We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

603 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road
See the most recent reviews
Showing 518: English reviews
florence
Reviewed 7 May 2015

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Sandton for a week, because my company held an event there. The facilities are ok, the rooms are big and comfortable enough, however the level of service and attention to customer is just not satisfactory. The personnel at reception desk is rude, most of the times incompetent and not flexible at all. They charged...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lenifi
GRHIS, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review

Dear "Lenifi" It is with great disappointment that I read about your ordeal regarding you recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Hotel Sandton. At the Holiday Inn Sandton we strive to ensure that we provide our guests with the best service and comfort, however it seems that the service you had received from us has let you down....

Hampshire
Reviewed 5 May 2015

I stayed in this hotel pre an Intrepid tour. The staff were friendly and helpful. The food in the restaurant was reasonable and reasonably priced, quick service too. Room wise the rooms were quite drab and dark inside - the bed linen however was very soft. The twin room we were given had quite a small bathroom. Good Wifi in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank simplyme4
GRHIS, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review

Dear "simplyme4" Thank you for your lovely review of the Holiday Inn Sandton, and for recommending us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and the service received by all staff which you encountered. We do pride ourselves on friendly service, and it is great to know that we delivered this during your stay. We are...

Lagos, Nigeria
Reviewed 29 April 2015

Stayed for a week in the hotel. Serene and cool environment with little or no noise at all. Good for business visits. Will not recommend for a romantic getaway. Food was below average and too conventional. Internet was very fast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Akinwale O
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review

Dear Akinwale O, Thank you for your considerate review of our hotel. We take all feedback from our guests seriously. It helps us gauge what we are doing right and what we need to improve on. We have taken note of your comments regarding the food and will forward these to the appropriate department. We are confident that they will...

Malabo, equatorial guinea
Reviewed 27 April 2015

The rooms were nice, and the location is very good. You can walk to the mall, or around Sandton. The views are actually to other hotels and buildings, nothing special. I would definetly stayed there on my next trip.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mariae863
GRHIS, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review

Dear "mariae863" Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comment and share your experience with other travelers. We are delighted to learn that you were pleased with your stay and were satisfied with our service and facilities. The hotel location is great indeed, so close to the mall, we are happy to know you enjoyed it!...

Reviewed 18 April 2015 via mobile

Stayed twice at this hotel during my business trips to JNB. Well located in the center of Sandton, very close to the train station and all commercial areas. Hotel is your usual Holiday Inn, but on the higher scale side of it. Rooms are large with large bath rooms. Beds were fine and room had everything you need. Breakfast has...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Erannn
GRHIS, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review

Dear "Erannn" Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Sandton and for taking the time to let us have your positive comments regarding your recent stay! Good to hear that you enjoyed the very central location as well as our facilities. From the food and beverage department we thank you for the positive feedback in regards to the buffet breakfast...

Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed 14 April 2015 via mobile

Smelly rooms. Tardy service. One one occasion the room fridge was not working. On another, I enquired whether my loyalty programme membership had been processed, and the lady could not answer, and never phoned back to my room as promised. Consistently not a good experience.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John O
GRHIS, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review

Dear "John O" I am most concerned to hear of your recent negative experience with us. We have discussed your valuable feedback, obtained detailed reporting on the events and taken the necessary corrective action. Please accept our sincere apology for the discomfort caused. Whilst we have failed to meet your expectations on this occasion, we certainly hope for an opportunity...

Canton of Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewed 9 April 2015

I've stayed at this hotel twice in the past few months. I find it to be comfortable, secure and a good value. Rooms are in good condition with all expected amenities. There is a nice bar on the top floor (9th?) with a clear view of Sandton...which unfortunately includes a lot of construction at the moment. Room service food is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sotoole01
GRHIS, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review

Dear "sotoole01" Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Sandton and for taking the time to let us have your positive comments regarding your recent stay! Good to hear that you enjoyed the very central location as well as our facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Sandton on your next visit. Kind Regards Nonku...

Berkel en Rodenrijs, The Netherlands
Reviewed 3 April 2015 via mobile

Staying in any hotel in the Sandton area is nowadays a bit avarage, because of all the construction sites and the noise that comes along. Personally I prefer the Sandton Sun hotel over Holiday Inn. The hotel is quite nice. Clean and good beds. Everything according to expectation. The concierge services were below avarage. Ordering a cab to go to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harry_18_till_I_die
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review

Dear Harry_18_till_I_die, Thank you for leaving a comprehensive review, highlighting not only the bad but also the good. I am pleased you liked our rooms and our cozy beds. However, I am sorry to hear the concierge service was not up to the standards you expected. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to...

Europe
Reviewed 27 March 2015

This hotel is conveniently located in a couple of ways. Very close to the Sandton Gautrain station (2 minutes' drive) and also to Sandton City shopping mall (same). The rooms are nice, with comfortable beds and a good sized bathroom. There is plenty of underground parking. On the negative side, the rooftop pool is a little small and disappointing. There...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank djbenedict
Reviewed 22 March 2015 via mobile

As a person who does a lot of travelling, I pay a lot of attention to detail and Holiday Inn Sandton is a hotel that impresses me in every way. From arrival to departure I experience first class service. I highly recommend this hotel and I give it a ☆☆☆☆☆ rating.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shawn B
GRHIS, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review

Dear Shawn B, Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback, and it is always an absolute pleasure to read such great comments from our most valued guests. We are delighted that you had a fantastic stay with us and we will ensure to keep the same level of service on your next visit. Thank...

204 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (162)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.2 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
0.1 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
0.6 km away
Garden Court Sandton City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.5 km away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 48 in Sandton
827 reviews
0.9 km away
Park Inn Sandton
Park Inn Sandton
#23 of 48 in Sandton
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Sandton , Rivonia Road located in the heart of Gauteng's corporate, financial and shopping mecca. This cosmopolitan hotel is in close proximity to OR Tambo International Airport, and 500 metres away from the Sandton Gautrain station. Close to numerous attractions such as the Sandton Convention Centre, Sandton City Shopping Centre and Nelson Mandela Square, Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road provides the ultimate accommodation in Sandton for any business or leisure guest. Our lobby features glittering handmade chandeliers and a 10 metre long fireplace were one can relax and surf the complimentary wireless Internet available to all guests. Within the lobby is our Chairman's bar, the perfect spot to grab a hot cup of coffee and a deliciously fresh pastry before you start your day. Indulge in a full hotel continental breakfast buffet at our Lettuce & Lime Restaurant, or enjoy a delectable meal from our a la carte menu paired with a bottle from our extensive wine list. Our state of the art conferencing facilities and professional service combine to make Holiday Inn Sandton, Rivonia Road one of the most sought conference and meeting venues in Sandton. The hotel also has a 24-hour self-service Business Centre, and 7 meeting rooms which can cater for up to 200 people, including 3 conferencing rooms on the 9th floor surrounded by stunning views of the surrounding area. Our 9th floor is also the location of our famous Skye Bar and swimming pool.Our friendly staff are always welcoming and professional, working around the clock to make your Holiday Inn stay as comfortable and memorable as possible. We pride ourselves in our excellent 24 hour room service menu as well as our amazing travel desk, which offers local attraction tips and sight seeing tours."Stay Appreciated" ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road

Address: 123 Rivonia Road, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Price Range: €90 - €139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road 4*
Number of rooms: 301
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Agoda and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road Hotel Sandton
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Sandton
#17 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Cape Town, South Africa
3 months ago
Mutare, Mashonaland East, Zimbabwe

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room size and amenities”
 of 5 bubbles qtmcalpine, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room facing away from the construction site next door.”
 of 5 bubbles DeeSigma, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“they are building right now ( Sept 2016 so ask to be on other side”
 of 5 bubbles FayeJohannesburg, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a room away from the construction site next door.”
 of 5 bubbles AJKPerth, 27 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a east facing room”
 of 5 bubbles LOUIS-THE-LAWYER, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay