We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Gallo Manor Country Lodge

Agoda.comUS$91*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Gallo Manor Country Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

102 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Gallo Manor Country Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 95: English reviews
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 May 2015

Beautiful location, beautiful rooms, immaculately clean and such a relaxing oasis. Staff are brilliant and can't do enough for you, but without being overwhelming. Would thoroughly recommend as a place to visit for business or pleasure. Lynne especially works to very high standards to ensure all guests have a superb stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
Lynne T, Owner at Gallo Manor Country Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your valued comments. We are thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful stay in South Africa.

Kampala, Uganda
Reviewed 3 March 2015

I was very impressed to say the least. i tried other guesthouses in the area and I must say the country lodge offered the best value. It's rooms are greatly priced and spacious. The owner was kind enough to offer me a ride to the place I was visiting which was about 5 minutes away. I would love to visit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emmanuel M
Lynne T, Owner at Gallo Manor Country Lodge, responded to this review

We thank you for your valued comments and look forward to meeting you again in the future.

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 February 2015

We enjoyed our third and fourth all-too-brief stays at the Gallo Manor Country Lodge during January 2015. We have tended to use this establishment as a stop-over when travelling between other locations in South Africa but we enjoy our stays so much that the next time we will try to spend more time there - if only to have a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barrie47
Lynne T, Owner at Gallo Manor Country Lodge, responded to this review

It is such a joy for us to hear that you enjoyed your brief visit to Gallo Manor Lodge. Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we look forward to your return in 2017. Regards Lynne

Reviewed 29 January 2015 via mobile

I loved my stay of 2 days, I stayed in the Emerald room and loved it and I will go back any day. It is in a nice closed off area, very friendly staff and quiet area, 3km away from MHPSA head office, little traffic and close to everything. My room had a kitchenette and a lovely bathroom, big comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicolette d
Lynne T, Owner at Gallo Manor Country Lodge, responded to this review

We are please that you appreciated the tranquillity experienced at Gallo Manor.

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 22 January 2015

An excellent place to stay in Johannesburg. Very conveniently situated near the motorway and not too far from Sandton City. Lovely gardens and well-appointed rooms. Lynne Taylor, the owner, is very helpful and her staff are competent and friendly. The only drawback is that parking could get a bit tight if the Lodge is full. We didn't have a problem...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johndssmith
Lynne T, Owner at Gallo Manor Country Lodge, responded to this review

We that you for your review and are pleased that enjoyed your stay

Cape Town
Reviewed 23 September 2014

I stayed for one night for business and was sorry to have to leave. Lynne was a charming host from booking right through to check out. She was attentive and willing to go out of her way for a guest who was only spending one night. For example, I needed 100kg of boxes delivered for my business trip, which she...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CVP002
Lynne T, Owner at Gallo Manor Country Lodge, responded to this review

We thank you for sharing your Gallo Manor experience. It is of great importance to us, that we meet the need of our guests.

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I cannot praise enough how welcome I've been made to feel by Lynne and her staff. Beautiful lodge and nothing was too much trouble. Wonderful bedrooms and grounds . Will definitely be coming back should we be this way again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlie672013
Lynne T, Owner at Gallo Manor Country Lodge, responded to this review

We are pleased that you appreciated the true Gallo Manor hospitality and trust that you will feel free to visit us again.

gatorgirl515
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Lynn is a lovely host and the house is beautiful! Rooms and bathrooms are large and very comfortable. She really goes out of her way to accommodate. You will need a driver because nothing is walkable but she suggested a great service that we enjoyed. Overall recommend!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gatorgirl515
Lynne T, Owner at Gallo Manor Country Lodge, responded to this review

We appreciate your comments as it is of great value to us.

Magoebaskloof, South Africa
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Located on the edge of the JHB Country Club golf course this makes the residence and pretty gardens very quiet. Easy driving distance from local shops and about 10-15 minutes from Sandton City centre. The staff and owners are lovely and friendly, the breakfasts were good. Rooms are well appointed. But that's where it stopped. I was disappointed that my...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Vivrelife
Lynne T, Owner at Gallo Manor Country Lodge, responded to this review

We are mindful that reviews are the opinion of the individual and have taken into account that at no stage during your stay any mention was made of the negative feed back reported in your review. It is unfortunate that we can therefore neither defend or accept that your comments are true. I would recommend that in future whilst travelling,...

Snohomish
Reviewed 5 March 2014

This would be an excellent B & B if you have transportation because it is in a very nice, secure, gated, residential area but quite a distance from restaurants. Lynn is a great hostess trying to meet the needs of each of her guests. We did not have transportation so she offered to drive us to the local shopping center...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank kakeeter
Lynne T, Owner at Gallo Manor Country Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your valued coment. It is always a great joy hosting our guests

18 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
5.9 km away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
5.6 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
5.5 km away
Park Inn Sandton
Park Inn Sandton
#27 of 48 in Sandton
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#4 of 48 in Sandton
908 reviews
1.8 km away
CedarWoods of Sandton
CedarWoods of Sandton
#19 of 48 in Sandton
103 reviews
8.5 km away
Hyde Park Villas
Hyde Park Villas
#4 of 74 in Sandton
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled between Rivonia, Sunninghill and Woodmead, bordering the prestigious Johannesburg Country Club Golf Course. This popular Guesthouse boasts a secure, tranquil touch of luxury associated with a relaxed homely feel. We pride ourselves on superb excellence in service, and uphold high hospitality standards. Gallo Manor, a Guesthouse of distinction and style, awaits you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gallo Manor Country Lodge

Address: 23 Canterbury Crescent | Gallo Manor, Sandton 2191, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Price Range: €62 - €93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gallo Manor Country Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gallo Manor Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gallo Manor Country Lodge Sandton, Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Gallo Manor Country Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Gallo Manor Country Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are well situated.”
HGP786, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in two different rooms and they were both great,,,,”
whitney756, 28 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Out of Africa”
X8807DEsarahc, 26 May 2015 | Read review
“The garden rooms are superb.”
Barrie47, 26 Feb 2015 | Read review
“The neighbour's aircon was audible from our room (Venezia).”
Johndssmith, 21 Jan 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
US$91* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates