We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sandton Sun

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Management photos
Sandton Sun
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

710 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 654: English reviews
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My stay was comfortable. stress-free. Staff were friendly and helpful but it was never overwhelming. Security was good but not overt. it helped that I had direct access to the convention centre and mall without having to leave the hotel. I also received useful tips from staff regarding taxis.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank 644stanleyh
Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Loved the room and it's amenities including a nespresso machine and a mini bar. The restaurant offered a variety of options for meals. Service was reasonably good. And the hotel was nestled into the Sandton Mall.

Helpful?
Thank dki2015
PeterDavidson01, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your five star review. I am delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us, and that you enjoyed our newly refurbished rooms and amenities. We are on the constant look out for ways in which we can enhance your time with us. If you found anything that would have made your... More 

Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hotel was nicely located , actually connected to a huge shopping mall. It was only 15 minutes by train from the airport and the hotel provided a very efficient pick up from the station with a super friendly driver. Check in was not up to standard as the receptionist could not find my booking even though she had my... More 

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank lawminjc
PeterDavidson01, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun and for sharing your experience with us. I am glad to hear that you had pleasant experience overall. I am most disappointed that you found the check in process not to the standards expected and please accept my personal apologies for this. I have communicated your... More 

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

The rooms have been renovated recently and are quite lovely. Tasteful grey interiors. Mini fridge and coffee maker / hot kettle in room are a lovely touch. The dining options are nice and the hotel is connected to the mall which is super convenient. Would definitely return.

Helpful?
Thank NadiraHasra
PeterDavidson01, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review

Dear NadiraHasra, Thank you for your review and for giving us a perfect score. Our hotel aims to provide a truly unique experience, and I am thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards Peter Davidson General Manager More 

Windhoek, Namibia
1 review
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

very modern room design, all very functional, good sound insulation, great service. Business centre a bit disappointing. Very good access to the shopping mall and Mandela square, all very convenient. Spa facilities in house also very good and affordable. very recommendable

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank heiko409
PeterDavidson01, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted to hear that overall you had a pleasant stay with us. We are on the constant look out for ways in which we can enhance your time with us. If you found anything that would have made your time with us more comfortable, or perhaps we could include in... More 

Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Loved the place for the Interior representation ,the architects view of abstract the huge chandelier, the space the rooms offered and the proximity to the mall.More cupboard space for people who live longer would be great. The staff was friendly.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank 956ashutoshj
PeterDavidson01, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for the feedback following your visit. I am glad to hear that you found our location and Chandelier to your liking. Your thoughts are of vital importance to us as we use these to evaluate and improve on services we offer as well as incorporating the needs of... More 

Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for a couple of days on a business trip. Very nice rooms: clean, well stocked mini bar and good WiFi. Breakfast area and food were also enjoyable. However, if you enjoy a nice swim, do not stay here: pool was very badly maintained (borderline filthy!), no pool towels, waiters nonexistent. Other than that, a nice... More 

Helpful?
Thank abilli
PeterDavidson01, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your feedback. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations and your breakfast experience. Please accept my sincere apologies that you found the pool area to be below expectations. This is not the standard we expect or strive for and it is disappointing that we have missed this opportunity during your stay.... More 

Rockanje, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Seating outside on terrace with nice view on central Jo'burg. Restaurant accessible from shopping mall. Good menu with variation of options; and good range of wines. Had a wonderful dinner for a reasonable price. Personnel was not bad, but had better experiences in SA.

Helpful?
Thank Richard O
PeterDavidson01, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review

Dear Richard O, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, I am glad to hear that overall you had a pleasant experience. Your thoughts are of vital importance to us as we use these to evaluate and improve on services we offer as well as incorporating the needs of our guests in changes we make... More 

Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stay a couple of nights on my first trip to RSA. Staff were friendly and polite, room was well appointed with a great rain shower. The terrace bar was a great place to hangout during the day and the mall adjoining was an easy way to get about the local restaurants and shops.

Helpful?
Thank Kevin R
PeterDavidson01, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review

Dear Kevin R, Thank you for your great five star review and for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun on your first trip to South Africa. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay as we aim to provide a truly unique experience, and are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations. I look... More 

East London, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

I received a warm welcome at the hotel on arrival. The hotel experience was great and the room was spotlessly clean. The breakfast was great. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone else visiting Sandton.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank maselinot
PeterDavidson01, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your feedback! I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our hotel aims to provide a truly unique experience, and I am thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards Peter Davidson General Manager More 

233 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (211)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.3 km away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 48 in Sandton
826 reviews
0.1 km away
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
0.2 km away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
0.3 km away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.7 km away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of Johannesburg's business district and connected to the most luxurious shopping centre in the city, the hotel offers 5-star accommodation and a range of business and leisure facilities to all travellers, including state-of-the-art boardrooms, conference and banquet facilities. The menus at the award-winning restaurants are seasonal and sustainable while the outdoor deck offers breath-taking views of the city. Everything from a sundowner deck to a luxurious spa can be found under one roof, highlighting accessibility and connectivity ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sandton Sun

Address: Cnr Fifth & Alice Lane, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Price Range: €162 - €238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandton Sun 5*
Number of rooms: 326
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Sandton Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandton Sun Hotel Sandton
Sun Hotel Sandton
Sandton Sun Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
#9 Business Hotel in Sandton
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sandton Sun staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Gateshead, United Kingdom
6 months ago
Kuwait City, Kuwait
1 month ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Sandton Sun staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on the higher floors have a great view”
 of 5 bubbles dki2015, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“all rooms are great”
 of 5 bubbles lecalabash, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The higher the floor, the better the view especially since the views are incredible.”
 of 5 bubbles j47737, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Bar and restaurant are on the sixth floor. Get a room much higher up.”
 of 5 bubbles donnab359, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“choose junior suite, very spacious”
 of 5 bubbles yusufi111, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay