We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

131 on Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel

Show Prices
#18 of 73 Hotels in Pretoria
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
131 on Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

90 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 83: English reviews
Start your review of 131 on Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel
 Click to rate
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed at Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel for one night and found the staff and hotel fantastic. Beautiful, large bedroom with lovely bathroom bath and shower. Would recommend it to anyone looking for a boutique hotel which is a little different from the rest

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura P
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Over rated. Very expensive for what you get. Food rubbish. Coffee machine not working so no coffee in the morning ! Very disappointed. Not in walking distance of any bars. Needs a shuttle bus or car to local Mall.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank judith d
bruce_erasmus, General Manager at 131 on Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Good day Judith, Thank you for taking the time to review 131 on Herbert Baker. It is never wanted for us to receive a 1 out of 5 star review. Please accept my sincere apology for the service you received from our restaurant. I can assure all the relevant issues brought up and have been investigated and measures have been...

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Due to a logistics problem had to stay an extra night at Hotel-it was a bonus for us!!. Staff very professional,helpful and friendly.Facilities excellent and restaurant meals were plenty of choice and good quality.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin T
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is a really lovely small hotel. We have a beautiful room set round a courtyard with swimming pool. Unfortunately although summer it is the rainy season so we haven't been able to use it. The staff are lovely and food is great. We've been advised not to walk on our own and so need to taxis from the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie S
Pretoria
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were extremely well looked after & extremely comfortable. The location was very interesting. The Manager was most helpful as were the rest of the staff. Our rooms were very comfortable & the bath was superb

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnhG4385BE
bruce_erasmus, General Manager at 131 on Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a positive review. We look forward to welcoming you back to 131 again in the near future. Kind regards, Bruce and the 131 team

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 February 2017

My mum and I spent a lovely night at this beautiful hotel. We had a front facing room with a great view; the room was tastefully decorated, the beds extremely comfortable and we had French doors onto our own bit of terrace. We had the hotel almost to ourselves, so it felt a bit like staying as guests in a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rachelphillips64
bruce_erasmus, General Manager at 131 on Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Good day Rachel, Thank you so much for such an encouraging review, the staff and myself truly do appreciate it. We hope to see you back at 131 again in the near future. Kind regards, Bruce and 131 team

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 17 January 2017

We stayed here in early December before heading on to Rovos Rails. It was beautiful, and the staff was amazing. Because we were only there overnight, we had thought we would take a cab into the city to explore. The staff asked our plans and helped arrange a personal driver/tour guide to assist us for the day, at roughly the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dmarie208
bruce_erasmus, General Manager at 131 on Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a positive review. Our team truly does appreciate such encouraging words. We looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Bruce and the 131 team

Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 January 2017

First stop in Pretoria before boarding the Rovos Train. We were forced to stay longer than we would have liked due to flight availability however we enjoyed relaxing for a few days in a very comfortable room. We ate at the hotel but honestly we weren't impressed with the food. There is no lunch menu so you can ask for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Namchild D
bruce_erasmus, General Manager at 131 on Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your recent review of 131 on Herbert Baker. We do take your improvements points seriously and have been discussed with all the staff. I am glad you enjoyed the room and had a relaxing stay with us. Kind regards, Bruce and 131 team

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 16 December 2016

Defiantly the most beautiful Boutique Hotel in Pretoria with stunning views of the city. That is why I decided to host my 21st Birthday here. Everything was up to standard except for the menu. Please I urge you to have a look at your Canape menu. It is extremely overpriced for the amount of food you get. I ordered enough...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RoxJasY
bruce_erasmus, General Manager at 131 on Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you so much for your review of 131 on Herbert Baker. We have taken your constructive criticism seriously and have made adjustments to our canape menu. Kind regards, Bruce and the 131 team

Pretoria
Reviewed 28 November 2016

The hotel is excellent. Great service from all staff. Very good, clean and spacious rooms. Comfortable beds and quiet street for good sleep quality. Excellent choice and quality of food. Recommend this to one.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 272guesta
bruce_erasmus, General Manager at 131 on Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your positive review of 131 on Herbert Baker. The staff do find such reviews very encouraging and appreciate such words. Kind regards, Bruce and the 131 team

45 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
2:29
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
2.8 km away
Illyria House
Illyria House
#5 of 73 in Pretoria
286 reviews
4.4 km away
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
#6 of 73 in Pretoria
225 reviews
16.6 km away
Kievits Kroon
Kievits Kroon
#7 of 73 in Pretoria
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
#12 of 73 in Pretoria
470 reviews
4.5 km away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice by Marriott Pretoria Menlyn
18.5 km away
The Blades Hotel
The Blades Hotel
#11 of 73 in Pretoria
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With an incredible 180 degree view of the city of Pretoria, the exceptional 131 on Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel stands primely positioned in the leafy suburb of Groenkloof. Bordering on the Groenkloof Nature Reserve, the private boutique hotel offers discerning visitors to Pretoria and Johannesburg an exclusive refuge from the bustle of the city. Originally built as a private residence, 131 on Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel was exquisitely transformed to provide outstanding hotel luxury, catering perfectly to the refined tastes of its clientele. The meticulous attention to every detail, together with impeccable service and superb dining, creates a distinctive boutique experience that has quickly earned 131 on Herbert Baker an excellent reputation. The hotel offers nine beautifully appointed guest suites and rooms, each with its own private balcony or patio/terrace. For guests who prefer to celebrate life in supreme style, the magnificent Presidential suite includes its own private lounge and dining area. Guests are invited to relax, unwind and savour a delicious drink in the hotel lounge or on the lawn, with its magical sunset views. The hotel's extensive drinks menu includes a remarkable wine list, to impress even the most selective connoisseurs. For culinary delights and a spectacular view of the city, the hotel's exclusive Ristorante Grissini is open daily. A full English and continental breakfast is included in the daily rate, while lunch and dinner guests are treated to sumptuous gourmet creations. In-room dining is available to those who prefer to relax in the privacy of their own room, and al fresco breakfasts, lunches or dinners may also be enjoyed on your balcony or terrace. Weather permitting, extravagant high teas are served on the front lawn daily. Booking is essential! In addition, the hotel offers transfers, a boardroom that can accommodate up to 18 people, and a private swimming pool located in the inner courtyard. Accommodating up to 60 cocktail style or 35 seated people, the hotel may also be hired exclusively for intimate celebrations and private functions - ideal for corporate groups and diplomatic parties. 131 on Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel is conveniently located 10 minutes' drive from the Pretoria CBD, with easy access to all major highways. A mere 35 minutes' drive from the Johannesburg CBD and 5 minutes from the highly efficient Pretoria Gautrain station. ... more   less 

Additional Information about 131 on Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel

Address: 131 Herbert Baker Street | Groenkloof, Pretoria 0181, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Price Range: €186 - €275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 131 on Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your 131 on Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pretoria
#6 Spa Hotel in Pretoria
#12 Business Hotel in Pretoria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from 131 on Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best views are in the front facing rooms”
 of 5 bubbles rachelphillips64, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms very well appointed, some have very good view of Pretoria, the rooms around the pool are also very popular,”
 of 5 bubbles stephaniedavies2016, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Our rear room was comfortable, light, airy and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles jacqui3723, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Upper Floors, probably”
 of 5 bubbles MariusK478, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Pool side rooms are large. Or have a view over Pretoria. With a balcony.”
 of 5 bubbles cchristinej9, 24 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5