We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Tekweni Backpackers Hostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Tekweni Backpackers Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

128 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 110: English reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

On numerous occasions I have stayed at Tekweni on passing business trips through Durban, hands down this has always been such a pleasurable experience. The staff are very friendly and accommodating towards guests. Tekwenis vibe is out of this world. Definitely highly reccomend to anyone wanting to stay at a rad place in Durban. Check out the extra fun activities...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marlonh760
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

What a sensational review. You definitely get us. Fantastic! We look forward to your next trip through Durbs.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here one night and would never stay again. The staff were not friendly and the morning of our stay the lady on reception was down right rude. We had a private room, the bed was uncomfortable with rubbish pillows, the bedding looked dirty, the fan was broken and the curtains were half hanging off the rails. The shared...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cazzacoley
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

We do remember your booking and it is obvious what is going on with this review. You stayed together with the person that reviewed us below "Worst experience ever". You weren't happy with your room as you stated which is fair enough. We have since gone over that room and it was not as bad as you described. It needed...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We arrive to stay one night tired after a long journey greeted by a mumbling member of staff To then shown our room by another. Fan didn't work in room Sheets dirty people who was working there woke up at 5 am and had a lovely chat outside our room all the staff was wrecked in the morning so could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben W
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

We do remember your booking and it is obvious what is going on with this review. You stayed together with the person that reviewed us above "Stay somewhere else". You weren't happy with your room as you stated which is fair enough. We have since gone over that room and it was not as bad as you described. It needed...

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Tekweni backpackers in Durban, what an absolute gem of a place. The staff were helpful, friendly and very knowledgeable but what really got me was their outgoing personalities and a genuine desire for you to have fun and enjoy yourself. The backpackers is located off Florida Road with its many bars and restaurants so your spoilt for choice whether it's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tiocfaidh
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

What an awesome review. I see you definitely feel us. Fantastic. We really hope to see you back again soon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very cool place, great atmosphere and great people. The staff are friendly and very helpful and are willing to go the extra mile. If you are in or around Durban give it a try for a great experience. Lekker

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scubasteve011
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks sooo much for the amazing review. I can see you are coming back. Fantastic!

Wisconsin
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hostel is definitely an okay place to stay if you are looking for cheap or close to Florida Road. The actual hostel is not the best though unless you are looking for a party feel and not the cleanest accommodations. A couple people I was with found bugs on their bed, the bathrooms are not very clean or nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tonisha13
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. Yes we have a fantastic location and we are very clear that we have a party feel. That is why most people stay with us. I will be honest we had an issue with our cleanliness in certain sections a few weeks back. We have had a shake up since and got stuck in with a...

Penzance, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 January 2017

We found the member of staff who checked us in to be very helpful and friendly. We asked about an indian restaurant and he gave us directions. The premises were as expected for a backpacker hostel. The duvet smelled like it had not been washed, it didn't bother us too much as the sheet was clean and we had sleeping...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank globetrotter648
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

That is horribly unfortunate. Most of the comments about Tekweni itself were very positive. Then our rating gets spoiled by obnoxious guests. I see you were with us over the holiday period and to be totally honest we went well out of our way to sift through the enquiries and put together a nice mix of peeps. Sorry we got...

Zhuhai, China
Reviewed 17 December 2016 via mobile

The hostel is known as a party place, so you can forgive its shabbiness. However the place was filthy, bedding appeared old, dirty and covered in stains and holes, floors were covered in rubbish too. We spoke to the staff who were happy to move us to another room, unfortunately this was still small, grim and definitely in need of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adi R
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Not a good review. Sorry you feel this way. We will have a closer look at things you pointed out but I really don't think filthy is an accurate description. You are entitled to your opinion on that however and unfortunately for us you are entitled to do it online so the entire world can see. I don't see any...

Reviewed 7 December 2016

Personally i can only say s.t. bout the dorm: It is very basic (no lockers, chairs, tables ecc.) but it is clean and the price is budget. They have a safe at the reception. Carmen and her whole crew were absolutely amazing; trustful, welcoming, hearty, helpful; nice, nice, nice! Thank You so much!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ronald T
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Carmen actually showed me this review basically the day you did it. She was stoked. You definitely get us. The compliments on our staff always the best. Our pride and joy. Thanks for reviewing us. We hope to see you back very soon.

Cape Town
Reviewed 23 November 2016

The room was tiny, only a wall closet, a bed and a bin. Not even enough space for two suitcases. The ceiling had many strange spots. The room smelled a bit damp (could have been because of the weather, it was raining a lot). The sheet did not fit the mattress and it was badly stained with small holes. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank natascha755
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Ouch that is one terrible review. We will look into all the stuff you mentioned. Normally our staff is our strong point and believe it or not we have strong management in place.This is an isolated incident and very sorry it happened to you. Feel free to email me on info@tekwenibackpackers.co.za should you wish to discuss this further. Patrick

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durban
3.1 km away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#33 of 41 in Durban
66 reviews
14.7 km away
Premier Hotel Pinetown
Premier Hotel Pinetown
#1 of 1 in Pinetown
222 reviews
2.5 km away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 41 in Durban
1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#7 of 41 in Durban
415 reviews
2.5 km away
City Lodge Hotel Durban
City Lodge Hotel Durban
#15 of 41 in Durban
125 reviews
3.2 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Tekweni is located in the centre of Durban's hippest entertainment area : pubs, clubs, restaurants and markets are on the doorstep. It is comprised of 3 neighbouring houses, the oldest and main house built in 1896. The hostel was established in 1992 making, it one of the first five hostels in the country and the longest established in Durban. We are close to everything, only two km to the beach and town. The various types of accommodation ramble across the 3 properties. You have the choice of staying right in the middle of the action or in one of our quieter more remote rooms away from the hustle and bustle. The rooms are comfortable and tastefully decorated all with ceiling fans. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tekweni Backpackers Hostel

Address: 169 Ninth Avenue, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Price Range: €11 - €25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Tekweni Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tekweni Backpackers Hostel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Tekweni Backpackers Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room Number 15 is extremely small”
 of 5 bubbles natascha755, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for beds in the room on the ground floor to the right as you enter for slightly better beds.”
 of 5 bubbles anonn256, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
“For a bit more privacy, ask for the flats next to the main building. More like a proper rented apartment rather than your typical hostel.”
 of 5 bubbles , 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Quieter rooms are to the front of the house”
 of 5 bubbles GavinGrierson, 15 May 2015 | Read review
“The dorms are comfortable and clean but I wouldn't recommend room 4 as it's right by the front door.”
 of 5 bubbles RosieM942, 3 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5