We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Forum Homini Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Forum Homini Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

321 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 320: English reviews
Start your review of Forum Homini Hotel
 Click to rate
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you're looking for a wedding steeped in high touch, breathtaking surroundings, a team that will move heaven and earth to get things right and a truly memorable experience, please choose Forum Homini. Perfect for a wedding, romantic weekend, away, a celebration or just any reason to get away, relax and unwind.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lreddy2016
Toulouse, France
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I went back to this hotel and after two years nothing had changed it is a fantastic experience. The hotel does not have many rooms and they are hidden a way in the hillside. The entrance to the hotel is brilliantly done with African sculptures giving you the feel of being in a special place. The owners clearly had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SimonP3131
Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A thoroughly enjoyable experience! Very friendly and helpful staff, 5-star appointed rooms and a lovely ambience. We felt very spoilt by all the little touches in the room. A great start or finish for anyone visiting South Africa via Johannesburg. We will gladly recommend this venue and return for future visits.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank betz26
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 17 March 2017

We stayed for our anniversary at Forum Homini and roots restaurant - what an experience of utmost comfort and luxury. Ever friendly and professional staff who are there to see to your every need. The standard luxury rooms are spacious and designed in such a manner that you can't help to relax and feel right at home. We dined at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mornem291
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 7 March 2017

Lovely setting and great food. Room is covered in flies - we were only told when we arrived that there is a fly problem and we were provided with a can of DOOM and citronela candles, which didn't help remove the 100+ flies from INSIDE our room alone - very unhappy for a fantastic facility such as this to be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ryan K
Jaco M, General Manager at Forum Homini Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Kalk. Thank you for your review we will take it to heart and make it our own and make good work of it. May I kindly ask that you mail me directly at gm@forumhomini.com as all my mails to you at this stage seems not to reach you. Kind Regards

Haga Haga
Reviewed 7 March 2017

Lovely place, lovely staff, lovely surroundings - really felt spoilt !! Very spacious rooms with everything you need for a comfortable stay. Accommodation quiet, very private and blend in wonderfully with the surrounding bush. A bonus would have been to see some animals but the birds were a pleasure to watch.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 705judyp
Jaco M, General Manager at Forum Homini Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 705judyp Thank you so very much for your memorable review. We enjoy nothing more than spoiling our guest and we are most glad when we can share with you the peace and tranquility of our lovely surrounds. Hope to see you soon. Regards

Alberton, South Africa
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

My husband and I have stayed here a few times and even got engaged here, we have never been disappointed until now, we had been trying to get our whole group of friends here Raving about how amazing forum Homini is, when we finally get friends to join us it was a bit embarrassing! Firstly we had never before experienced...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank noelscoetzee17
Jaco M, General Manager at Forum Homini Hotel, responded to this review

Dear noelscoetzee17 In our industry there are few things as disappointing as failing your regular guest and patrons. The very fact that you did not enjoy your dining experience with us is to us ,most regretful after you had plenty memorable experiences with us before.I assure you that we have taken your feedback to heart and have shared it among...

Krugersdorp, South Africa
Reviewed 2 March 2017

Went their for a conference and it was very nice, lunch was delicious but served in small portions otherwise it was a great experience and excellent service. The staff and service is absolutely fantastic. I can highly recommend this fine dining experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Natasha F
Jaco M, General Manager at Forum Homini Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Natasha F Always a bonus if we manage to impress our conference delegates with our staff and services as this task is more difficult as you are part of a bigger group. Thank you so very much for you "high recommendation" it is revered by our entire team. Kind Regards

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 16 February 2017

I have always wanted to stay at Forum Homini, but to be honest, I was disappointed. Let me firstly say that Roots (the restaurant) was excellent in every respect. Food, sommelier, service, view, wine pairing. High quality and very enjoyable for foodies like ourselves. The disappointment came in with the rooms. There were nice elements e.g. huge shower and bath,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diane G
Jaco M, General Manager at Forum Homini Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Diane G We appreciate all reviews and it carries our undivided attention , and as such we have embraced your review in it`s entirety and made it our own. We have entered into a new partnership with a company to remedy the fly problem we have been experiencing of late and have since started legal proceedings against the perpetrators...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 12 February 2017

Six weeks ago we had lunch at the Roots restuarant , it is fantastic - food sublime , Wine pairings excellent , Staff friendly and attentive - However we were plauged by Flies . Went back again today with more guests and guess what the flies are even worse . So the meal i had planned there with six international...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank adamschris
Jaco M, General Manager at Forum Homini Hotel, responded to this review

Dear adamscchris. Thank you for your review ,we do appreciate the time that you have taken to share this on the Tripadvisor platform. We have entered into a new partnership to eliminate the problems we are experiencing and have since entered into legal action ,so as to enforce the municipal by-laws onto our neighbors so that they conform to them...

151 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (136)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Forum Homini offers luxury cave style accommodation and fine dining for connosieurs. Experience the gem in The Cradle of Humankind. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Forum Homini Hotel

Address: Letamo Game Estate | Kromdraai, R540 (Off N14), Muldersdrift 1739, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Muldersdrift
Price Range: €145 - €253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Forum Homini Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Forum Homini Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Forum Homini Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
9 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Forum Homini Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are well appointed and beautifully decorated. The presidential suite is an absolute must do.”
lreddy2016, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Stay in the presidential suite it is the best hotel room I have ever stayed in.”
SimonP3131, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Book well in advance as they are very popular and availability might be a problem.”
mornem291, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Take a Fly Exterminator with you”
ryank62, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Looking little tired and could do with some maintenance. Was a great pity we really couldn't enjoy the outdoors either from restaurant surrounds or at room because of the HUGE amount of flies! Wish we had known about the pool!”
705judyp, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5