We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa

Show Prices
#14 of 49 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

324 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 309: English reviews
Wilderness, South Africa
Reviewed 14 February 2017

Perfectly located in a leafy garden setting. Understatedly stylish and very spacious individually styled rooms. Wonderful menu choices and quality wines. I had a lovely 4 day stay. 'From a distance' quite perfect. But the experience was tainted by... My room - inadequate wardrobe space, damaged bathroom tiles, top hinge of toilet door loose and coming out of the wall,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank peter s
Michael_Kewley1, General Manager at Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. It is with great sadness that we acknowledge your Fairlawns experience and can assure you that this is not considered to be Fairlawns standards. A thorough investigation is underway and Senior Management will contact you shortly to discuss in detail. We look forward to an opportunity...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 6 February 2017

Definitely one of my favorite hotels in Johannesburg. Centrally located in the heart of Sandton, which makes getting around easy and effortless. The gardens and facilities are well kept and the staff is absolutely incredible. Comes highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Llywellyn Full D
Michael_Kewley1, General Manager at Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. Your kind comments about our incredible staff and well kept facilities was appreciated, and will be shared with the Team. As a five star establishment, we strive for more and therefore thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to an...

Memphis, United States
Reviewed 2 February 2017 via mobile

The hotel is in a very nice neighborhood but away from restaurants and urban activity. The spa is very nice and priced reasonably. The restaurant was very good and not overly pricy. The room was very large. The hotel is divided up into several elegantly styled buildings that are a short walk from the office and restaurant. The staff was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank G P
Michael_Kewley1, General Manager at Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your wonderful comments about our friendly and helpful staff was greatly appreciated, and will be shared with the team. As a five star establishment we strive for more and value your feedback as it allows us to reward excellence and improve our standards. We look forward to an...

Guernsey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 January 2017 via mobile

Our two night stay was excellent in very nearly every aspect; excellent well equipped and spacious room, first class food, grounds and overall ambiance. The staff were especially attentive, particularly at the front desk and drivers. Our only complaint is that the hotel is, as it says, relatively intimate (small) and it is therefore difficult to avoid the occasionally loud...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wayne B
Michael_Kewley1, General Manager at Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. Your feedback about our great service and attentive staff was greatly appreciated, and will be shared with the team. As a five star establishment we strive for excellence, and therefore thrilled to know that you had such a memorable experience. We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 19 January 2017

We celebrated a birthday event on the hotel's terrace and had dinner in the restaurant. This is a very special place.The reception, service and food was of the highest standard. The room we overnighted in was perfect in all respects. We also found the breakfast to be most enjoyable. I cannot think of any negative comment to make about our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Herman W
Michael_Kewley1, General Manager at Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. Your wonderful comments about our Restaurant and the service provided was greatly appreciated and will be shared with the team. We value your feedback as it allows us to improve our standards and reward excellence. We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to...

St Andrews
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

This is one of the best hotels we have stayed in. True five star service. Restaurant is excellent for both breakfast and dinner. Staff are friendly, efficient and very professional. Well equipped gym. Good swimming pool and outdoor space. We had a villa suite which was extremely spacious.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SandraSStAndrews
Michael_Kewley1, General Manager at Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you kindly for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. Your wonderful comments about our excellent Restaurant and very professional staff was greatly appreciated and will be shared with the team. As a five star establishment, we strive for more and therefore thrilled to know that we have met your expectations. We look forward to...

Lusaka, Zambia
Reviewed 26 December 2016

One of the best hotels I have stayed in regarding hospitality and quality. Staff at reception, spa even the drivers were attententive and all excellent! Keep up the good work. Definitely will come back and recommend to others. Very spacious rooms with beautiful interior design. Good location, nice grounds and shuttle services were great.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Happytraveler_gms
Michael_Kewley1, General Manager at Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. As a 5 star establishment, we strive for excellence and therefore thrilled to know that you enjoyed staying with us. Your kind comments about our spacious suites and great shuttle services was most appreciated and will most definitely be shared with the...

Roodepoort, South Africa
Reviewed 13 December 2016

Our booking was for 3 PM. When we got to the hotel at 2:50, the staff was confused as to which table would be ours. The table did not seem to be ready yet – only 6 cups and 1 tea spoon, instead of 7 cups. No side plates, no sugar bowl, no serviettes, and worst of all: a pile...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank edeklerk2016
Michael_Kewley1, General Manager at Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. It is with great sadness that we acknowledge your High Tea experience and the level of service you received during your visit. We would like to assure you that this is by no means considered our standard and a thorough investigation will be conducted. The relevant...

Johannesburg
Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed for one night and never had a more peaceful sleep. The property looks and feels extremely luxurious. From the walkway that takes you from the parking lot to the reception area, you feel most welcomed. Once you enter the property, you would swear that you are inside the best decorated 5 star hotel at the centre of Paris or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie_RSA
Michael_Kewley1, General Manager at Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. Your kind comments about our exceptional and very professional staff was greatly appreciated, and will be shared with the Team. With regards to the air conditioner, we will most definitely make it a priority to sort out. We value your feedback, and thrilled to know that...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 9 December 2016

What sets Fairlaws apart from other 5 star hotels in Johannesburg is the fact that you don't feel as if you are in one of the biggest and busiest cities in South Africa. The stunning gardens compliment the beautiful buildings where the general areas and suites are located. A true oasis in the heart of Johannesburg! We stay at many...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Renier F
Michael_Kewley1, General Manager at Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. Your kind remarks about our Beautiful Hotel was much appreciated. I am also thrilled to know that we have met all your expectations, and that you had such a memorable stay with us. As a five star establishment, we value your feedback as it will help...

250 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (201)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (81)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandton
5.3 km away
Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
9.6 km away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 70 in Johannesburg
677 reviews
3.6 km away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 49 in Sandton
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
AtholPlace Hotel & Villa
2.9 km away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 49 in Sandton
1,191 reviews
11.0 km away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast included
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa is a unique and exclusive five-star sanctuary for today's business or leisure traveller. Conveniently situated in the Sandton suburb of Morningside Manor, major business hubs and shopping centers are a mere 4km away. The 40 luxurious suites are each individually decorated to the highest world standards with the Presidential Suite playing host to many local and international celebrities. Also on offer, is the popular Villa Residence (2 rooms, Lounge, Dining Room and private pool), perfect for families. A sought after conference centre, fully equipped gym, Balinese spa and superb a la carte restaurant complete the full range of guest services. In addition, the hotel offers complimentary transfers to the Sandton Shopping District. Airport transfers and transfers to other areas can be arranged at an additional cost. Golfers will not be disappointed as Fairlawns has an arrangement with the nearby Johannesburg Country Club, which offers two world-class golf courses. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa

Address: 1 Alma Road | (Off Bowling Avenue), Sandton 2090, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Price Range: €247 - €2,708 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairlawns Boutique Hotel And Spa
The Fairlawns Boutique Hotel Sandton
Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa Sandton, Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#4 Business Hotel in Sandton
#5 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#12 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our Room 5 was a distance from the main lodge but nothing too cumbersome. The room was large and the bathroom spacious.”
 of 5 bubbles A_regular_traveler57, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We were celebrating wedding anniversaries and was welcomed with a couples massage and a bottle of wine, fresh fruit and water in the room.”
 of 5 bubbles francisandconstancet, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All are excellent”
 of 5 bubbles 112peters, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't go to the hotel for High Tea - the service is bad!”
 of 5 bubbles edeklerk2016, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The Courtyard Suites are amazing!”
 of 5 bubbles renierf, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5