We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Illyria House

Overview
327 Bourke Street Muckleneuk, Pretoria 0002 South Africa See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
5 Star accommodation
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (357)
Filter reviews
328 results
Traveller rating
233
46
11
13
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
233
46
11
13
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews high tea heated swimming pool boutique hotel wine cellar every request full body massage like royalty an unforgettable experience attention to detail cape town birthday party breakfast and dinner south africa beautiful garden thank you very much butler johannes
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 328 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

We celeb my daughter's wedding two days ago at Illyria House. It was absolutely wonderful. Our hostess was extremely attentive and gracious and her staff were faultless. The rooms are extremely beautiful, the food was excellent and the setting and service perfect. The wedding could...More

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank Linda R
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My wife took me for a wonderful evening and we had the best dinner. This continues to be our favorite place for celebrations and I loved celebrating my 40 birthday day here. Bongani our server is such an awesome person and looked after us the...More

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank Thomas S
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were here for our year end function, and was promised a "magical high tea"....anything but! From the service to the food to the rusty decor (that physically pinched me), this was a massive let down. We had to remind the waiters to serve us...More

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank chellyrock93
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have no good words - worst high tea every. Shocking bad service, food just in 3 plates, in no high tea beautiful display, just placed in a normal plate and only three different items and only one item per person...….shocking. We got NO speciality teas....More

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank VanessaFourie
Response from IllyriaHouseHotel, General Manager at Illyria HouseResponded 2 weeks ago

Hoteliers are sometimes exposed to people who try to make misuse of a property by giving a bad response in the hope to get a refund. Our staff took a photograph of the your table setting with fresh miniature orchids in brass pots. Your function...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our year-end high-tea function was booked and paid for 5 weeks before the event. A week before we tried to confirm our booking, but were not able to get a hold of anyone. Eventually 3 days before the event we spoke with the owner, who...More

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank JACQUIECOETZEE
Response from IllyriaHouseHotel, General Manager at Illyria HouseResponded 2 weeks ago

We specifically advised the security guard to park the cars for your function, with eleven guests together at the HideAway, where we have secure parking suitable for the size of your function. It saddens us that you consider the parking a "nightmare' as the area...More

View more reviews
About
Description
The Ultimate Romantic Getaway. 25 Minutes from the OR Tambo International Airport (Johannesburg) and 5 minutes from the Gautrain Station.The serene beauty of Illyria House has always been an irresistible More attraction to all lovers of fine things. Against the backdrop of classical music, fine antiques, 17th century tapestries, and a resident duck family an enchanting colonial lifestyle unfolds. Illyria House is highly appreciated by the discerning traveler for its charm, exquisite cuisine, exclusivity, luxury and unrivalled personalised butler service. We offer intimate soirées by world class musicians. Our Oriental Spa specialises in relaxing massages. Our facilities include a jacuzzi, sauna, heated pool and a cold pool. A wide selection of tours to historical, cultural and wildlife attractions come highly recommended. Personalised shopping is ideal for a last night stay. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Pool
Free Parking
Restaurant
Room Service
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Airport Transportation
Banquet Room
Concierge
Golf course
Hot Tub
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Minibar
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Outdoor pool
Sauna
Beachfront
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel Style
Luxury
,
Spa
,
Romantic
,
Business
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel Style
Luxury
,
Spa
,
Romantic
,
Business
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
12
Price range
US$137 - US$226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Illyria House Hotel Pretoria
Location
South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel Style
Luxury
,
Spa
,
Romantic
,
Business
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
12
Price range
US$137 - US$226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Illyria House Hotel Pretoria
Location
South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Photos
Traveller (268)
Dining (145)
Room & Suite (71)
Pool & Beach (15)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (52)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 75 nearby hotels
StayEasy Pretoria
176 reviews
1.34 km away
Holiday Inn Express Pretoria-Sunnypark
192 reviews
1.57 km away
Manhattan Hotel
148 reviews
1.67 km away
Sierra Hotels Burgers Park
54 reviews
1.70 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 824 nearby restaurants
Fumo
390 reviews
1.30 km away
Cafe 41
80 reviews
1.27 km away
The Harlequin
40 reviews
1.37 km away
Huckleberry's
69 reviews
1.55 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 205 nearby attractions
Loftus Versfeld Stadium
194 reviews
2.10 km away
De Afrikander Handelshuis
7 reviews
2.30 km away
Melrose House
100 reviews
1.64 km away
Freedom Park
171 reviews
1.82 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
nomonoloco
29 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from sisterjennyj | Reviewed this property |
reservations not events
0
Votes
jim m M M
28 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from MBA60302 | Reviewed this property |
The "hotel" is a mansion that used to be a private home. No fitness center onsite but there is an outdoor swimming pool. Not sure about whether there would be access to an offsite fitness center (we were only staying... More
0
Votes
jim m M M
28 December 2016|
Answer
Response from LizanneS10 | Reviewed this property |
The facility does not have a fitness center, but these two are close by in the area: BODY20 BROOKLYN, VIRGIN ACTIVE, GROENKLOOF
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Top floor on the with french doors to the balcony"
thinush2016
1 Oct 2018
Read review
"Try their "English" breakfast. It is quite good"
jwkeebs
23 Mar 2018
Read review
"I love the main house."
SophiaB1592
28 Feb 2018
Read review
"Every room is different in the two buildings and quirky"
327CliveL
22 Feb 2018
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing