast was excellent and really nice to be sat with other guests. Location in Glenwood convenient for most things, and a few bars within walking distance, and there is a great outlook from the breakfast table. Overall, great value and recommended. Only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrTR4
SirHarveysBandB, Owner at Sir Harveys Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. I am happy to tell you we now have wifi. It was a pleasure to host you.

Midrand, South Africa
Reviewed 21 May 2015

This establishment owner brings stylish interior decorating, a substantial & hearty well presented breakfast, clean and spacious suites and well priced accommodation to bear all at the same time. Of over ten B&Bs I have stayed at in DBN area in the past year, this one certainly takes the cake! Well done Sonja, I will be back!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mark O
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 April 2015 via mobile

Wow i must say i have stayed here 3 times each year my fiance and i visit South Africa from London and we found this place through word of mouth in London and we are to return again this year cant wait to enjoy this beautiful place oh and the rooms are to die for and dont forget to enjoy...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tyler B
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

We made a last minute booking at this establishment and we were definitely not disappointed !!! The level of service we received from Sonia was unbelievable .. she was so accommodating, sweet and made sure all our requirements were met... The B&B in itself is absolutely stunning ... you will get lost in this beautifully decorated home .. as for...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Olivia J
SirHarveysBandB, Owner at Sir Harveys Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It makes me want to try harder. It was a pleasure to host you.

Munich, Germany
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed there for 2 nights in January 2014, had one room behind the main building. We arrived too early, but it was no problem as the staff already finished cleaning. Nice little pool. Breakfast was served between 6 and 9 am, which was very good. They have a nice DeLonghi coffee machine and made us fresh eggs. We had breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patricia_St_0602

37 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
02/04/2017 03/04/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
3.7 km away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#23 of 41 in Durban
170 reviews
4.9 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
4.0 km away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#4 of 41 in Durban
1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#7 of 41 in Durban
425 reviews
0.2 km away
Bali on the Ridge Bed & Breakfast
3.8 km away
Roosfontein Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sir Harvey's offers luxurious bed and breakfast accommodation in a leafy suburb. Sir Harvey's is conveniently close to the beach, the city centre, the university and hospitals. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sir Harveys Bed & Breakfast

Address: 242 JB Marks Road | Glenwood, Durban 4022, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Price Range: €45 - €71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sir Harveys Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sir Harveys Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sir Harveys Bed & Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“None as all are probably as bad as the Shaka room”
  • Even mould on the sugar sticks!
 of 5 bubbles JanineZA, 7 Aug 2016 | Read review
“ask Sonja Jarvis - she'll give the best tip”
 of 5 bubbles mamarachas, 20 May 2011 | Read review
2 of 2
Check these sites for availability
Agoda.com
Priceline
Booking.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates