We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Happy Hippo Accommodation

Save
Traveller (18)
Room & Suite (8)
Dining (3)
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent36%
  • Very good40%
  • Average13%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“rooftop bar”(29 reviews)
“nice kitchen”(3 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Airport Transportation
Rooftop Bar
Laundry Service
Rooftop Terrace
Breakfast included
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (238)
There are newer reviews for Happy Hippo Accommodation
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
206 results
Traveller rating
81
72
30
12
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
81
72
30
12
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barushaka marine worldnice kitchencommunal areasminute walktaxi ranklaundry servicesouth africadouble roomking shaka airportnice stayfeel at homereception staffrooms are cleanhostelbackpackersdorm
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
21 - 25 of 206 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2017 via mobile

Such an amazing backpackers! Great vibe, amazing and helpful staff, and just what we were looking for in a truly modern yet cultural African Backpackers. We arrived without a booking online, and since they were fully booked, and did not have dorms available, the owner...More

Thank Stig A
Response from BrooksieDurban, Owner at Happy Hippo AccommodationResponded 28 September 2017

Dear Stig A Wow! Super, super awesome to hear such great news about our hostel and staff! We are so grateful that you have chosen our hostel to host your groups! Yah, happy days all round! Thank you for sharing your experience with others! We...More

Reviewed 25 June 2017

DON'T STAY HERE! The rooms are NOT as advertised or pictured online. We had ratty old sheets and a broken dresser that were damp and mildewy. The WIFI stops working when too many people use it (ie in the evening). They host events (unrelated to...More

2  Thank Morgan B
Response from Jabulile m, Owner at Happy Hippo AccommodationResponded 5 July 2017

Dear Morgan B FACT:1. You stayed two nights and never complained to anyone working at Happy Hippo? 2. Happy Hippo Accommodation received the TripAdvisor Recommends 2017 3. A second review by Morgan B ever? We have had our fair share of fake/scam reviews in over...More

Reviewed 26 May 2017

Happy Hippo is awesome. In terms of communal areas it might be the best hostel that I've ever been to. The massive interior - like an aeroplane hangar - is perfectly designed to get people chatting during the day, and the rooftop bar is pure...More

Thank lookwhatwedone
Response from BrooksieDurban, Owner at Happy Hippo AccommodationResponded 28 September 2017

Hello lookwhatwedone, We are blushing again! "The best hostel," wow what a statement you have made! We cannot thank you enough! This is why we love doing what we do, especially when we are able to make people HAPPY! Thank you again for taking the...More

Reviewed 22 May 2017 via mobile

Overall, pleased with the facilities offered by the Happy Hippo, as a South African traveling domestically if you're looking a relatively economical place to stay when traveling then I would recommend it. The front of house staff are fantastic. The only drawback is the loud...More

Thank Calvin M
Response from BrooksieDurban, Owner at Happy Hippo AccommodationResponded 30 September 2017

Dear Calvin M Thank you so much for taking the time out to review our accommodation. We are thrilled to hear that you had a great experience with our staff! We have taken steps to adequately accommodate the rooftop functions and our clients who frequent...More

Reviewed 21 April 2017

I really like Happy Hippo Backpackers. You have a huge hall in the middle of the building with a lot of sofas and other possibilites to sit and eat or simply relax. The rooms are located around the hall. Everything is painted and decorated very...More

Thank Alina W
Response from BrooksieDurban, Owner at Happy Hippo AccommodationResponded 30 September 2017

Dear Alina W What a review! Thank you Alvina! You have made our day! It is great hearing such positive comments! I am especially impressed that you can see that we have made an effort with the decorations. This was huge in our planning as...More

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Durban, South Africa
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Airport Transportation
Laundry Service
Things to do
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$40 - US$63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Details
Price range
US$40 - US$63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (18)
Room & Suite (8)
Dining (3)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
meganfullwiler
30 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Lappies85 | Reviewed this property |
They have a in-house loundry service that is general.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"I stayed in room Zulu and there is an ensuite bathroom which was really convienient"
Read review
"Corner suites are sunny with a window and a view, some of the other rooms has no view, you look into a brick..."
Read review
"private rooms are a little cooler and quieter. Naturally."
Read review
"East side rooms have a better view of the habor"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing