We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Courtyard Hotel Eastgate

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Courtyard Hotel Eastgate
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

37 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Hotel Eastgate
See the most recent reviews
Showing 34: English reviews
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2015

The hotel is business park like area separated from Eastgate mall by a flea market type area, but once inside the hotel gates, environment is pleasant and secure. Rooms are very clean and are kept that way. The staff is welcoming and pleasant. The breakfast is well laid out and service good. No dinner service but you can order from... More 

Helpful?
Thank Masiyapoyi
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Eastgate, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for the great review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon. More 

Piet Retief, South Africa
Level Contributor
119 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2015 via mobile

Attention from Bronwyn, the GM, from the first day of my enquiry was excellent - and carried through to our arrival. Incredible warm welcome from efficient staff. Very comfortable, exceptionally clean accommodation. Strongly recommend this hotel.

Helpful?
Thank penny n
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Eastgate, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us Penny and we are so happy to hear that you found our staff so efficient and friendly; enjoyed the hotel facilities as well as the breakfast offerings - key components that we pride ourselves in! We look forward to having you stay with us again soon. More 

Mbabane, Swaziland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2015

I was attending a conference (accompanied by my husband) in Johannesburg and stayed at the Courtyard Eastgate. It was my first experience of their facilities and I was impressed with the facilities, the cleanliness and the friendly staff. The renovations that were being undertaken at the time did not affect us at all. The breakfast spread was beautiful and at... More 

Helpful?
Thank Miz_Sindisiwe
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Eastgate, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and we are so glad that you had a great stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back soon. More 

Summerville, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2015

Mu husband and myself arrived at the hotel around 8:00 pm for a one night layover before we headed out early the next morning to the airport. While checking in the man behind the desk said his credit card machine was not working so he made a hard copy with the swipe machine. We did not leave the hotel that... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Connie H
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Eastgate, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We will certainly look into this matter on your behalf and for our own edification. More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2015

A depressing joint - the furnishings are clean but outdated, the TV is tiny, there is a noisy extractor fan in the bathroom which drives you crazy, a broken shower door and a soft, useless mattress which leaves you screaming for a chiropractor the following morning. Although it's a centrally convenient location, the view from your patio is a deserted... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Note T
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Eastgate, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay and will certainly look into the matters you have raised, especially regarding the shower door, mattress and extractor fan. Please note that the former Bruma Lake site is in the process of being redeveloped, which we believe will be positive for the hotel and other... More 

Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

We stayes at courtyard hotel in august 2014. We enjoyed it very much. Nice rooms, great facilities, very helpful staff. We really enjoed the free drinks sesion from 17 to 19. They also have free shutle to the mall. It was great. The only thing that could bother you could be the lake behind the hotel, it smells a bit.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Anita_BCluj
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Eastgate, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. We're happy you enjoyed the rooms and found the facilities up to scratch - we're also pleased you enjoyed helpful service from our staff. It's also great that you took advantage of our shuttle service and the complimentary drinks! We hope to see you again soon. More 

Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We stayed at the Courtyard on 3 January 2014. First impressions are good but the hotel is looking tired in places. The paving around the pool was loose, top of the table on the patio completely loose from the table, the pool was beginning to go green. Like others have echoed, the lake is horrible! On the positive side, the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsty45
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

This was my first stay at the Courtyard Hotel. First impressions of the hotel was the garden is well maintained and beautiful. Check in was quick and efficient. The room that I stayed in was spacious and well furnished. The only thing that I did not like was the smell that eminates from the "lake" or "pond" or whatever it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Travell0cal
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Eastgate, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. The lake has been an issue for some time, but we're hoping that new plans will soon be implemented to reduce its impact. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you again as a guest. More 

Orapa, Botswana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 November 2013

the location area, size of hotel, staff,ulala barman, kitchen zonke reception and management are so convinient and very warm, i was on a business trip but watch e space i am coming with my family but the lake should be taken care of than to let it die, there they need environment care and conservation programme.

Helpful?
1 Thank Suntus
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Eastgate, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your kind review - we look forward to your next visit. More 

Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Spent 2 nights at this boutique hotel in Oct '13. Staff was pleasant and very helpful, lounge and dining area were lovely, and room was very nice. Surrounding gardens were also very beautiful. However, the awful smell emanating from the "sludge pond" behind this facility permeated everything, and was enough to make one actually gag. If you are tempted to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Donna31522
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Eastgate, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - Bruma Lake has been an issue for some time, but there are plans to sort it out; we hope this happens soon! More 

36 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
7.3 km away
Courtyard Hotel Rosebank
Courtyard Hotel Rosebank
#30 of 71 in Johannesburg
157 reviews
1.4 km away
Mercure Suites Bedfordview
7.5 km away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 71 in Johannesburg
282 reviews
6.6 km away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
7.2 km away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#23 of 71 in Johannesburg
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Within walking distance of Bruma Flea Market, local craft displays and Eastgate Shopping Centre. Easily accessible to major motorways and only 10 minutes from OR Tambo International Airport. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Courtyard Hotel Eastgate

Address: Zulberg Close, off Ernest Oppenheimer Road | Bruma Lake, Johannesburg 2100, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Price Range: €62 - €95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Hotel Eastgate 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Courtyard Hotel Eastgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Eastgate Hotel Johannesburg
Courtyard Johannesburg
Johannesburg Courtyard
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Courtyard Hotel Eastgate staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Courtyard Hotel Eastgate staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms are spread out over the property, and are pretty much the same.”
 of 5 bubbles lorettam55, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Upstairs is better”
 of 5 bubbles 299seadj, 23 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor if you want to avoid stairs”
 of 5 bubbles BadgerCT, 31 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Most rooms used to overlook a lake that has sadly been drained, but a stream remains and has been cleaned up.”
 of 5 bubbles Masiyapoyi, 15 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a balcony as those are upstairs and have a nice view.”
 of 5 bubbles Travell0cal, 27 Nov 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay