We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Midrand Conference Centre

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Midrand Conference Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

50 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 50: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had my wife's price giving function of her work at the place. Seeing that it was a very big group of people is the only reason I am not giving it a lesser rating. Starter was completely tasteless. Main course was nice. Desert was also not really tastefull.... No teaspoons at the coffee area. None. When I asked for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melwin B
Kaylene W, General Manager at Midrand Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Melwin Very much appreciate your comments. We are taking these to heart and addressing each and every one of your points. Kind regards Kaylene

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The staff were friendly and helpful. Sometimes there seemed to be some kind of miscommunication. The weekend we were there the water was shut off, not due to their actions, but the municipality. The venue made a plan with water thankfully. The rooms were lovely and clean, but we're damp? Not sure why. The breakfast we had the next morning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melletjies
Kaylene W, General Manager at Midrand Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Melletjies Thank you for your comments and glad you appreciated our friendly and helpful staff, our lovely clean rooms and the beauty of our venues and village. We are addressing the points you make and hope to welcome you back one day soon Regards Kaylene

Harare
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My stay was ok, nothing exceptional but was really convinient in terms of location to my conference venue which was Gallagher estate conference venue. It was very close , less than 10mins walk which was a plus for me. Unfortunately when we got there for check-in the rooms were not ready and they took another hour to be ready. This...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Busi M
Kaylene W, General Manager at Midrand Conference Centre, responded to this review

Hi Busi Thanks for your review - we appreciate you taking the time to comment on your experience. Its a shame you didn't mention your concern about the room size - we do have a brand new boutique hotel, Oxford House, on the property, and could easily have upgraded you to a large comfortable room with bar fridge. We would...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

At our arrival it was clear we made a mistake, and although close to Gallagher Estate... Do not let that be the reason you book here. The first room 2e received was so small and had no window... O ja And do not let them tell you there is different rooms with different rates.... Let them tell you what you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CaronVil
Kaylene W, General Manager at Midrand Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Caron Thank you for your review. I am sorry you didn't let reception know that people were being noisy. We have 136 rooms and could easily have moved you to a quieter room. Moreover we do have a brand new boutique hotel on the property and new guest houses so could so easily have accommodated your requirements. I am...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

Only been here a few hours and so far unimpressed. People standing chatting at the gate with staff speaking loudly. Entire place needs a good clean. Chicken bone on the steps and still there for the last 7 hours. Food highly priced. Let's see what is yet to come.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny W
South Africa
Reviewed 24 September 2016

I love this venue especially if you consider the price I spent. Lovely, spacious, well-equipped and illuminated with natural light, good ventilation, excellent and abundant food and drink, very attentive and immaculate service. It is just next to the Gallagher Convention Centre. The entrance is a bit tricky but if you did some search on the possible entrances, it is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lilianlfw
Kaylene W, General Manager at Midrand Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Lilian Thank you so much for taking the time to share your wonderful review of our beautiful venues and service. It is greatly appreciated. I will share your kind comments to Tryness and Reg as well as our managers and staff. Your comments mean a lot to all of us Look forward to welcoming you back soon Warm regards...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 6 September 2016

We booked into Tuscany Villas part of this group of buildings and were placed in a section called Lavender Mews The good - -it is close to Gallagher Estate and possible to walk however probably not at night Had hardly any sleep - due to noise, smell- on arrival the room had an unpleasant smell which has not cleared. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Renee S
ColletteMCC, Manager at Midrand Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Renee S, Thank you for sharing your experience! Lavender Mews is one of 8 guesthouses on our property and is popular with many of our guests attending expo's and conferences at Gallagher Convention Centre due to it's convenient location. We do however, have other accommodation options which would perhaps suite you better on your next stay. We have noted...

Harare, Zimbabwe
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Overpriced food, overpriced rooms, the beds were too small and not even comfortable. We ended up checking out earlier than we wanted because we could not derive value for money. I personally won't stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank atlchk362
ColletteMCC, Manager at Midrand Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear atlchk362, Thank you for your review! At Midrand Conference Centre, we strive to meet every guests needs. We're sorry to hear that you felt we didn't meet your needs. We have a variety of room types on offer in our 8 guesthouses. These room types cater to various tastes and budgets. If an upgrade is available, our front office...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 September 2016

I fell in love with Midrand Conference center the first day i saw it however i had no idea about the disaster that was going to follow ................ I had my wedding on the 6th of August 2016. They are very fast to have the full amount of money in their accounts but failed misserably to provide a service i...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Papiah1
Kaylene W, General Manager at Midrand Conference Centre, responded to this review

Hi Our brides, their families and guests all agree with you that Midrand Conference Centre is a beautiful venue for a wedding and they usually give us the highest accolades for service, and food taste and presentation for our weddings. Yours is one of the first exceptions we have had. I do want you to know that a review like...

Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

I was invited as a guest speaker to a conference at the Midrand Conference Centre. I had to spend the night at the venue prior to the conference to allow for an early start. First impressions were poor. We were asked at the gate to drive through the venue to the opposite end where the lodge is. The route does...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HeinDG
ColletteMCC, Manager at Midrand Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear HeinDG, Thank you for sharing your review! We're sorry to hear that your first impressions of our venue were poor. Our property not only accommodates conferencing, events and stay over guests but our adjacent property (the area you drove past) is home to our long term guests, rather than staff. Our bar area is indeed in our reception area...

45 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midrand
0.5 km away
Mercure Johannesburg Midrand
Mercure Johannesburg Midrand
#43 of 70 in Johannesburg
85 reviews
0.4 km away
The Gallagher Hotel
The Gallagher Hotel
#5 of 9 in Midrand
32 reviews
2.4 km away
Premier Hotel Midrand
Premier Hotel Midrand
#1 of 9 in Midrand
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Midrand
9.0 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Midrand Samrand
2.1 km away
City Lodge Hotel Waterfall City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Midrand Conference Centre

Address: 661 Pendulum Road | Halfway House Ext 12, Midrand, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Midrand
Price Range: €53 - €72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Midrand Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Midrand Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Midrand Conference Centre staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Midrand Conference Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If at Gallagher request for rooms that are closer (West)”
 of 5 bubbles BusiM117, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Only rating the venue and services offered during the two-day event”
 of 5 bubbles VenueHunter2016, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“As for the newer rooms closer to the front gate.”
 of 5 bubbles Bernie_Travels63, 26 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Just do not stay here!!!!”
 of 5 bubbles Strandloper17, 8 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Ask for a room far to the back away from the noise of events in the front section”
 of 5 bubbles Martin_Niebuhr, 8 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay