We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

611 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road
See the most recent reviews
Showing 524: English reviews
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 June 2015

I stayed at the Hotel when I was in Johannesburg for business in May 2015. My stay there was memorable. Apart from the food which was good, they have some members of staff who are excellent and very courteous when delivering customer service. I forgot my suit in the wardrobe of my room and the DHL office was very tardy...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bukola2015
GRHIS, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Sandton Hotel. We are pleased to know that we were able to provide you with a level of comfort that was above your expectations. I have shared the wonderful feedback with Mr Nikola Jelenovic, who is delighted to hear that he was able...

London, UK
Reviewed 7 June 2015

Overall not a bad Holiday Inn. Room was fine, although a bit spartan. Had the usual amenities, bathroom OK size, beds good, desk for working OK. When booking you should be aware that there is major construction going on right next to one side of the hotel. The construction starts at 06:30 every weekday, and they also work on Sundays...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank polar_b
GRHIS, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review

Dear "polar_b" Thank you for your overall positive feedback, it is highly appreciated. We are delighted to hear that our level of service exceeded you expectations. The hotel is indeed ideally located close to Sandton city and Nelson Mandela square, and in a very safe area. We are also pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast and freshly squeezed juice. However...

Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 June 2015

Ok hotel, nice staff except the unfriendly barman on the top floor, poor exec lounge and A MASSIVE CONSTRUCTION SITE THAT WOKE EVERYBODY UP AT 6 AM! Hotel entirely unapologetic about having put three flight crewing rooms 20metres from heavy machinery. Please check about this construction before even considering coming here.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Phil D
GRHIS, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review

Dear "Phil D" Thank you for taking time to share your experience on your most recent stay with us. Whilst we appreciate your wonderful comments about the hotel and the staff, we are equally disappointed to hear about your experience regarding the construction site next to the hotel. It is a really unfortunate situation and we look forward to it...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 May 2015

I stayed as part of a group of British companies visiting hospitals and healthcare sites in the region alongside a healthcare conference at the Gallagher estate. I will be returning with a different group of clients next year as the staff really made this hotel. It is well located, clean, well equipped rooms and well serviced. The only negative was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tom E
GRHIS, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review

Dear "Trigger85" Thank you for taking time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Sandton Hotel. We are pleased to know that we were able to provide you with a level of comfort that was above your expectations. I have commended Cherish for making your stay with us a very pleasant one with her warm,...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 21 May 2015

I stayed at the Holiday Inn for one night while on a business trip to Jhb, overall it's not bad, although not outstanding. The staff were competent, bedroom was quite adequate, clean and comfortable, as was the bathroom, and breakfast was good. The hotel is very busy and as other writers have mentioned there is a lot of construction going...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChrisCorbet
GRHIS, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review

Dear "ChrisCorbet" Thank you so much for taking the time to provide some valuable feedback on your stay at Holiday Inn Sandton hotel. It is only through feedback like this that we endeavor to provide excellent service. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. We will extend your warm feedback to the staff on...

Pune
Reviewed 12 May 2015

Spent about 4 days in this hotel recently and overall had a very pleasant experience. Got an upgrade to a room while checking in and appreciated it. Staff is overall courteous though very slow and do get hassled if you are in a hurry. Breakfast spread is quite wide and the waiters were extremely polite and attentive. Some points to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Deepanjan B
florence
Reviewed 7 May 2015

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Sandton for a week, because my company held an event there. The facilities are ok, the rooms are big and comfortable enough, however the level of service and attention to customer is just not satisfactory. The personnel at reception desk is rude, most of the times incompetent and not flexible at all. They charged...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lenifi
GRHIS, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review

Dear "Lenifi" It is with great disappointment that I read about your ordeal regarding you recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Hotel Sandton. At the Holiday Inn Sandton we strive to ensure that we provide our guests with the best service and comfort, however it seems that the service you had received from us has let you down....

Hampshire
Reviewed 5 May 2015

I stayed in this hotel pre an Intrepid tour. The staff were friendly and helpful. The food in the restaurant was reasonable and reasonably priced, quick service too. Room wise the rooms were quite drab and dark inside - the bed linen however was very soft. The twin room we were given had quite a small bathroom. Good Wifi in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank simplyme4
GRHIS, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review

Dear "simplyme4" Thank you for your lovely review of the Holiday Inn Sandton, and for recommending us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and the service received by all staff which you encountered. We do pride ourselves on friendly service, and it is great to know that we delivered this during your stay. We are...

Lagos, Nigeria
Reviewed 29 April 2015

Stayed for a week in the hotel. Serene and cool environment with little or no noise at all. Good for business visits. Will not recommend for a romantic getaway. Food was below average and too conventional. Internet was very fast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Akinwale O
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review

Dear Akinwale O, Thank you for your considerate review of our hotel. We take all feedback from our guests seriously. It helps us gauge what we are doing right and what we need to improve on. We have taken note of your comments regarding the food and will forward these to the appropriate department. We are confident that they will...

Malabo, equatorial guinea
Reviewed 27 April 2015

The rooms were nice, and the location is very good. You can walk to the mall, or around Sandton. The views are actually to other hotels and buildings, nothing special. I would definetly stayed there on my next trip.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mariae863
GRHIS, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review

Dear "mariae863" Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comment and share your experience with other travelers. We are delighted to learn that you were pleased with your stay and were satisfied with our service and facilities. The hotel location is great indeed, so close to the mall, we are happy to know you enjoyed it!...

211 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (162)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.2 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
0.6 km away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.1 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.3 km away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#14 of 49 in Sandton
1,142 reviews
0.5 km away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#4 of 49 in Sandton
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Sandton , Rivonia Road located in the heart of Gauteng's corporate, financial and shopping mecca. This cosmopolitan hotel is in close proximity to OR Tambo International Airport, and 500 metres away from the Sandton Gautrain station. Close to numerous attractions such as the Sandton Convention Centre, Sandton City Shopping Centre and Nelson Mandela Square, Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road provides the ultimate accommodation in Sandton for any business or leisure guest. Our lobby features glittering handmade chandeliers and a 10 metre long fireplace were one can relax and surf the complimentary wireless Internet available to all guests. Within the lobby is our Chairman's bar, the perfect spot to grab a hot cup of coffee and a deliciously fresh pastry before you start your day. Indulge in a full hotel continental breakfast buffet at our Lettuce & Lime Restaurant, or enjoy a delectable meal from our a la carte menu paired with a bottle from our extensive wine list. Our state of the art conferencing facilities and professional service combine to make Holiday Inn Sandton, Rivonia Road one of the most sought conference and meeting venues in Sandton. The hotel also has a 24-hour self-service Business Centre, and 7 meeting rooms which can cater for up to 200 people, including 3 conferencing rooms on the 9th floor surrounded by stunning views of the surrounding area. Our 9th floor is also the location of our famous Skye Bar and swimming pool.Our friendly staff are always welcoming and professional, working around the clock to make your Holiday Inn stay as comfortable and memorable as possible. We pride ourselves in our excellent 24 hour room service menu as well as our amazing travel desk, which offers local attraction tips and sight seeing tours."Stay Appreciated" ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road

Address: 123 Rivonia Road, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Price Range: €90 - €150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road 4*
Number of rooms: 301
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, IHG and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road Hotel Sandton
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Sandton
#16 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Cape Town, South Africa
5 months ago
Mutare, Mashonaland East, Zimbabwe

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pick a room on the other side of the building away from the construction.”
 of 5 bubbles keithat2017, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“As for an even number room that doesn't face the construction.”
 of 5 bubbles freshkat, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“South-facing room 6th floor, quiet, tree-tops view. North-facing room interesting view of building site (6 cranes).”
 of 5 bubbles 259sarat, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room size and amenities”
 of 5 bubbles qtmcalpine, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room facing away from the construction site next door.”
 of 5 bubbles DeeSigma, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay