We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sand River Guest House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Sand River Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

34 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 33: English reviews
Rivonia/Johannesburg
1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Brilliant location if you wish to be in Sandton. Excellent customer service. The staff and management was very helpful and accommodating during my stay.Will recommend this place to anybody, whether, business or pleasure.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank natashal224
Rivonia/Johannesburg
1 review
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Very nice and quiet place. Pillows very poor quality and very hard, otherwise all very good. Room neat and upmarket. Location very nice, If you love Hadidas waking you up at 04h00 in the morning. Near to restaurants as well.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 464pieterv
Port Edward, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

I have stayed at Sand River many times and have always loved it. But the newly built additional rooms and swimming pool are fantastic. Set in a beautiful and tranquil garden on the Sand River, this spot is close to vibey Rivonia and Sandton is just a few minutes away. The rooms are spacious and tastefully decorated. The patio, pool... More 

Helpful?
Thank sunsetlodgemoz
Derrydoo1021, General Manager at Sand River Guest House, responded to this review

Good afternoon Thankyou for the review and for choosing Sandriver to host you,we all as Sandriver guesthouse team apriciate your review and we would like to host your friends ,families and your referal in the near future,we are so pleased you have enjoy your stay. hve a wonderful Day !!! Margaret and Team More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

Positives: 1. Closet space 2. Refreshment amenities for ☕ in room 3. Spacious 4. Amazing bathroom 5. Stunning and fresh linen 6. Overall great experience 7. Scenery 8. Breakfast variety Negative: 1. Parking space - but after a rest like that, not to be phased at all by the limited space...

Helpful?
1 Thank Duchess-Q
Derrydoo1021, General Manager at Sand River Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Q Thankyou for the review ,we apriciate your feedback,we are looking forward to see every happy and confortable and be home away from home. Much appriciate your honesty. Sandriver Team More 

eMalahleni, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

Full accolades to Ruth and Margaret for friendly, efficient, great service. Such a central location, good security, close to everything yet you would think you are out in the tanquil countryside. Clean, spacious and a delicious breakfast.

Helpful?
Thank Claire L
Derrydoo1021, Manager at Sand River Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Claire Thank you for the review, we really appreciate, and we all happy that you have enjoy your stay. We looking forward hosting you in the near future. Best wishes from all Sandriver Team More 

Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Although the rooms were comfortable, and the bedding clean, the rest of the guesthouse needs to be kept clean, especially the outside area. Underfloor heating in the bathroom wasn't working. One day they forgot to put a pillowcase on my pillow. Pot with a dead plant and flowers in the dining room area for the entire stay of 5 days.... More 

Helpful?
Thank imagemakers2014
Derrydoo1021, Manager at Sand River Guest House, responded to this review

Hello there Many thanks for your review, we really appreciate your review,it helps us to up the standard of our guesthouse, we took note of all pointed areas and working on improving. Many thanks and Regards Margaret and Sandriver staff More 

Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2016 via mobile

We spent three nights at this beautiful guesthouse. The staff were friendly from the start. The rooms were neat and clean. TV was a massive flat screen TV. Rooms have a/c and the staff were kind enough to switch on the electric blanket. I would recommend rooms 7,8 or 9 as they have a bath and shower and are bigger... More 

Helpful?
Thank Johnny K
Derrydoo1021, Manager at Sand River Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Johnny Thank you for the review we really appreciate Many Thanks from all the Sandriver staff Margaret More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2016

family stayed there - took 6 rooms and all had a great experience - thanks for looking after my family - they found the guest house to be homely, great breakfast and friendly staff, will recommend to all

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank kerryk214
Derrydoo1021, Manager at Sand River Guest House, responded to this review

Hello Kerry Thank you for the review, we really appreciate. All the staff are happy to hear that you enjoy your stay. Looking forward to accommodate you again in future. Many thanks and Regards Sand river guesthouse Team More 

White River, South Africa
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2016

We stayed for one night and were very comfortable. The staff were very welcoming and the room was great. The location is perfect, not far from the hustle and bustle of shops and highways but in a very quiet location. Breakfast was simple but good. Unfortunately, we weren't able to stay in and enjoy the lovely fire in the lounge... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Cascha
Derrydoo1021, Manager at Sand River Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Cascha Thank you for your review, we really appreciate, we are working on the upgrading of our wifi ,since we have very low signal.Your review is much helping us . Many Thanks and Regards Margaret More 

Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2016

We had a very pleasant stay. We were welcomed by the very friendly personnel on our arrival. The rooms are tidy and well equipped. They run an honesty bar which is well stocked. We also enjoyed a very nice breakfast the next day.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank guestg600
Derrydoo1021, Manager at Sand River Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much ,we really appreciate your review. Many thanks and Regards Sandriver Team More 

36 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rivonia hotels
1.1 km away
The Oasis Boutique Hotel
0.8 km away
Road Lodge Rivonia
Road Lodge Rivonia
#3 of 3 in Rivonia
78 reviews
1.3 km away
The Syrene Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Rivonia Bed & Breakfast
Rivonia Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 12 in Rivonia
514 reviews
1.1 km away
Louise Terrace Guest house
0.2 km away
Dunton Guest House
Dunton Guest House
#2 of 12 in Rivonia
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stunning guesthouse conveniently located in Rivonia, Sandton. 6 rooms on the river property and 2 self-catering cottages 1 block away. Rivonia Valley is a security suburb and safety is paramount. It's hard to believe you are in a big city when absorbing the sounds of the local bird life whilst appreciating the river view. Wireless internet, full breakfasts, conference room (10), under-carpet heating in winter and air-conditioners in summer. 7km from the Sandton Convention Centre and 10km from Monte Casino. Plenty of restaurants in the area. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sand River Guest House

Address: 6 Rodwiella Road, Rivonia 2128, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Rivonia
Price Range: €61 - €81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sand River Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Sand River Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sand River Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are 4 identical rooms!”
 of 5 bubbles SteveGas, 2 Jun 2012 | Read review
1 of 1
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay