We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sandton Sun

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Management photos
Sandton Sun
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

710 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sandton Sun
See the most recent reviews
Showing 654: English reviews
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2016

Stayed here many times before, but back again after a long absence, the rooms have been refurbished to a high standard, very nice fixtures and fittings with all mod cons, sadly the reception staff and restaurant staff are a little ditzy, the breakfast buffet on arrival was horendous, cold and mushy eggs, mushrooms and undercooked sausages, the bacon was inedible...... More 

Helpful?
Thank BGA70
PeterDavidson01, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay. I was, however, disappointed to hear that a few things throughout your stay did not meet expectations. I have personally communicated your concerns to the relevant line managers who will ensure that corrective measures are put in place to avoid this... More 

Sao Bernardo Do Campo, SP
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2016

The hotel is great and beautiful. Room is very comfortable. Staff is very well prepare to attend to your every need. Johannesburg has many tourist attractions and the concierge is able to help you decide were to go and make arrangements for you to get there in the best way possible. Then even have transportation for some of the attractions.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Caue A
PeterDavidson01, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your five star review. I am pleased to hear that you had a comfortable stay with us. We take pride in catering to our guests' needs the best way we can. We are constantly looking for ways in which we can improve so if there is anything further however small which you feel would... More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2016

This is the second time I have stayed at the hotel but 10 years apart. All rooms were refurbished last year and are very high quality with all the comforts you could want and technology to match. International & Africa plug sockets, USB power sockets so you do not need to bring your adaptors and effective Air Conditioning. Only reason... More 

Helpful?
Thank S B
PeterDavidson01, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations. Our hotel aims to provide a truly unique experience, and we are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations. It is vitally important for us to hear your views as it is through this... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2016 via mobile

Excellent rooms, top service from friendly staff and superb food - first time so far anyone has asked me how runny id like the yolk in my poached egg. If it had a decent inhouse gym rather than the partner one at the intercontinental i dont think id stay anywhere else

Helpful?
Thank NickyBoyC
PeterDavidson01, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review and for giving us a perfect score. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our newly refurbished rooms and that staff had a positive impact on your stay. Your thoughts are of vital importance to us as we use these to evaluate and improve on services we offer as well as... More 

Henfield, West Sussex
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2016 via mobile

Myself and two work colleagues stayed here whilst visiting Johannesburg for work. The hotel is connected to a high end shopping centre which you can walk through to Nelson Mandela Square where there are restaurants. The hotel was really clean, rooms lovely, staff very efficient and polite. I would definitely go again. Such a great base and a great experience.

Helpful?
Thank Beksea
PeterDavidson01, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review

Dear Beksea, Thank you for your feedback and also for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun. I am delighted to hear that you had such a memorable stay. Your views are of utmost importance to us and I appreciate your positive comments about the hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards Peter Davidson General... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2016

Have stayed at the Sandton Sun frequently over the past 10 years. First time in the refurbished rooms. Everything was very good except that someone decided to purchase cheap security latches for the doors. When I opened the door and forgot to undo the latch the metal tore off but the screws and base was intact. Incomprehensible that they can... More 

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank OldTitan
PeterDavidson01, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for giving us a perfect rating and for your review. I am glad to hear that overall you had a pleasant stay. Your thoughts are of vital importance to us as we use these to evaluate and improve on services we offer as well as incorporating the needs of our guests in changes we make... More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2016

Sandton Sun is one of the few hotels that has maintained the quality of service since my last visit in 2012. From the courteous welcome, to the considerate staff to the final checkout - there is warmth in their hospitality. I had stayed with family at this hotel in 2012, and am happy to report there service has just as... More 

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Abida A
PeterDavidson01, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review

Dear Abida A, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am glad to hear that your experience with us was a memorable one. I'm sure our entire hotel staff enjoyed catering to your needs as much as your enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon. Kind Regards... More 

Saratoga, California
1 review
Reviewed 22 May 2016

This hotel has recently been refurbished and now the rooms and environment is equal to the great service and care shown by the hotel staff .What an absolute pleasure it is to stay there and the care and attention to detail for our conference,corporate dinners was exceptional. Our company loyalty is confirmed every time we go there . Well done... More 

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank rogetu
PeterDavidson01, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your positive comments and for giving us a perfect rating. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. Our hotel aims to provide a truly unique experience, and I am thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.... More 

Cape Town
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2016 via mobile

The mere size of the hotel is daunting, and when you see the cleanliness and attention to detail in the rooms, it is impressive. Have stayed in 3 different room types and all were equally stylish and clean. Super comfortable. Service great, when I phoned for an iron it took mere minutes. Breakfast spread is really impressive, a very large... More 

Helpful?
Thank justordinarypeople
PeterDavidson01, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun. I am delighted to hear that you had a memorable experience. We take pride in catering to our guests' needs the best way we can. I look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Kind Regards Peter Davidson... More 

DC
Level Contributor
87 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2016

The Sandton Sun is a lovely hotel, particularly if you are traveling for business. Connected to the Mall - amenities are convenient. Customer service is good to great on all fronts. Breakfast is lovely. Spa services are pricey, but worth it.

Helpful?
Thank tennismomma
PeterDavidson01, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review and kind comments. I am glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay. We are on the constant look out for ways in which we can enhance your time with us. If you found anything that would have made your time with us more comfortable, or perhaps we could include in... More 

233 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (211)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.3 km away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 48 in Sandton
825 reviews
0.1 km away
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
0.2 km away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
0.3 km away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.7 km away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of Johannesburg's business district and connected to the most luxurious shopping centre in the city, the hotel offers 5-star accommodation and a range of business and leisure facilities to all travellers, including state-of-the-art boardrooms, conference and banquet facilities. The menus at the award-winning restaurants are seasonal and sustainable while the outdoor deck offers breath-taking views of the city. Everything from a sundowner deck to a luxurious spa can be found under one roof, highlighting accessibility and connectivity ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sandton Sun

Address: Cnr Fifth & Alice Lane, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Price Range: €163 - €238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandton Sun 5*
Number of rooms: 326
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Sandton Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandton Sun Hotel Sandton
Sun Hotel Sandton
Sandton Sun Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
#9 Business Hotel in Sandton
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sandton Sun staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Gateshead, United Kingdom
6 months ago
Kuwait City, Kuwait
1 month ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Sandton Sun staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on the higher floors have a great view”
 of 5 bubbles dki2015, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“all rooms are great”
 of 5 bubbles lecalabash, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The higher the floor, the better the view especially since the views are incredible.”
 of 5 bubbles j47737, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Bar and restaurant are on the sixth floor. Get a room much higher up.”
 of 5 bubbles donnab359, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“choose junior suite, very spacious”
 of 5 bubbles yusufi111, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay