We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Forum Homini Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Forum Homini Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

313 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Forum Homini Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 312: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 5 January 2017

Thank you. It was a lovely evening away however I should note that unfortunately our aircon did not work in the night so we were pretty hot and although your staff were fantastic in trying to resolve it, the fly situation wasn't great. I would however still recommend Roots to friends and family as although we had our technical problems,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 879amy
Jaco M, Manager at Forum Homini Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Amy, While there are many yardstick one likes to use to measure performance and standards in this industry, the one which we always strive for is that of consistency, it is a most difficult task to have to learn that this time around that you found Forum Homini not up to the level and standards that you have come...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 5 January 2017

The food was excellent, beautiful plating and very tasty but the flies ruined the experience. I hate to think what the situation regarding the flies was like in the kitchen where the food was being prepared. The wine pairing with each course was very good. Everything would have been perfect if not for the flies. Such a pity!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DawnKdeS
Jaco M, Manager at Forum Homini Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dawn, We are in receipt of your review and thank you for taking the time to communicate with us. It is always nice to know that our guests leave Forum Homini with an unforgettable food experience. With regards to the flies, I can assure you that this is not constant however we are aware and mindful that we suffer...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 January 2017

We were charged R900 for new years eve and were completely disappointed with the food and hungry at the end of it. It was a joke actually, i thought food would be atleast decent for the price. My wife had been before and had recommended we go but she agrees we are never going back. Location and service were excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lexridley
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

For me, this hotel isn't quite 5 stars but because of the way it ties into its unique location, it gets it. Architecturally, it's really interesting; the rooms are sunken into the terrain - like caves - with grasses growing on the roofs, and the hotel brings in touches of our human ancestry in its design and decor; but our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jill M
Kempton Park, South Africa
Reviewed 26 December 2016 via mobile

Beautiful boutique hotel, lovely and super spacious rooms with all the luxury you might need or want. We stayed a Sunday night and had a delicious dinner with a wine paring at Roots Restaurant. The only little problem was the amount of flies everywhere. I know the hotel is out in nature and flies are part of nature but this...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fransisca V
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 20 December 2016

Oh my where does one even start! -great reception from the very start 9do take care of the flies with your many repellent candles please though) -taken to our most beautiful rooms by the hostess - the rooms are heavenly---only to be seen to be believed from the design with wild grass etc covered rooftop visible as you enter ;...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rato_11
Okavango Delta, Botswana
Reviewed 7 December 2016

My husband and I stayed here to celebrate our wedding anniversary and his birthday. We had the honeymoon suite which was magnificent! There is jacuzzi outside and a wonderful spa bath in the centre of the room. I would recommend dining at roots restaurant and staying over to enjoy the full experience of this special place. It truly doesn't feel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oosie_89
Jaco M, Manager at Forum Homini Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Oosie, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on this platform. It is always nice to know that our guests leave Forum Homini with an unforgettable experience. We truly hope to welcome you back in the near future again. Kind Regards

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 29 November 2016

Having visited Roots numerous times over the last few years and always leaving 100% satisfied with the food and the experience, I decided to celebrate my 30th there and hired the private dining space to do so. The food was tremendous and absolutely perfect as usual, but the overall experience was completely ruined but the hundreds of flies that joined...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 86Tash
Jaco M, General Manager at Forum Homini Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 86Tash Obviously not an easy task to read your letter. You are correct it is not acceptable and or appropriate. I assure you that the flies is not a constant however we are aware and mindful that we suffer the occasional break out,behind the scenes we are constantly and actively doing our best to prevent these from happening. When...

Drakensberg
Reviewed 29 November 2016

Had a really enjoyable lunch at Roots Restaurant. The wine pairing matched the food perfectly. The food was exquisite. We go to Roots quite regularly and have not been disappointed. I would strongly recommend Roots to anyone who wants to try some fine dining in Gauteng.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 837bernadetten
Jaco M, General Manager at Forum Homini Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 837bernadetten. Thanks for your strong recommendation,we are truly appreciative. As always it is our pleasure to have and to host you and we look forward to doing so again in future Kind Regards

Reviewed 25 November 2016 via mobile

An exquisite restaurant in the cradle of humankind which has captured the mystery of the land in the architecture. The food is even better. Many courses of fine dining prepared with the level of mastery seldom seen.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynn K
Jaco M, General Manager at Forum Homini Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lynn K. Not only are we overjoyed by the fact that you found our food and dining to be "exquisite",but we delight in the fact that you valued our architecture also. We are most glad to share those aspects ,that which makes us different with our guest and patrons alike.. Kind Regards

147 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (132)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muldersdrift
21.7 km away
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
9.3 km away
Misty Hills Country Hotel
Misty Hills Country Hotel
#4 of 6 in Muldersdrift
432 reviews
12.0 km away
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
Avianto
Avianto
#3 of 6 in Muldersdrift
189 reviews
21.2 km away
Valley Lodge & Spa
Valley Lodge & Spa
#4 of 7 in Magaliesburg
291 reviews
22.9 km away
Budmarsh Country Lodge
Budmarsh Country Lodge
#2 of 7 in Magaliesburg
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Forum Homini offers luxury cave style accommodation and fine dining for connosieurs. Experience the gem in The Cradle of Humankind. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Forum Homini Hotel

Address: Letamo Game Estate | Kromdraai, R540 (Off N14), Muldersdrift 1739, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Muldersdrift
Price Range: €153 - €282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Forum Homini Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Forum Homini Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Forum Homini Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
7 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Forum Homini Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try get a room with a bit of a view if possible. Ours felt a bit closed in.”
 of 5 bubbles 165DianeG, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The rooms are all similar, quiet, tucked away with a huge bath and a glass enclosed double shower”
 of 5 bubbles MartiJvR, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
“For nature, glam and food lovers”
 of 5 bubbles n0x0l0k, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Treat yourself to the honeymoon suite! It is private and unique.”
 of 5 bubbles oosie_89, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The Presidential suite is anything but luxury at its best. I recommend the honeymoon suite for couples”
 of 5 bubbles golden236, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5